Posted by
Message
Geauxld Finger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
30923 posts

The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review

So my friend and I grabbed a quick bite to eat here for lunch. They are open but grand opening not til Sunday. Started out with a cup of seafood gumbo and caeser salad. The gumbo was solid. Not terrible but not amazing. Pretty standard fair as far as gumbo goes.

Entrees were a shrimp poboy and a blackened chicken breast dish. The poboy was pretty good. Bread was a tad tough but the shrimp were battered well and had good flavor. Fries with it were meh. Basic bag fries. They could improve those. The poboy came dressed but they offered cole slaw instead of shredded lettuce. I would have preferred just lettuce. Cole slaw on a po boy is not very traditional.

The other dish was pretty good. The blackened seasoning was good but the mashed potatoes and steamed veggies were forgettable.

Ambiance is decent. Good number of tvs. Service was ok. Thy definitely lack the talent that other sports bar type places have waiting tables. Perhaps this was the d squad or something.

As far as pushing the envelope of typical bar type food goes, they definitely don't do that. However it was a lot better than I expected. The burgers looked solid and I'd go back and try one maybe. Overall id put it on par with walk ons and give it a better nod with their food.

They did have good prices on beer. A pint of Amber was like $4.
This will be a staple of metry trash for Sundays to come.

6.5/10
This post was edited on 8/15 at 3:28 pm


Trout Bandit
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Dec 2012
11964 posts
 Online 

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
What is this place??


Geauxld Finger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
30923 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Bobby Herbert's Cajun Cannon in Metairie


Fun Bunch
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
96340 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Sounds terrible to me


TigerWise
USA Fan
Front Seat of an Uber
Member since Sep 2010
35059 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
quote:

Cole slaw on a po boy is not very traditional.


I traditional don't lose in FF


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Winkface
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jul 2010
34377 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
6 month rule


Geauxld Finger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
30923 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Like I said was it amazing? No

Was it decent? Yea.

Would I go there on a regular rotation? No

But I could see this place being successful due to the casual dining habits of the common joe and jill metry and their loyalty to hebert and anything saints related
This post was edited on 8/15 at 3:38 pm


Winkface
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jul 2010
34377 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Just remember everyone, Drew Brees started in Metairie too.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
TigerWise
USA Fan
Front Seat of an Uber
Member since Sep 2010
35059 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
I don't think Bobby is beloved by most folks in Metry. It wasn't until he put on that dress for Buddy D that I started to like him. I don't like him enough to eat crap. Brees won the damn Super Bowl and I don't eat a Jimmy Johns.


timbo
LSU Fan
Red Stick, La.
Member since Dec 2011
6659 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Link to menu LINK

Does it make me a bad person that the 60oz drink with tequila, 151 rum and Midori is calling me?
This post was edited on 8/15 at 3:42 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
Geauxld Finger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
30923 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Wise you aren't the casual metry diner.

They will be broadcasting Bobby's show from there on Sunday away games so they'll be jammed for it


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Oenophile Brah
LSU Fan
The Edge of Sanity
Member since Jan 2013
7514 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Goes to HOTTEST new restauraunt in town.

quote:

So my friend and I grabbed a quick bite to eat here for lunch. They are open but grand opening not til Sunday. Started out with a cup of seafood gumbo and caeser salad. The gumbo was solid. Not terrible but not amazing. Pretty standard fair as far as gumbo goes.

Entrees were a shrimp poboy and a blackened chicken breast dish.



Orders a happy meal!
Stole that one from someone.


Kidding, solid review. That's about what I expected.
How was the crowd? Full house?


lsuwontonwrap
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2012
34147 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
quote:

Good number of tvs.


Pass


Geauxld Finger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
30923 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
It was full in there but no wait. They'll be packed Sunday I bet.

Let's be serious that in no way was I expecting anything less than shite by going here. It was better than I thought. It's basically a place to go eat and watch sports if that's your thing. They had some wings that looked decent too.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
ladytiger118
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2009
20921 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
Cosmo
UNO Fan
glassman's guest house
Member since Oct 2003
114644 posts
 Online 

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
IN


mmonro3
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Apr 2013
3638 posts
 Online 

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Went for dinner today, very meh. Ordered a burger that was alright and a 5 dollar beer. All of the waitresses are attractive, but I will not be returning


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
DaBeerz
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2004
15887 posts
 Online 

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
We're y'all really expecting a Galatoire's sports bar? It's a place to drink, watch a game, and eat some junk to sober up. Hardly think they are aiming for Michelin star.


notiger1997
Metairie
Member since May 2009
53774 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
So what kind of review do you require?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Geauxld Finger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
30923 posts

re: The Very First Bobby Hebert's Cajun Cannon Review
Isn't this exactly what I said?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram