- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message

Was the last play an illegal formation or not?
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:03 am
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:03 am
I've not been able to read much after the game due to sick kid. I'm sure it's been discussed here but was the last play of regulation an illegal formation or was it not? If it was, has the league made a statement on this?
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:05 am to BillyBoy22
In reality? No
In the minds of people who can’t read or understand rules, or attempt to apply NFL rules to a college game? Yes
In the minds of people who can’t read or understand rules, or attempt to apply NFL rules to a college game? Yes
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:05 am to BillyBoy22
No, there’s an angle with a view down the line and the receivers are on the ball.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:05 am to BillyBoy22
No.
Its time to move on people.
Its time to move on people.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:07 am to BillyBoy22
The league will make no statements about this game.
All of the “bad calls” were just judgement calls that went against us. It was very unfortunate but not unfair. Well, the call on Greedy was bullshite and we may still be playing the damn game if that wasn’t called but we have enough people that want to concede that to move on.
In answer to your question though, I have not actually seen anyone talk about the very last play.
All of the “bad calls” were just judgement calls that went against us. It was very unfortunate but not unfair. Well, the call on Greedy was bullshite and we may still be playing the damn game if that wasn’t called but we have enough people that want to concede that to move on.
In answer to your question though, I have not actually seen anyone talk about the very last play.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:17 am to BillyBoy22
NO... if the official on that side of the line does not raise his arm up parallel to the ground(chucking the widest out player as off the line) the widest guy is ON THE LINE period.... then the remaining split guys are ALSO on the line LOOK at their feet in line with the rest of the line man.. It's fing simple football....
and yes a team can have more than 7 on the line.. NOT LESS THAN 7.
and yes a team can have more than 7 on the line.. NOT LESS THAN 7.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:17 am to LSURandomNumbers
quote:
Its time to move on people.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:19 am to BillyBoy22
No. Terry McAullie said every call was right except for the bullshite P.I. call on Greedy. It was just an unfortunate series of events. On to the next game.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:27 am to tigerpimpbot
quote:Thanks
No. Terry McAullie said every call was right except for the bull shite P.I. call on Greedy. It was just an unfortunate series of events. On to the next game.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:55 am to BillyBoy22
It was not illegal
You can have 9 on the line
You can have 9 on the line
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:00 pm to JumpingTheShark
quote:YES. I don't care what angle you look at, the back foot of each receiver is on the same line as the QB. They are all on the 19.5 yard line. Also, the tackle on the left side is uncovered and I doubt he reported his number as being eligible.
No, there’s an angle with a view down the line and the receivers are on the ball.
I can easily move on, but the facts are the entire spike play from the time to procedure and formation was incorrect.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:03 pm to the obvious one
quote:
YES. I don't care what angle you look at, the back foot of each receiver is on the same line as the QB. They are all on the 19.5 yard line. Also, the tackle on the left side is uncovered and I doubt he reported his number as being eligible.
quote:
In the minds of people who can’t read or understand rules, or attempt to apply NFL rules to a college game? Yes
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:04 pm to the obvious one
quote:
I can easily move on, but the facts are the entire spike play from the time to procedure and formation was incorrect.

Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:19 pm to the obvious one
You’re grasping at straws.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:37 pm to the obvious one
quote:matters not... one iota
YES. I don't care what angle you look at, the back foot of each receiver is on the same line as the QB. They are all on the 19.5 yard line. Also, the tackle on the left side is uncovered and I doubt he reported his number as being eligible.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:41 pm to choupiquesushi
I've talked to a college official (who is an LSU fan) and he says that on last second, deciding plays, the official is trained to not throw a flag absent an advantage gained or prejudice to one team or the other. In other words, the infraction should be clear and the effect, material to the outcome of the game or the score. They let 'em play.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:48 pm to tigerpimpbot
quote:
Terry McAullie said every call was right except for the bullshite P.I. call on Greedy
Which is significant because the two point conversion was incomplete. No flag, we go to an 8th O.T.
I have an issue with putting time back on the clock. He hiked the ball with one second. The clock ran out. Does the ball hit the ground with 1 second showing? Yes. Is that .1 of the 1 second, .9, ? Do we go back and review every play of the game to determine if the clock ran a second? The answer is no. Do we go back and make sure the clock immediately starts exactly when the whistle blows? No.
If the ball truck the ground with .1 of a full second left, then your essentially giving more time to the team if you give them a full second. And, I’m not sure you can hike a ball in .1 second.
I think the rule basically states if the clock runs out when spiking the ball, game over. That’s what happened.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 1:00 pm to dos crystal
quote:
If the ball truck the ground with .1 of a full second left, then your essentially giving more time to the team if you give them a full second. And, I’m not sure you can hike a ball in .1 second.
You’re losing your mind. The clock was stopped after the spike. It doesn’t matter if there was a full second, .01, or .08. The only time they had to beat at that point was the play clock.
Posted on 11/27/18 at 1:42 pm to RobbBobb
quote:
You can have 9 on the line
I thought that 4 had to be in the backfield or behind the line. Every time I see 4 wide outs and 1 back and the qb I see them look at each other to make sure the wide outs have 2 move back behind the guys on the line. Rules obviously have passed me by this season.
This post was edited on 11/27/18 at 1:43 pm
Popular
Back to top

9







