Started By
Message

re: the onside kick

Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:45 am to
Posted by RPC4LSU
Thibodaux, LA
Member since Jan 2006
2010 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:45 am to
quote:

If it turns out that college has the same rule, this will be yet another example of Les being a complete douche who doesn't know the rules of the game.


I talked to the head of officials in the SEC, Rogers Redding, and he said frankly you cannot block anyone in advance of the ball. Anybody that would contact somebody in advance of the ball has created a foul. It's irrespective of the 40-yard line. In other words, if (Alfred) Blue steps across the 40-yard line to make the reception on the kick, then he is protected because you still cannot block in advance of the ball, and you still cannot contact a guy until the ball has gone 10 yards, so we are in a position where we should be able to field the ball certainly until we get possession without interference. In review, the officials are given a responsibility not to apparently create flags and throw flags from a reviewed look, and I think that was really the position that was taken. They reviewed it, and they really could not overturn the call on the field."
Posted by XbengalTiger
New Bama Standard 9-4
Member since Oct 2003
5506 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:47 am to
quote:

I don't believe that on-sides kicks that first hit the ground are subject to the rule that you have to give the receiver the chance to receive the ball. Once it hits the ground, it is a live ball, and all the kicking team has to do is to make sure it goes 10 yards.
This is the key point. You can't hit a player in advance of the ball before it goes that 10 yards...Once it goes 10 yards, anyone can hit anyone and the ball is live.
Posted by Festus
With Skillet
Member since Nov 2009
85698 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:48 am to
quote:

The free kick rule that says that you can't touch a player before he has the opportunity to catch only applies if the ball is kicked and does not hit the ground.

Wrong. The exact rule has been posted. Where does it say this?

quote:

I don't believe that on-sides kicks that first hit the ground are subject to the rule that you have to give the receiver the chance to receive the ball. Once it hits the ground, it is a live ball, and all the kicking team has to do is to make sure it goes 10 yards.


Can you link something to prove this? We get that you "think" this, but last time I checked, Chill Pill wasn't the Director of officials.

quote:

If it turns out that college has the same rule, this will be yet another example of Les being a complete douche who doesn't know the rules of the game.


Oh, the irony.
Posted by CPT 8ch
Denham Springs, LA
Member since Jan 2007
293 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 12:35 pm to
quote:

Looked it up

Rule 6, Section 1, Article 2:
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball [S19]



You missed this part:

a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).

As much as I'd like to agree with you, this was a legal play.

After 15 years officiiating high school, I now officiate in the Southland conference so I know this book well.
Posted by jdrumdog
baton rouge, la
Member since Jan 2010
7655 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 12:42 pm to
CPT, could you please point out the section for onsides kicks? thnkx in advance.

I appreciate you reffing in the Southland conference. Which is also why I'd love for you to please go to the section designated for onsides kicks. Thanks again.
Posted by misey94
Hernando, MS
Member since Jan 2007
28735 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 12:50 pm to
quote:

These refs were asleep for some of the game though.


Really. How about that awesome touchback where they tried to give us the ball. The two officials on the scene looked like a couple of deer in headlights.
Posted by FAN4LSU
South West La. from NOLA
Member since Nov 2006
558 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 12:54 pm to
SEC REF's, HATE LSU
Posted by Weaver
Madisonville, LA
Member since Nov 2005
27919 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 12:56 pm to
Then you must not have watched PP get two feet in on an int last year against Bama either. I hate the refs.
Posted by TigerWilson88
West Monroe
Member since Jul 2008
1948 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 12:59 pm to
quote:

a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).


Ok so it was legal for their player to creamate our player prior to the ball going 10 yards.

The ball never advanced the 10 yards ever during the play. The replay clearly showed this. They should have spoted the ball at 9.5 yards and said "hey the ball didn't travel 10 yards and awarded LSU the ball at what the 40? I'm still confused at how they gave a ball that didn't travel 10 yards to the kicking team.
Posted by noonan
Nassau Bay, TX
Member since Aug 2005
36951 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:01 pm to
quote:



Nevertheless, Les should have had the hand's team on the field.


Yet another example of how dumb some posters in this site really are.
Posted by RANDY44
Member since Aug 2005
9572 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:02 pm to
quote:

Apparently it was the right call because the player was moving forward or something?? Uhh.
I don't know, still confused by this one.

It was the wrong call or more correctly a horrible no-call. UNC should have been flagged for receiver interference, just as Brent and Herbstreit suggested. Bewildering why that wasn't called and equally bewildering how you could review it and not over-rule the field call.
Posted by TigerWilson88
West Monroe
Member since Jul 2008
1948 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:04 pm to
quote:

equally bewildering how you could review it and not over-rule the field call.


Or see that the ball didn't go 10 yards
Posted by RANDY44
Member since Aug 2005
9572 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:06 pm to
quote:

a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).
Ok so it was legal for their player to creamate our player prior to the ball going 10 yards.
The ball never advanced the 10 yards ever during the play. The replay clearly showed this. They should have spoted the ball at 9.5 yards and said "hey the ball didn't travel 10 yards and awarded LSU the ball at what the 40? I'm still confused at how they gave a ball that didn't travel 10 yards to the kicking team.

The term "muff" refers to a mishandling by the receiver BEFORE he is touched. That rule does not apply to a receiver being contacted prior to the balls arrival. By rule, LSU should have not only received the ball but advanced it 10 yards upfield for the penalty assessment.
Posted by TheDoc
doc is no more
Member since Dec 2005
99297 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:34 pm to
quote:

By rule, LSU should have not only received the ball but advanced it 10 yards upfield for the penalty assessment.


This

Anyone who says different is fricking dumb.
Posted by CPT 8ch
Denham Springs, LA
Member since Jan 2007
293 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:35 pm to
quote:

CPT, could you please point out the section for onsides kicks? thnkx in advance


There is no section that specifically covers "onside kicks". Like most of the rule book, you have to reference several sections to correctly apply the rule to the situation; however, I'll do my best.

The first time you read the rule book, you'll wonder how a game can ever be properly officiated, but the longer you read it, the better you get at it.

The rule book is divided into Rules, Sections and Articles. Articles are further broken down by letters. When interpriting a rule, you'll sometimes have to search through several sections and articles of the same rule.

Below, when I state "Rule 6-1-2-g, I'm saying Rule 6, Section 1, Article 3g.


Rule 6 covers "Kicks".

Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.

But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:

No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;

2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.

Still, if you read Rule 6 further, you find Section 4 which deals with Opportunity to catch a kick.

Rule 6-4-1 states:

A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.


Then in Rule 6-4-1-a, you read:

This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone.

So you see, you have to continue reading to cover everything that happens in one play and interpret the rule fairly.

The big mistake the LSU player made was to move into the neutral zone. Had he not done that, the UNC player probably would have commited a foul by touching the ball illegally prior to it traveling 10 yards.

As an official, the kicking game presents the most challenges. Especially onsides kicks.

I hope I explained it well enough for you.
Posted by mgmer
Bossier City
Member since Jan 2007
294 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:43 pm to
quote:

At first i thought it should have been a penalty but if you watch the replays ABC showed after play I think it was right call... They hit simultaneously imo



CONGRATULATIONS you qualify to be an SEC replay booth REF in the state of ALABAMA! IMO OF COURSE.

Posted by MastrShake
SoCal
Member since Nov 2008
7281 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:48 pm to
quote:

You missed this part:

a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).

As much as I'd like to agree with you, this was a legal play.

After 15 years officiiating high school, I now officiate in the Southland conference so I know this book well.


apparently you dont.

"This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone..."

it has to go ten yards. otherwise kicking teams would just tap it off the tee and jump on it.


HERE is the simplest definition I could find. To summarize...


g. "No Team A (kicking team) player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball."

and when are they eligible?


"No Team A (kicking team) player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line (goes 10 yards); or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s restraining line.


Posted by whiteyc777
Greenville, SC
Member since Dec 2009
134 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:50 pm to
Excellent breakdown CPT. That's exactly how I read the rule as well.

Nothing illegal at all with what UNC did on that onside kick.

-YTC
Posted by 62zip
One Particular Harbor
Member since Aug 2005
6693 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:51 pm to
quote:

As much as I'd like to agree with you, this was a legal play.

After 15 years officiiating high school, I now officiate in the Southland conference so I know this book well.


If this is true, you better make sure your supervisor never reads this post.
Posted by bmy
Nashville
Member since Oct 2007
48203 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 1:52 pm to
quote:


and when are they eligible?


"No Team A (kicking team) player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line (goes 10 yards); or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s restraining line.



booooom
Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 17
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 17Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram