Posted by
Message
Geauxtexastyger
Member since Dec 2014
447 posts

Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
Now that he's lighting up the NBA and (way too early) ROTY favorite, I see beat writers and local pundits tweeting #LSU when his statistics are reported. Can't lie, I was pumped up when he committed and obviously the season went to sh*t, but my opinion isn't due to the lack of team success. Ever since the documentary, coupled with his recent SLAM interview, it's clear he didn't want to be here. As a fan, I just don't feel the LSU connection with him. I can't envision him returning to campus, being honored for TAF donations, or even tweeting #GeauxTigers in support of an event. Hell, I have Antonio Blakeney higher on the LSU pedestal.

I'm curious to hear yall's viewpoint.

Slam Interview:
Ben Simmons on LSU: "I Don’t Even Know What I Learned Financially or Just Being a Person at LSU"

[quote]LINK ]


rbdallas
LSU Fan
Dallas, TX
Member since Nov 2007
7386 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
Plenty of people will want to make him a super hero, get ready.

He was about Ben Simmons .. could not wait to cash in.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11211
cheesesteak501
LSU Fan
The South
Member since Mar 2014
2641 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
I’ll always root for him just because he went here, but i don’t really look at him as a “real” tiger. The fact that He could have gone to any college but came here was awesome. He won’t be an ambassador to our school like Shaq and will prob never rep us.
This post was edited on 11/9 at 6:44 pm


atltiger6487
Member since May 2011
6614 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
quote:

He could have gone to any college but came here, and that was awesome.

only because his godfather was on the coaching staff. He doesn't give one shite about LSU.


GeorgeTheGreek
Michigan State Fan
Sparta, Greece
Member since Mar 2008
48082 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
I could give a frick about Simmons because he could give a frick about LSU. That dude is all about himself.


OU812
LSU Fan
Chester Virginia via Luna Louisiana
Member since Apr 2004
8753 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
He just makes me hate the NBA that much more!


T
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2004
6320 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
Great athlete. Has a lot of basketball skills. Can go frick himself.


tbone_jay
Member since Nov 2016
60 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
Not a fan of his, and don't really care about the NBA.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
278
R11
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2017
1470 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
I forgot he played here.

Sums it up doesn't it?


ShreveportTiger1987
LSU Fan
Shreveport
Member since Jan 2014
3581 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
No you didn't lol..


GeologyGrad88
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2015
506 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
The earth could open and swallow every NBA team and arena and I would not miss it. Hell, it could start by swallowing Simmons. The guy is a major douche and he may have gone to LSU, but he isn't a Tiger.


cheesesteak501
LSU Fan
The South
Member since Mar 2014
2641 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
I don’t think he deserves the bashing from people on here. Kid had an amazing season. He was forced to go college, something he did not want to do. He bad mouths the NCAA a lot but I’m not sure he has really said anything bad about LSU as a school and program.
This post was edited on 11/9 at 6:54 pm


Melvin
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Apr 2011
17394 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
What did he do that was so horrible? He had a great freshman year on a shite program with a shite coach. LSU fans are the fricking worst about eating their own and he's a great example of it.


Hold That Tiger 10
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2013
7849 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
People are going to hate Simmons because they think he's all about himself, but he wasn't the problem. The coach was the problem.

The dude played good, and put up solid numbers. If LSU had a competent coach during his year at LSU, and LSU made a NCAA Tourney run I'm sure he would have gave everything he had. With the situation he was in, why should he give a shit?


jlovel7
LSU Fan
New Orleans, Louisiana
Member since Aug 2014
3240 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
I’ll just leave it at this. I hold Ryan periloux and Jordan Jefferson in higher regard.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
2927
SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplex Posts
Member since Aug 2004
65575 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
Ben Simmons never actually played at LSU


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
1021
LaBR4
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2005
26993 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
quote:

Ben Simmons


Not a fan. Do not like.

Especially after his Showtime piece.
This post was edited on 11/9 at 6:55 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
205
TigerMikeAtl
LSU Fan
Atlanta, GA
Member since Feb 2011
784 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
No TRUE TIGER to me. To be a TRUE TIGER you have to have LSU in your heart. He didn't.



Hold That Tiger 10
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2013
7849 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
quote:

What did he do that was so horrible? He had a great freshman year on a shite program with a shite coach. LSU fans are the fricking worst about eating their own and he's a great example of it.


This is the new version of the "fan" on this message board. In the past year I have read people shite on nearly every baseball player, Ben Simmons, Leonard Fournette, Guice, Key, Alex Bregman...thats quite a list right there.


cas4t
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jan 2010
57393 posts

re: Opinion: Is Ben Simmons #LSU ?
Did you not watch the interview? I've always been a fan and taken up for him on this board. But he had an opportunity to say something good about LSU while also saying going straight pro would have been better for his career.

Instead he took that opportunity to basically say he doesn't give a frick about LSU and his time here was a waste.



first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram