- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Here is the NCAA Catch Rule...interpret it as you will...
Posted on 9/5/25 at 1:18 pm to RonFNSwanson
Posted on 9/5/25 at 1:18 pm to RonFNSwanson
I talked to an SEC official and asked him about that play. He said that since the player was on the way down while making the catch he needed to survive the ground through the catch. As soon as it bobbled it was an incompletion or if he had kept it off the ground but bobbled it he would have been out of bounds by the time he secured the catch.
Don't shoot the messenger, just passing along what this umpire told me.
Don't shoot the messenger, just passing along what this umpire told me.
Posted on 9/5/25 at 1:29 pm to Chicken
quote:
If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.
d. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control and continues to maintain control, and the elements above are satisfied, it is a catch.
Then LSU was screwed! The ball definitely rotates, but Brown wasn't shown to lose control on the replays. There is never a space shown on any camera angle between his hand and the ball, and he further secures it with his hand and body and ultimately his other hand once he feels the ball rotating indicating he has control of the ball because the control allows him to feel the rotation/movement of the ball.
Posted on 9/5/25 at 1:40 pm to Fun Bunch
quote:
He very clearly loses control. It is extremely brief but he loses control
I think this is debatable, and why so many are on both sides of the ruling. I don't see the ball rotation as a loss of possession if he still has a hand and his body on the ball. I may be wrong, but I don't recall a replay angle that space is shown to exist between the ball and his hand/body. He also feels the movement and secures it to his body without the need to double clutch or reach for the ball. I think further definition of "loss of control" vs "slight movement" needs more clarity.
As far as the ruling goes, the call on the field was a catch, and if the ref overturns that call, there needs to be clear evidence that he lost control. This is where those saying the ruling is definitely correct are wrong. There is no clear definition between slight movement and loss of control, therefore it should be a catch since that was the call on the field.
Posted on 9/5/25 at 2:04 pm to chimneylooker
quote:
He said that since the player was on the way down while making the catch he needed to survive the ground through the catch.
Whatever, he caught it, tucked it securely and took steps. He completed the catch.
Posted on 9/5/25 at 3:51 pm to Chicken
quote:
"to enable him to perform an act common to the game"
So subjective. How could they discuss this phrase and be satisfied with it enough to even bring it to a vote?
Posted on 9/5/25 at 4:17 pm to Mongonius
It was the correct call. The fricking rule is dumb as shite. They need to change the maintain control,through the ground bullshite
Posted on 9/5/25 at 5:34 pm to AkronTiger
quote:
quote:
"The rule was applied correctly by the letter of it," Kelly said. "But rules are made to be changed, and so hopefully down the road, I think there'll be some changes in the way that is looked at. But the crew administered the protocols and procedures the right way on that play."
Thanks Akron! Lived in North Canton for a few years doing Oil&Gas title research.
Posted on 9/5/25 at 8:22 pm to Chicken
That was a TD at clemson. Had control of ball when he crossed goal line and hit flag. Play over then. Ref screwed us
Posted on 9/5/25 at 9:30 pm to Rouge
quote:
once the goal line is crossed, the play is over.
Yes, and after he crossed the goal line which was a TD at that point, he also stepped out of bounds out the end zone before the ball supposedly juggled. It was a catch and a TD no doubt. They got this one wrong in such a bad way.
Posted on 9/6/25 at 1:18 am to Chicken
Once he catches the football he becomes a runner so why can a runner cross the goal line and fumble and it’s still a TD ?
Posted on 9/6/25 at 4:55 am to JMMarine
quote:
Once he catches the football
He didn’t catch it. That’s the point.
Posted on 9/6/25 at 6:13 am to Chicken
this event really illustrates the phenomena of people seeing two movies on one screen.
Posted on 9/6/25 at 8:54 am to Mo Jeaux
quote:
You’re just butthurt. The issue here literally is a pass play.
Nope. Your issue spotting skills need some work.
Maybe check out the illustrated and pop up books that I mentioned?
Posted on 9/6/25 at 8:57 am to Jest a game
quote:Ignoring the rule in a thread about the rule
Had control of ball when he crossed goal line and hit flag. Play over then.
Posted on 9/6/25 at 9:24 am to Chicken
The argument isn’t so much that he didn’t complete the catch. He didn’t by that rule.
The argument is that he had possession, in the field of play and crossed the goal line. There is no specific ruling for this scenario. There’s catch rules in the endzone and going out of bounds, but not specifically a catch in the field then crossing the goal line.
In every other instance, crossing the goal line with possession at that moment = touchdown.
The argument is that he had possession, in the field of play and crossed the goal line. There is no specific ruling for this scenario. There’s catch rules in the endzone and going out of bounds, but not specifically a catch in the field then crossing the goal line.
In every other instance, crossing the goal line with possession at that moment = touchdown.
Popular
Back to top


1








