- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Score Board
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- SEC Score Board
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Does the ball have to be COMPLETELY outside of cylinder???
Posted on 2/13/19 at 6:46 am to HubbaBubba
Posted on 2/13/19 at 6:46 am to HubbaBubba
This was the sequence:
LSU Player 1 shoots
KY player passes his hand thru the rim
at this point LSU should have scored and should have been KY's ball with a second or less
it was not called, so LSU player 2 puts it in.
whatever the rule is, if a ref sees that the ball is obviously not going in, it is never called, specially in a bang bang play where the ball is not lingering over the rim.
at this point unless obvious it SELDOM gets called.. same reason as to why the KY's interference thru the rim was not called.
REFS usually do not want to decide a game.
LSU Player 1 shoots
KY player passes his hand thru the rim
at this point LSU should have scored and should have been KY's ball with a second or less
it was not called, so LSU player 2 puts it in.
whatever the rule is, if a ref sees that the ball is obviously not going in, it is never called, specially in a bang bang play where the ball is not lingering over the rim.
at this point unless obvious it SELDOM gets called.. same reason as to why the KY's interference thru the rim was not called.
REFS usually do not want to decide a game.
This post was edited on 2/13/19 at 6:49 am
Posted on 2/13/19 at 6:54 am to AnthonyWC70788
quote:
It says nothing about center point of the ball in the rule he posted. It says any part of the ball over the cylinder.
No. Just to be clear, there is no reference to “center point”, but it does NOtT day “any part of the ball over the cylinder” either.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 6:59 am to GeauxtigersMs36
quote:
Cal acts like this never happens
Cal was very balanced. He said "Maybe they missed it, maybe they didn't."; "We lost they won."; and "They deserved to win." Class act.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 8:25 am to Sir Fury
It has to be completely off the mythical cylinder above the rim. It was not. Part of the ball was above rim.
Defender can have hand inside as long as no contact with ball and you don't make the rim vibrate by hitting it or backboard. Different from high school.
Defender can have hand inside as long as no contact with ball and you don't make the rim vibrate by hitting it or backboard. Different from high school.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 8:36 am to tigerpimpbot
Both announcers were sure it was not a goal tending call. But here is my question......I keep reading people say "that is not reviewable".........then what exactly did the refs review???
Posted on 2/13/19 at 8:56 am to nola000
quote:
It was basket interference by LSU because it wasn't outside of the cylinder. The entire ball has to be outside of the cylinder the way the rule is worded.
Wrong. It must also have had a possibility of entering the basket.
Goaltending: Art. 3.
a. Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a fieldgoal try and each of the following conditions is met: (Exceptions: Rule
10-4.1.i)
1. The ball is on its downward flight; and
2. The ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder.
b. It is goaltending to touch the ball outside the cylinder during a free throw, regardless of whether the free throw is on its upward or downward flight.
c. When the ball contacts the backboard and any part of the ball is above the rim during a field goal attempt, it is considered to be on its downward flight.
In such a case, it is goaltending when the ball is touched by a player as long as it has a possibility of entering the basket.
Here, the ball was on its way out and clearly had no possibility of entering the basket.
Unless anyone sees something different or a different rule, it was not goaltending.
NCAA Rules
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:00 am to nola000
You certainly know about agendas.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:00 am to ST3PH3N
quote:
Wrong. It must also have had a possibility of entering the basket.
It did. Probably would have gone in if the entire goal wasn't shaking.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:07 am to whoisnickdoobs
quote:
Probably would have gone in if the entire goal wasn't shaking.
This! I don't understand why the people arguing about a potential call against LSU just completely ignore the potential call against Kentucky.
The KY players committed basket interference well before any potential LSU goal tending. It's obvious. This would render the LSU goal tending moot and count the basket for LSU.
Therefore Tigers Win anyway.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:11 am to ST3PH3N
Interesting. This is the 2nd time Ive seen this version of the rule posted. There is another version of the rule floating around thats worded completely differently. Both exonerate LSU.
I see the version you posted is from 2015. I wonder if the other version is from a more current NCAA rulebook or from a completely different league.
I see the version you posted is from 2015. I wonder if the other version is from a more current NCAA rulebook or from a completely different league.
This post was edited on 2/13/19 at 9:12 am
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:13 am to ST3PH3N
Either way, what you posted is wrong in this sense...
The UK players never 'touched' the ball so, "AND each of the following conditions is met" is irrelevant from that point forward.
quote:
a. Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a fieldgoal try and each of the following conditions is met: (Exceptions: Rule
10-4.1.i)
The UK players never 'touched' the ball so, "AND each of the following conditions is met" is irrelevant from that point forward.
This post was edited on 2/13/19 at 9:14 am
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:13 am to Charlie Arglist
Yes, and it was. The way I understand it is that the bottom of ball has to be above the rim, and it was. Good basket.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:18 am to Charlie Arglist
quote:Yes, and you know what? It fricking was. Suck it motherfrickers!!!!
Does the ball have to be COMPLETELY outside of cylinder???
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:20 am to bbabel1212
quote:
then what exactly did the refs review???
if the tip came before time ran out
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:24 am to tgrgrd00
quote:
This! I don't understand why the people arguing about a potential call against LSU just completely ignore the potential call against Kentucky.
The KY players committed basket interference well before any potential LSU goal tending. It's obvious. This would render the LSU goal tending moot and count the basket for LSU.
Therefore Tigers Win anyway.
We have a lot of dumb fans who like to ignore the obvious just for the sake of argument.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:24 am to Charlie Arglist
The cylinder of the rim is equal to the goaline in football. It's infinite. If any part of the ball is touching the cyclinder physically or in it's space, it's goaltending. But like many have stated, it's rare that it's called. Especially in a tight game like that. And you can't review it. This was goaltending, Kentucky caught a bad break.
Addressing the no call on Kentucky player hitting the rim prior to Taylor knocking it in. My guess as to why it wasn't called was two things. 1) it happened so fast, the ref missed it, or 2) The ref did not call it because the ball was just released and was not "on it's way down", which I think is part of the rules for calling goaltending on shots that haven't yet reached the backboard or rim.
Addressing the no call on Kentucky player hitting the rim prior to Taylor knocking it in. My guess as to why it wasn't called was two things. 1) it happened so fast, the ref missed it, or 2) The ref did not call it because the ball was just released and was not "on it's way down", which I think is part of the rules for calling goaltending on shots that haven't yet reached the backboard or rim.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:28 am to whoisnickdoobs
quote:
It did. Probably would have gone in if the entire goal wasn't shaking.
You misread my post. The post I quoted was talking about LSU goaltending. I'm saying LSU did not goaltend.
The ball did not have the possibility of entering the basket on the tip-in by LSU.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:31 am to eddieray
quote:
I don’t know but when the ball is coming OFF of the rim like this one, I never see it called.
The video and live showed the ball bouncing up and out of the basket, moving away, then a touch in in which the contact occurred at least six inches away from the rim. You see that touch in attempted at least fifteen or more times every game. Can't recall play ever being stopped for goal tending or interference or whatever they call it for that kind of play, which happens every time the ball is bouncing around the rim. I don't follow basketball closely but it looked like every other touch in I've ever seen.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:32 am to Kracka
quote:
The cylinder of the rim is equal to the goaline in football. It's infinite. If any part of the ball is touching the cyclinder physically or in it's space, it's goaltending. But like many have stated, it's rare that it's called. Especially in a tight game like that. And you can't review it. This was goaltending,
No. The ball must have been above the rim, AND had a possibility of entering the basket. See the rule below:
Goaltending: Art. 3.
a. Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a fieldgoal try and each of the following conditions is met:
1. The ball is on its downward flight; and
2. The ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder.
b. It is goaltending to touch the ball outside the cylinder during a free throw, regardless of whether the free throw is on its upward or downward flight.
c. When the ball contacts the backboard and any part of the ball is above the rim during a field goal attempt, it is considered to be on its downward flight.
In such a case, it is goaltending when the ball is touched by a player as long as it has a possibility of entering the basket.
Here, the ball clearly had no possibility of entering the basket. LSU did not goaltend.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:38 am to ST3PH3N
If the ball has to be completely outside the cylinder, then how in the hell do tip-ins even exist? Like an earlier poster said, tip-ins happen on a daily basis.
Popular
Back to top


1




