- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: the onside kick
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:36 pm to DoubleDeuce
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:36 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
Yes it is. Once the ball hits the ground it basically becomes a free-for-all.
THE FIRST SET OF RULES STILL APPLIES.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:37 pm to TheDoc
quote:
quote:
The LSU player didn't muff the kick. He was hit before the ball hit him.
YTC will not get this.
No, I perfectly get this. I agree that he was hit before the ball got to him. I'm just saying that it was legal for him to be hit.
-YTC
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:37 pm to JaxTigah
quote:
This protection has nothing to do with Rule 6-1-2-g. That is why it is a subsection of rule 6-4-1.
Someone who knows how to read!!
Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:52 pm to Golfer
Hard to believe this thread had to go 12 pages.

Posted on 9/7/10 at 5:57 pm to JaxTigah
quote:
Hard to believe this thread had to go 12 pages.
its like they think all the fundamental rules of football stop applying when theres an on-sides kick.
"yeah, see that guy trying to catch the ball? just go beat the shite of him, it'll be fine."
This post was edited on 9/7/10 at 5:58 pm
Posted on 9/7/10 at 6:06 pm to MastrShake
They are having trouble with reading comprehension. 6-4-1 clearly applies to players past the neutral zone.
Rule 6-4-1 states:
A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.
That is what 6-4-1-a applies to. A kick that travels beyond the neutral zone that then hits the ground, the "receiver" is then fair game.
They either don't want to get it, are to stupid to get it or just flaming. It is really simple.

Rule 6-4-1 states:
A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.
That is what 6-4-1-a applies to. A kick that travels beyond the neutral zone that then hits the ground, the "receiver" is then fair game.
They either don't want to get it, are to stupid to get it or just flaming. It is really simple.
This post was edited on 9/7/10 at 6:07 pm
Posted on 9/7/10 at 6:10 pm to JaxTigah
Who ever keeps saying why wouldn't a team just tap the ball of the tee and kill anybody who tried to get it. Why the frick would a team try n run up 8 yards to get it. Seriously dude yall are fricking stupid
Posted on 9/7/10 at 6:13 pm to DoubleDeuce
quote:
This keeps getting overlooked. You can hit anyone once the ball hits the ground. It has nothing to do with the neutral zone. Basically catch interference is waived if the ball hits the ground first.
Read the rest of the sentence you have in bold & it clearly says beyond the neutral zone.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 7:02 pm to mgmer
quote:
Basically catch interference is waived if the ball hits the ground first.
some dumb motherfrickers on this site
Posted on 9/7/10 at 7:06 pm to Lsutim3
quote:
Who ever keeps saying why wouldn't a team just tap the ball of the tee and kill anybody who tried to get it. Why the frick would a team try n run up 8 yards to get it.
We were being sarcastic you dumb frick. Because that is what people arguing that the play is legal are agreeing to.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 7:08 pm to TheDoc
quote:
ome dumb motherfrickers on this site
water is wet
Posted on 9/7/10 at 7:18 pm to geauxtigahs87
quote:
water is wet
Link???
Posted on 9/7/10 at 7:46 pm to Chill Pill
I know I'm right about this for the NFL. If it turns out that college has the same rule, this will be yet another example of Les being a complete douche who doesn't know the rules of the game.
I guess when your mind is made up you can't see tge facts. That it was a missed call. Your hatred for Les has you blinded.
I guess when your mind is made up you can't see tge facts. That it was a missed call. Your hatred for Les has you blinded.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:00 pm to MastrShake
nothing wrong with the call. When the receiving team goes into the 10 yard neutral area he is not protected.
If the LSU player goes in there, he better damn well get the ball - otherwise stay the hell out.
If the ball was in the air, then perhaps you would have a point = but the ball was bouncing on the ground.
If the LSU player goes in there, he better damn well get the ball - otherwise stay the hell out.
If the ball was in the air, then perhaps you would have a point = but the ball was bouncing on the ground.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:01 pm to ssgrice
Jesus, we finally get rid of YTC and now dumbass Tim has to step in!!
1. The kicking the ball into the ground has lots to do with trying to get the ball to pop up and go beyond 10 yards so that the kicking team has a better chance to legally recover it and very little to do with "hitting the ground to make the receivers fair game". All the discussion of the ball hitting the ground is clearly intended to apply to kicks that travel beyond the 10 yd zone, i.e. you cannot blast the punt returner or kickoff man as he's waiting for the ball, but if it hits the ground, open season. However, even if you interpret the "squib kick" aspect to make the receivers live targets, they can still not initiate contact until the ball has traveled 10 yards or it is touched by the receiving team.
2. Yes, the idea when receiving an onside kick is to run up and get the ball before it goes ten yards, because the kicking team, as per the quoted rule, is not SUPPOSED to be able to blast you until you touch the ball!
In the video posted by YTC, I can't tell if there is contact made before the ball goes ten yards, the guy kicked it pretty hard. Maybe they could have thrown the flag there?? Regardless, the guy catching the ball did not get hit inside the 10 yd area before he could catch it, so maybe not the best example?
Once again, please post an example of the guy receiving the ball inside the 10yd area and being blown up before he touches it where everyone and their brother lauds him for his smart and insightful knowledge of the rules.
1. The kicking the ball into the ground has lots to do with trying to get the ball to pop up and go beyond 10 yards so that the kicking team has a better chance to legally recover it and very little to do with "hitting the ground to make the receivers fair game". All the discussion of the ball hitting the ground is clearly intended to apply to kicks that travel beyond the 10 yd zone, i.e. you cannot blast the punt returner or kickoff man as he's waiting for the ball, but if it hits the ground, open season. However, even if you interpret the "squib kick" aspect to make the receivers live targets, they can still not initiate contact until the ball has traveled 10 yards or it is touched by the receiving team.
2. Yes, the idea when receiving an onside kick is to run up and get the ball before it goes ten yards, because the kicking team, as per the quoted rule, is not SUPPOSED to be able to blast you until you touch the ball!
In the video posted by YTC, I can't tell if there is contact made before the ball goes ten yards, the guy kicked it pretty hard. Maybe they could have thrown the flag there?? Regardless, the guy catching the ball did not get hit inside the 10 yd area before he could catch it, so maybe not the best example?
Once again, please post an example of the guy receiving the ball inside the 10yd area and being blown up before he touches it where everyone and their brother lauds him for his smart and insightful knowledge of the rules.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:04 pm to Lsutim3
quote:
Who ever keeps saying why wouldn't a team just tap the ball of the tee and kill anybody who tried to get it.
why would a receiving team try to get it?? just let it lay there and it is your ball.
If you run up there I think the kicking team can hit you to keep you from getting to it, but why the hell would you want to get to it? The kicking team cannot touch it until it goes ten yards. It belongs to the receiving team unless they do something stupid - like running up there and trying to jump on it. Once they touch it, it is anyone's ball.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:06 pm to ChineseBandit58
quote:Wrong.
When the receiving team goes into the 10 yard neutral area he is not protected.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:07 pm to Golfer
Golfer. You sir are the dumb frick. You were being sarcastic about the ruling of hitting players before the 10yard barrier. Not being sarcastic about trying that. So go frick yourself. Sorry your idea was fricking stupid
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:13 pm to ChineseBandit58
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
I just do not understand what is so ambiguous about that rule. If Team A is not eligible to touch a free kicked ball, which they are not in the first ten yards, then they can not block an opponent.
I just do not understand what is so ambiguous about that rule. If Team A is not eligible to touch a free kicked ball, which they are not in the first ten yards, then they can not block an opponent.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:15 pm to JaxTigah
All you people read 1 rule n don't read the rest. You have to read every rule. And upon reading every rule you will find the answer
Popular
Back to top


0





