Started By
Message

re: Shaw's response to Sternberger fumble

Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:46 am to
Posted by classicgold
bfe
Member since Feb 2017
6488 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:46 am to
quote:

Well than every place kick should be ruled down before the kick is attempted since the holder's knee is on the ground.


Welp. Now I know you are just here to argue for arguments sake.
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88544 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:47 am to
quote:

Welp. Now I know you are just here to argue for arguments sake.



Because I showed that different scenarios call for different sets of rules?
Posted by foghat
Dallas
Member since Sep 2006
1040 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:47 am to
quote:

No, it's one.

The step that occurs before the ball is in his hands doesn't count.


doesn't matter anyway. According to NCAA rules he made the catch.
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88544 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:47 am to
quote:

According to NCAA rules he made the catch.


No.
Posted by Mo Jeaux
Member since Aug 2008
62084 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:48 am to
No, he didn’t.
Posted by doubleb
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2006
41607 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:51 am to
quote:


The play in question does not satisfy having possession long enough to make a move common to the game. Two steps is a measure that officials can use to determine that, as the video Dave posted says.


How can two steps be used to measure time? A 6-3 TE running full speed takes to steps and it's a longer period of time than a CEH taking two steps.

The TE caught the ball and deliberately shifted it closer to his body in response to our defender. I saw a catch and run and a football move(the tuck to secure the ball better) and a turn upfield.

Posted by classicgold
bfe
Member since Feb 2017
6488 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:51 am to
Obviously there would be a different set of rules for place-kicking. I'm talking about possession of recovering a ball, and receiving a ball. You decided to cherry pick what I said and throw in a special teams scenario just to further the argument. The rules should have a clear meaning of possession stated whether it be fumble recovery or reception.
Posted by foghat
Dallas
Member since Sep 2006
1040 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:52 am to
quote:

No.


Yes. He advanced the ball. Did he not move the ball from the original point of his hands touching the ball? Did he not bring the ball from his hand down towards his mid-section? This meets every point of the rule. I had an Aggie come up to me and say, "Man we got away with that one". You are just arguing to be a dick.
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88544 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:53 am to
quote:

I'm talking about possession of recovering a ball, and receiving a ball.


They aren't the same thing, why would they have universal rules?
quote:

You decided to cherry pick what I said


I didn't cherry pick shite. You said what you said.



quote:

The rules should have a clear meaning of possession stated whether it be fumble recovery or reception.


Those are not the same thing. Why do you choose to not get that?
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88544 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:53 am to
quote:

I had an Aggie come up to me and say, "Man we got away with that one". You are just arguing to be a dick.


And there are many LSU fans here that can accept the reality that it wasn't a catch. One Aggie placating you doesn't make them right.
Posted by Dave England
Member since Apr 2013
5107 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:54 am to
right but it is not "the" rule.

I have already posted the rule for you, yet you keep insisting on him taking two steps.

he catches the ball and moves it from one side of his body to the other, TO AVOID IT BEING KNOCKED OUT OF HIS HANDS BY DELPIT.

its almost as if one could describe that act as one that is...

...



...



...




common to the game.
Posted by HK53
Oneonta, Al.
Member since Feb 2010
393 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:54 am to
Bama grad. Didn’t expect any other answer
Posted by ApexTiger
cary nc
Member since Oct 2003
55813 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:54 am to
quote:

If they can say Kellen Mond had possession of the ball when he instantly touched it with one hand with his knee on the ground; then you have to be consistent and say that Sternberger had possession with both hands on the ball and turning up field.


exactly, that was live ball
Posted by Dave England
Member since Apr 2013
5107 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:55 am to
quote:

No, he didn’t.


its irrelevant you nitwit.
Posted by HueyP
Lubbock
Member since Nov 2008
3155 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:55 am to
Time to let it go.
SEC will never admit fault or reverse calls.
We got jobbed that’s it, game over, we lost.
Life in the SEC for non Bama teams.
Posted by WM
West Monroe
Member since Nov 2003
837 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:56 am to
quote:

He didn't take two steps with possession of the ball. Hate to break it to yall, but it wasn't a catch. It sucks, but it is what it is.


So you're saying if his second step would have landed out of bounds it would have been incomplete? I hate to break it to you, but you're wrong.
Posted by foghat
Dallas
Member since Sep 2006
1040 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:57 am to
quote:

One Aggie placating you doesn't make them right.


I noticed that you did not address the fact that Sternberger advanced the ball from the point of where it contacts his hands and in the process moves it from his head area to his mid section.
Posted by 0
Member since Aug 2011
17387 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:57 am to
Just review it. It was close but it looked like he had control then took a step. Why leave human error in play when it would be the deciding play if the game.
Posted by Will2nd
Atlanta
Member since Sep 2009
4090 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:57 am to
quote:

ARTICLE 3.
To catch a ball means that a player:
Secures control of a live ball in flight before the ball touches the ground, and
Touches the ground in bounds with any part of his body, and then
Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable him to perform an act common to the game, i.e., long enough to pitch or hand the ball, advance it, avoid or ward off an opponent, etc., and


...an act common to the game like turning up-field to run? There's nothing in the rules about "two steps".

Furthermore, from the NCAA rule book...
quote:

...If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession;
This post was edited on 11/28/18 at 8:59 am
Posted by moneyg
Member since Jun 2006
61633 posts
Posted on 11/28/18 at 8:58 am to
quote:

“He begins to catch the ball and he gets hit before he has it tucked away,” Shaw said. “By rule, this is incomplete. He needs to tuck the ball away or make an act common to the game. A football catch. He does not complete the catch.”



I'd argue that a TE turning his body and heading upfield is ABSOLUTELY the act he is referring to. This isn't a case where the player is still facing the QB and just hadn't tucked it away.
Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 10Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram