Started By
Message

re: Was this ever explained why this was not called for intentional grounding?

Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:12 pm to
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287659 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:12 pm to
Ball has to be past the LOS if you are throwing its away, not if you’re throwing it in the vicinity of a WR
Posted by NorthEndZone
Member since Dec 2008
13703 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:18 pm to
It’s another one of those ‘judgment’ calls like offensive holding and pass interference that give the officials too much control over the potential outcome of games. But that’s just the way it is.
Posted by NotaStarGazer
Member since Dec 2023
2543 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:23 pm to
quote:

the tackle affects the trajectory of the throw

There was a WR close enough, with that in mind.


The LSU tackler did NOT affect the throw...pure and simple. The QB was throwing it on the line where it ended up. And according to your own supplied picture the receiver was a full 10 yards further down the field. The ball landed on the 15 which was 10 yards behind the LOS. It WAS clearly intentional grounding and another blown referee call.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:31 pm
Posted by Adam Banks
District 5
Member since Sep 2009
36232 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:27 pm to
quote:

You honestly think a QB who throws the ball directly into the hands of a defender is going to get hit with an ING flag? Seriously? Watch much football?




One who clearly was trying to throw it away after being wrapped up for a big sack and was so panicked that he threw it at his o lineman thinking it was a receiver and hit a d lineman should
Posted by NotaStarGazer
Member since Dec 2023
2543 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:28 pm to
quote:

You talking about the pass that hit him in the hands? I bet if you really try, you can figure out why that's not grounding.


Uh, NOT the pass being talked about. The one being talked about was Clemson as the 25 yard line, the QB went outside the tackle box (that was fine) but knew he was being tackled and threw the ball 10 yards BEHIND the LOS as it landed at the 15. There was NO receiver in the area...the nearest one 10 yards down the field at the original LOS. It WAS intentional grounding...the classic definition. No eligible receiver in the area and didn't get to the LOS. Refs blew the call.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287659 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:30 pm to
quote:

Tough shite that the tackle affected the throw...if he did...irrelevant. And according to your own supplied picture the receiver was a full 10 yards further down the field. The ball landed on the 15 which was 10 yards behind the LOS. It WAS clearly intentional grounding and another blown referee call.


Just say you don’t know the rule next time
Posted by TBoy@LSU
Member since Sep 2012
5998 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:31 pm to
quote:

Because Lafayette hates LSU



Lafayette does not hate LSU. There are a very small, myopic group of USL fans who can't even fill up their own stadium that hate LSU. Far more LSU fans in Lafayette.
Posted by KamaCausey_LSU
Member since Apr 2013
16971 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:33 pm to
Klubnik doesn't even start the throwing motion until AFTER contact.

Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6853 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:34 pm to
quote:

One who clearly was trying to throw it away after being wrapped up for a big sack and was so panicked that he threw it at his o lineman thinking it was a receiver and hit a d lineman should



That's nice, but you still aren't getting an ING flag there.

I guess your answer to my question would be, "no."
Posted by TutHillTiger
Mississippi Alabama
Member since Sep 2010
49649 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:35 pm to
Because the head referee Gatreaux is a ULL guy that hates LSU per his neighbors and was on the same crew that fricked us lady year
Posted by Adam Banks
District 5
Member since Sep 2009
36232 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:35 pm to
Youtube Link


I brought it up.

Here’s the play in question. Dude pulls a max Johnson and no eligible receiver around
Posted by NotaStarGazer
Member since Dec 2023
2543 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:36 pm to
The tackle did NOT affect the throw as I said in my edited message. I know the rule and stated it properly in another post to another poster. It WAS intentional grounding because the ball didn't get back to the LOS AND there was no receiver in the area. To clam one 10 yards down the field is laughable! And the QB's flight of the ball was NOT affected by the tackle. It went on the line he meant to throw it all. There was an LSU defender (#3) right by the Clemson guy at the 25 yard line. If you think he was remotely trying to throw it there, then you don't know much about avoiding turnovers.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:44 pm
Posted by Adam Banks
District 5
Member since Sep 2009
36232 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:36 pm to
quote:

That's nice, but you still aren't getting an ING flag there. I guess your answer to my question would be, "no."



You suck at interpreting the rule then.
Posted by sharkfhin
Water
Member since Sep 2008
4699 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:37 pm to
So it was behind los....ig...

And no it was not near a reciever. No.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:38 pm
Posted by KamaCausey_LSU
Member since Apr 2013
16971 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:42 pm to
The only justification that I could see is if the ref straight up said that there was a receiver in the area. But I don't consider a WR 10-15 yards away as in the area. And 8/10 times neither does the ref.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:43 pm
Posted by NotaStarGazer
Member since Dec 2023
2543 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:42 pm to
Wow!!! I did not remember that particular play like that. That ALSO was intentional grounding. They usually give a little leeway when being hit but my God, you could tell by the motion that he was basically just trying to move his arm forward...had no idea where any receiver was.. He was just panicking and got away with it. So that is 2 intentional grounding calls they missed. They did call 1 I think but they gave that Clemson QB GIFTS! Both of those ended up being obvious penalties.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287659 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:43 pm to
Ya, having a defender on your legs doesn’t affect your throw

Lmao

It’s one big conspiracy
Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6853 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:46 pm to
quote:

You suck at interpreting the rule then.



I know the rule, you just suck at understanding it.

Find me some clips of a quarterback throwing the ball into the hands of a defender and getting flagged for intentional grounding.

Let n/uss do that and get flagged and you would be here crying like a bitch.
Posted by NotaStarGazer
Member since Dec 2023
2543 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:47 pm to
quote:

Ya, having a defender on your legs doesn’t affect your throw


Sometimes it definitely does but not in this case. He was being tackled directly from behind. He knew exactly where he was going to throw it and he threw it there....10 yards behind the LOS. In THIS case, the tackle made no difference. It would have been an INT if he had thrown it to the 25 yards line because the LSU defender was in the better position. So lmao all you want. There is a reason everyone is dumping on you....that is what happens when you are wrong and post nonsense!
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:55 pm
Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6853 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:47 pm to
quote:

Because the head referee Gatreaux is a ULL guy that hates LSU per his neighbors and was on the same crew that fricked us lady year



Yes, of course. Some anonymous slapdicks on the internet tell you they're his neighbors and he hates L.S.U. and you're just stupid enough to believe that.

Oh and there is no such thing as a "head referee."
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 7Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram