- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: The control catch rule started with the Dez Bryant play. I’ve been told that’s a catch.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 6:52 pm to Fun Bunch
Posted on 8/31/25 at 6:52 pm to Fun Bunch
quote:
Not relevant if he didn’t catch the ball, which per the rule, he didn’t. So if he didn’t catch it it’s not a TD.
This just isn’t true no matter how many times it’s stated.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 6:55 pm to Mouth
The instant a ball crosses the EZ barrier —- even an inch —— while in control of the WR, the play is over. #TD
EDIT: Otherwise why have an end zone plane —- do we go to rugby rules and the ball must be grounded in the EZ?
EDIT: Otherwise why have an end zone plane —- do we go to rugby rules and the ball must be grounded in the EZ?
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 10:03 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 6:56 pm to Mouth
Well, the rule quoting geniuses here will tell you that he did not catch it.

Posted on 8/31/25 at 7:03 pm to Mouth
I refuse to argue or articulate any of the ‘how many angels can fit on the head of pin’ discussions on this matter - that just gives the OCD-afflicted control freaks the jollies and does not really advance the game itself.
I feel sorry for those who are unable to use their common sense to discern such matters.
Bunch of fricking morons…
I feel sorry for those who are unable to use their common sense to discern such matters.
Bunch of fricking morons…
Posted on 8/31/25 at 7:10 pm to Knight of Old
Same call was made against South Carolina today. He caught the ball in the end zone, got both feet down with possession but the ball moved when he hit the ground out of bounds. Called a TD on the field but Replay overturned it. They need to change that rule,
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:06 pm to Mouth
quote:Did you know all of this the instant you saw it, because that’s all the referee gets. And he had to watch two things that, because of his proximity, could not be seen at the same time - the outstretched hands and the feet. These were about eight or nine feet apart, and the ref was about six feet away, and it happened in a split second.
Brown had both feet in bounds and the first thing he made contact with was the pylon. It was an egregious call.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:13 pm to smash williams
quote:
It’s been maintaining control throughout the process (falling to the ground) for a while now
Except Texas was given a TD when the ball didn’t even end up in the same hand after touching the ground. Just wildly inconsistent
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:21 pm to Mouth
The “maintain control of the ball through the ground rule” only applies if the receiver is going to the ground in the process of making the catch. That rule flat out does not apply here. He made the catch, became a runner by taking two steps, crossed the goal line, and was knocked down after the catch v. Going to the ground in the process of the catch.
It’s a catch. It’s a TD. And it was a phenomenal play that is full season highlight reel worthy. And we all had to watch that Larryl, Darryl and Darryl motherfricker announce the referee incompetence.
Yes, I’m still mad.
It’s a catch. It’s a TD. And it was a phenomenal play that is full season highlight reel worthy. And we all had to watch that Larryl, Darryl and Darryl motherfricker announce the referee incompetence.
Yes, I’m still mad.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 8:25 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:26 pm to smash williams
quote:
It’s been maintaining control throughout the process (falling to the ground) for a while now
It doesn’t matter the process was COMPLETE once the second foot stepped in bounds in the end zone. The SEC was blatantly wrong. So you and those dumbasses know more than every expert on the planet?
I don’t think so.
Using your logic, he could have ran 99 yards and he is still in the act of a catch. That catch was completed once one foot hit the ground inbounds and the second was INBOUNDS in the end zone.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:28 pm to Pendulum
quote:
There has to be some consideration towards complete control before a football move is made to get more yards regardless of whether you control it 100% through contact with ground. Maybe just maybe, whether something is a catch or not cant be written in black and white terms.
We used to stuff people like you in lockers
And of course you have Pelicans flair
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 8:30 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:46 pm to Pendulum
quote:
Pendulum
people like you is why the internet sucks. We could say it's pouring rain during this hurricane and you would come up with a retarded AI excuse why that wasn't rain.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:50 pm to Penrod
quote:
It hasn’t been like that for years. They introduced all kinds of rules about surviving impact with the ground, etc.
Yeah that shite sucks. S Carolina had a touchdown called back with this foolishness today too. No reasonable person can watch these plays and say the people didn’t catch the football
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:51 pm to smash williams
quote:
Ball was loose when he hit the ground
No it wasn’t. The ball never moved until it hit the ground.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:54 pm to Mouth
You cannot square the idea that the Sharp fumble was allowed to stand AND you can overturn the TD to incomplete. It’s impossible logic.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:57 pm to Mouth
His left elbow was down while he still had control. Therefore -survived the ground. Also if that was incomplete there is no way the Sharp fumble was after a completed pass.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:59 pm to Captain9905
The review was supposed to be if he was out of bounds or broke the plain.
Next thing I know, theyre saying he did not have control of the ball as he went to the ground. Which should not have been in consideration after he broke the plain of the goal line.
Next thing I know, theyre saying he did not have control of the ball as he went to the ground. Which should not have been in consideration after he broke the plain of the goal line.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 9:09 pm to ChefLSU
I guess my post was written too confusingly because I actually think that was a catch and I was saying it didnt matter that he lost control with ground contact after making a football move.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 9:45 pm to Penrod
The rule is the call on the field is presumed correct unless clear video evidence to the contrary. Call on the field - catch and ball out at 1 yard line. There is no way anyone can look at that video and say that was clear evidence of "not a catch". The unbiased rules analyst and TV announcers agreed. So, easy decision is - call stands because not enough evidence to overturn.
For the placement, there was clear video evidence to overturn with the touching of the pylon.
For the booth to come back and call that an incompletion rightly leaves them open to accusations of bias or a decision made under duress.
It really was an easy call to make and they made an obvious error.
For the placement, there was clear video evidence to overturn with the touching of the pylon.
For the booth to come back and call that an incompletion rightly leaves them open to accusations of bias or a decision made under duress.
It really was an easy call to make and they made an obvious error.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 10:10 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:01 pm to jcole4lsu
quote:
That's a catch regardless of fan affiliation. How do you explain what the frick a catch is to a non football fan if that isn't a catch?
I wish I could upvote this as many times as I could. You’d have 1MM upvotes and a td record for all time.
Popular
Back to top


0






