- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: The overturn
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:29 pm to Asleepinthecove
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:29 pm to Asleepinthecove
quote:
By the rule, I don’t feel like he was truly a runner after a catch
But what rule? What is this magical language some of you seem to think exists that makes everyone who catches a pass is "going to the ground" from then on? What criteria is there in any rule language that Brown did not meet to become a runner?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:33 pm to Lester Earl
quote:
He literally caught the ball, and then fell to the ground out of bounds
That is also true of every receiver who catches a ball at the 20 and then gets tackled at the pylon and hits the ground out of bounds. What criteria in "the rule" did those guys meet that Brown did not? He caught the ball in the field of play outside the endzone, took a step inbounds to cross the goal line, got pulled down by the defender, took another step, then hit the ground out of bounds.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:34 pm to Biggiebam
Has there been an appeal filed? This needs to go further up the chain. That was a big frickup.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:38 pm to Biggiebam
I still can't believe so many people don't get why it was overturned.
Use Durham's TD as a perfect example. If a ball carrier breaks the plane of the end zone and then fumbles when he hits the ground, it doesn't matter. It's a TD and play was over the instand he broke the goal line. Doesn't matter that he fumbled when he hit the ground.
On the other hand, if the goal line is crossed within the act of catching a thrown ball, and the player doesn't not fulfill the definition of a completed pass, then the TD does not count, even if the receiver hits the ground five yards into the end zone and took two steps in the process. If, when the receiver hits the ground and the ball moves (as it clearly did last night), it is an incomplete pass. As in Barrion Brown's action last night, he crossed the goal line (hit the pylon) with possession of the ball, but he did NOT maintain clear control when he hit the ground.
To put it succinctly, you have to complete the definition of making a catch for the outcome to be anything other than an incomplete pass.
Use Durham's TD as a perfect example. If a ball carrier breaks the plane of the end zone and then fumbles when he hits the ground, it doesn't matter. It's a TD and play was over the instand he broke the goal line. Doesn't matter that he fumbled when he hit the ground.
On the other hand, if the goal line is crossed within the act of catching a thrown ball, and the player doesn't not fulfill the definition of a completed pass, then the TD does not count, even if the receiver hits the ground five yards into the end zone and took two steps in the process. If, when the receiver hits the ground and the ball moves (as it clearly did last night), it is an incomplete pass. As in Barrion Brown's action last night, he crossed the goal line (hit the pylon) with possession of the ball, but he did NOT maintain clear control when he hit the ground.
To put it succinctly, you have to complete the definition of making a catch for the outcome to be anything other than an incomplete pass.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:40 pm to King Joey
quote:
He caught the ball in the field of play outside the endzone, took a step inbounds to cross the goal line, got pulled down by the defender, took another step, then hit the ground out of bounds.
He only got 1 foot in bounds. Which constitutes a legal catch in the NCAA. But possession has to survive the ground
not sure how you compare this to a ball carrier that runs the ball in from the 20 yard line. Kind of silly, but ok.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:40 pm to Born to be a Tiger1
If you accidentally touched down vote, touch upvote after then refresh the screen. It will remove the down vote and count the upvote.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:40 pm to Lester Earl
quote:
would this play be treated the same if he fell to the ground afterward?
You mean like this afternoon, or next Tuesday? No.
The question you are asking demonstrates your misunderstanding of the contention; the fact that he EVENTUALLY ended up on the ground is irrelevant. Going to the ground is only relevant if he is going to the ground at the moment he makes the catch. THAT is the contention. He didn't hit the ground anywhere near the 1 yard line where he caught the ball; he hit the ground several yards away where he ended up after taking multiple steps and getting hit/pushed by the defender. Thus -- by an appropriate application of the rule -- he would not be considered going to the ground when he made the catch and thus not required to maintain possession through the ground.
That is the contention: the refs were wrong to assert that he was going to the ground at the moment he made the catch.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:41 pm to Lester Earl
Went back and looked and his second was out but it is still irrelevant because he maintained possession to the ground and the ground can’t cause a fumble, therefore it’s a TD.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:43 pm to King Joey
quote:
he hit the ground several yards away where he ended up after taking multiple steps and getting hit/pushed by the defender
he took 1 step and fell to the ground. What play are you watching?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:43 pm to des4271
quote:
he maintained possession to the ground and the ground can’t cause a fumble, therefore it’s a TD.
I think so too, but people cant understand this is what was in question lol
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:46 pm to Lester Earl
quote:
But possession has to survive the ground
Only if the receiver is going to the ground when he makes the catch. Going to the ground later (two steps or twenty yards, no difference) does not trigger the "possession has to survive the ground" rule because they are no longer a receiver. What is in the rule that makes you think a guy who has taken two steps, been hit by a defender, and crossed the goalline before hitting the ground still a receiver making a catch? And, again, what language do you contend distinguishes him from the guy who caught it at the 20 and ran in before hitting the ground?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:50 pm to King Joey
quote:
King Joey
You should probably watch the play again. He took 1 step and fell to the ground. He has to survive the ground. This is simple football 101 and happens frequently.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:51 pm to King Joey
It was a catch. Terrible call. I am going to ask Daniel for his thoughts next time I see him.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:55 pm to des4271
quote:
he maintained possession to the ground and the ground can’t cause a fumble, therefore it’s a TD.
It wasn’t called a fumble, it was called an incomplete pass.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:56 pm to Lester Earl
Lester either way he survived the ground. Anything otherwise is just smoking crack whether he wasn’t a ball carrier or not he survived the ground. It’s not even a question everyone agrees it was a TD. Only a select few think it’s not. I don’t know if you’re trying to rage bait but it’s not working.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:58 pm to Biggiebam
Not rage baiting anything. Understand the rule or not, that’s on you,
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:03 pm to Lester Earl
quote:
he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone.
I don’t see where he lost control of the ball
Loading Twitter/X Embed...
If tweet fails to load, click here.Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:05 pm to Lester Earl
quote:
he took 1 step and fell to the ground.
Well, that would be enough for the "going to the ground" not to apply because he wasn't going to ground when he made the catch. I said two because that's what'son the video. His left foot was on the ground (possibly just left the ground) at the 2 when the ball got there, then his right foot hit the ground just inside the one, then his left foot hit the ground on the sideline in the endzone. That's two steps.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:07 pm to King Joey
quote:
His left foot was on the ground (possibly just left the ground) at the 2 when the ball got there, then his right foot hit the ground just inside the one, then his left foot hit the ground on the sideline in the endzone. That's two steps.
I am just going to assume you are trolling me at this point.
Popular
Back to top


0




