Started By
Message

re: The overturn

Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:08 pm to
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:08 pm to
quote:

He wasn’t going out of bounds.

quote:

He wasn’t going to the ground


He literally caught the ball, and then fell to the ground out of bounds lol
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:10 pm to
He broke the plane Lester. TD all day. And that was before his knee hit the pylon.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:11 pm to
insane that you still think that is the contention.
Posted by Sal Minio
17th Street Canal
Member since Sep 2006
4413 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:12 pm to
quote:

fricking POOLAME - BAMMER FAN. fricking leave dumbass



Be nice
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33581 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:12 pm to
the rule is different for a ball carrier than a receiver
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:12 pm to
Lmao dude you must be smoking some good shite. The rules are set. He wasn’t going to the ground when catch was made. Pretty straight forward. After catch was made he crossed the plane. Then goes out of bounds. How hard is that to understand?
Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6853 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:13 pm to
quote:

Was the call completely at the discretion of Daniel Gautreaux? Did any of the other crew members get to have their input? What about those pumping the video feed to him?



He didn't make the call, replay did.

I would think by now people would understand how replay works.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:15 pm to
in your opinion, would this play be treated the same if he fell to the ground afterward?

This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 1:16 pm
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:16 pm to
Send me a link. I never seen this play.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:17 pm to
he taps 1 foot in and falls. Simple question
Posted by tigger1
Member since Mar 2005
3718 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:18 pm to
Every show today has said it was a TD, also one pointed out the catch in the Ohio State game where the ground clearly helped the catch was called a TD.

Every show also pointed out the TD rule, which alone makes it a td and the ground cannot cause a fumble rule, the catch rule etc.

The ball is dead after crossing the goal line in a player's hand.

Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:20 pm to
quote:

The ball is dead after crossing the goal line in a player's hand.




No it's not. That is not why people are saying it should have been a catch. Have y'all watched a football game before?
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:21 pm to
So you’re comparing that to Barion’s? If he had one foot in. And completed the requirements. Which he wasn’t going to the ground. He jumped up had possession one foot in. That’s a TD all day too. They called that back aswell?
Posted by KamaCausey_LSU
Member since Apr 2013
16992 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:23 pm to
Speaking of that play. Anybody else notice how wide open Anderson was in the middle of the field. Absolutely smoked his DB and had no safety in coverage.
Posted by NotaStarGazer
Member since Dec 2023
2545 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:23 pm to
quote:

the rule is different for a ball carrier than a receiver


True! HOWEVER, the contention by most of us and the ABC official consult guy is that he WAS a ball carrier when he made a football move. He took multiple steps, hit the pylon which that and of itself should have made anything after that dead, and thus he WAS a ball carrier. The STUPID rule is designed for guys making diving catches where he has not made a football move. Anyone who thinks that the overturn was the correct call is WRONG! The announcers would disagree, the official on the field would disagree, and the ABC hired official disagreed. The person who disagreed was the CLOWN in Birmingham, AL who was probably eating Cheetos and drinking a Diet Pepsi....wait, do we know what John Chavis is doing these days?
Posted by slinger1
Louisiana
Member since Jun 2017
292 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:24 pm to
See Lance Moore superbowl
Posted by DeathByTossDive225
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2019
6109 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:25 pm to
An argument I don’t see anyone making is the fact that this would have been ruled a catch on the 50 yard line — ball is allowed to touch the ground in the process of a catch as long as you possess it. Ruling on the field was a catch… Barion stretched the ball over the pylon & had it firmly between two hands when he hit the ground.

If Bower’s play was ruled a catch/fumble, this is a catch by the same logic.
Posted by TwoDatBait
Northshore, LA
Member since Jul 2011
6367 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:26 pm to
If you make 2 steps and football move, does the ground cause a fumble or incomplete pass??
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 1:26 pm
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33581 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:26 pm to
quote:

Was the call completely at the discretion of Daniel Gautreaux?
The white has ZERO say so in whether that is a catch or touchdown.

after a pass is thrown white hat better not take his eyes off the QB
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:27 pm to
quote:

Which he wasn’t going to the ground. He jumped up had possession one foot in. That’s a TD all day too.


So if he falls down and the ball gets dislodged and bounces away, it is still a catch?


first pageprev pagePage 5 of 8Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram