Started By
Message

re: Was this ever explained why this was not called for intentional grounding?

Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:21 pm to
Posted by mdomingue
Lafayette, LA
Member since Nov 2010
41749 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:21 pm to
quote:

Because Lafayette hates LSU



No, but that idiot ref does.
Posted by jnethe1
Pearland
Member since Dec 2012
16962 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:51 pm to
I remember that and being pissed. Refs were absolutely terrible.
Posted by Gavin Elster
Member since Mar 2020
3246 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:52 pm to
It’s clearly grounding. Anyone who disagrees is either ignorant or trolling.
Posted by tigerfan88
Member since Jan 2008
8652 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:56 pm to
The refs took a super broad view of “being hit while throwing affects the throw so it isn’t grounding.” Klubnik waited to throw it away every time until he was in the process of getting tackled instead of right before he’s tackled.

The refs were wrong and it should have been grounding still. That part of the rule is ultimately a judgment call but they took it to the extreme and basically were only going to call grounding if Klubnik yelled “I’m grounding the ball!” right before release.

Posted by Mister Ice
Member since Oct 2016
87 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:17 pm to
The check had cleared
Posted by KamaCausey_LSU
Member since Apr 2013
16971 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:27 pm to
quote:

The refs took a super broad view of “being hit while throwing affects the throw so it isn’t grounding.” Klubnik waited to throw it away every time until he was in the process of getting tackled instead of right before he’s tackled.

Even worse, the rules book says the exact opposite where if a passer starts throwing during contact it IS intentional grounding.

quote:

If the passer is contacted clearly before starting the passing motion, ther
will be a foul for intentional grounding if there is no eligible receiver in
the vicinity or if the pass does not reach the line of scrimmage after the
quarterback has been outside the tackle box


NCAA Rulebook Part II Officiating Standards, Section 7.7

So per the rulebook starting the throw after contact makes it intentional grounding. Doesn't matter if the hit affected the throw since contact was 1st.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 7:34 pm
Posted by LosTigres44
Istrouma
Member since Aug 2025
111 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:36 pm to
Uh, No.
Posted by KamaCausey_LSU
Member since Apr 2013
16971 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:38 pm to
It was literally textbook intentional grounding.
Posted by Adam Banks
District 5
Member since Sep 2009
36232 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:42 pm to

quote:

Even worse, the rules book says the exact opposite where if a passer starts throwing during contact it IS intentional grounding.

quote:
If the passer is contacted clearly before starting the passing motion, ther
will be a foul for intentional grounding if there is no eligible receiver in
the vicinity or if the pass does not reach the line of scrimmage after the
quarterback has been outside the tackle box


NCAA Rulebook Part II Officiating Standards, Section 7.7

So per the rulebook starting the throw after contact makes it intentional grounding. Doesn't matter if the hit affected the throw since contact was 1st.





Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6853 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:47 pm to
quote:

There was one late that jimari butler almost had a pick 6 on that was just as bad.



You talking about the pass that hit him in the hands? I bet if you really try, you can figure out why that's not grounding.
Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6853 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:50 pm to
quote:

Refs in 2025 have no idea what intentional grounding is

Rarely ever called to protect offenses

Refs forget about the crossing the line of scrimmage part of the rule. Wouldn't be surprised if this shitty crew thought he was outside the tackles but forgot the ball still has to cross the LOS.


Yeah that's it, they don't know the rules.

Sounds like you're describing consistency here - which might lead one to think there's a reason for that.
Posted by Adam Banks
District 5
Member since Sep 2009
36232 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:51 pm to
Klubnik throwing it to no receiver in the act of being tackled and we happened to have a d end there?



Sounds like a guy who is trying to intentionally get an incomplete pass instead of a sack.
Posted by Sofaking2
Member since Apr 2023
18389 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:51 pm to
Your angle is about as favorable to the Clemson QB as possible, lol. It’s really wasn’t close at all. I circled where the ball landed. The guy was close to 10 yards away almost parallel on the field to where the ball landed.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 7:55 pm
Posted by Bmath
LA
Member since Aug 2010
18841 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:51 pm to
Since they gave the final exam on the first day of class the refs were grading on a curve.
Posted by sharkfhin
Water
Member since Sep 2008
4699 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:55 pm to
Maybe he was just outside the tackle box?
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287659 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:58 pm to
quote:

If the passer is contacted clearly before starting the passing motion


Read the rule again

Do yall not watch football besides when lsu plays? Jesus Christ lmao

The throw & hit is simultaneous, and very clearly affects the trajectory of the throw. The spirit of the rule is built in for when QBs try and dump the ball away while wrapped up.
Posted by sharkfhin
Water
Member since Sep 2008
4699 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 7:58 pm to
That dude is an idiot. His explanation proves he doesn't know shite about football.


This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:05 pm
Posted by Adam Banks
District 5
Member since Sep 2009
36232 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:01 pm to
quote:

The throw & hit is simultaneous






Weeks hits klubnik in the ankles and klubnik starts throwing as he is falling.
Posted by sharkfhin
Water
Member since Sep 2008
4699 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:02 pm to
Based on the video its grounding because ball landed behind the LOS while being outside the tackle box? Ball has to travel beyond los for it to be legal when outside the tackles?
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:04 pm
Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6853 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:11 pm to
quote:

Klubnik throwing it to no receiver in the act of being tackled and we happened to have a d end there?



Sounds like a guy who is trying to intentionally get an incomplete pass instead of a sack.


You honestly think a QB who throws the ball directly into the hands of a defender is going to get hit with an ING flag? Seriously? Watch much football?
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:14 pm
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 7Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram