Started By
Message
locked post

if Baron brown situation happened at midfield, would it have been a fumble or incomplete?

Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:19 am
Posted by tigerdude12
Member since Feb 2015
811 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:19 am
Fumble
Posted by Guava Jelly
Bawston
Member since Jul 2009
11900 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:20 am to
Depends who recovered it.
Posted by The Mick
Member since Oct 2010
44825 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:22 am to
Ground can't cause a fumble. So it would have either been incomplete or complete with him losing possession after hitting the ground therefore he's down right there.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:24 am
Posted by Fishhead
Elmendorf, TX
Member since Jan 2008
12438 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:23 am to


It would have either been incomplete or a catch and no fumble because the ground caused it.
Posted by Penrod
Member since Jan 2011
51470 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:25 am to
Wait, he never lost the ball. How could it be a fumble?
Posted by Schmelly
Member since Jan 2014
15659 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:25 am to
? Ground can’t cause a fumble?
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 8:26 am
Posted by mcspufftiger7
Member since Oct 2020
2984 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:57 am to
Once you catch the ball and take 2 steps possession has been established and it shouldn't matter what happens once you hit the ground.
Posted by iamandykeim
Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2015
3493 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:58 am to
Based on the call that happened in this same fricking game with Bauer Sharp, apparently it would have been a catch and a fumble.
Posted by mcspufftiger7
Member since Oct 2020
2984 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:59 am to
Also why I think Sharp's fumble wasn't a catch. He caught the ball and turned to take a step and was hit. No possession established thus no fumble. Should have been incomplete pass.
Posted by Penrod
Member since Jan 2011
51470 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:00 am to
quote:

Once you catch the ball and take 2 steps possession has been established and it shouldn't matter what happens once you hit the ground.

This is false in the case of the two steps happening as you are falling.
Posted by JimTiger72
Member since Jun 2023
15393 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:00 am to
He caught the ball out of bounds, so it would have been a completed catch.

Ball never touched the ground??
Posted by misey94
Member since Jan 2007
32376 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:02 am to
The issue is how the rules treat a running back and a WR who clearly possess the ball outside of the end zone differently when they cross the plane. Or maybe it’s better said that the rules don’t clarify that they should be treated exactly the same. Durham didn’t fumble because the ball crossed the plane. The catch play should have ended the millisecond that Brown touched the pylon with control.

Based on all of the comments from the media the day after the game, especially rules experts, it seems like this is open to some interpretation, and the common interpretation is a catch and a TD once he hit the pylon. But the rules leave the door open for the stupidity we saw Saturday night. That needs to change this offseason.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 9:05 am
Posted by LSUGrad9295
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2007
36784 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:08 am to
quote:

Based on all of the comments from the media the day after the game, especially rules experts, it seems like this is open to some interpretation, and the common interpretation is a catch and a TD once he hit the pylon. But the rules leave the door open for the stupidity we saw Saturday night. That needs to change this offseason.


Finally, someone who gets it.

I don't think the replay refs "screwed up". I think they made the correct call based on the letter of the law of a stupid rule that applies differently to receivers and running backs
Posted by Milo of Croton
Member since Oct 2022
469 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:10 am to
Slight change in scenario because I think the ball being knocked loose by the ball would be called incomplete but if he had been hit right before hitting the ground knocking the ball loose... We'd be debating fumble right now..
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29442 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:11 am to
Nope
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29442 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:12 am to
HE NEVER LOST THE BALL AND TOOK 2 STEPS. Plus his hand never left the ball. It MOVED IN HIS HAND BUT HE NEVER LET GO OR LOST GRIP. The fricking ball would move when his elbow hit doesn’t mean he lost control either.
They were blatantly wrong. frick THIS STUPID arse SEC
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 9:19 am
Posted by mdomingue
Lafayette, LA
Member since Nov 2010
41721 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:14 am to
quote:

Ground can't cause a fumble.


In this case, you are right.

But the ground can cause a fumble if the ball, while in the runner's possession, hits the ground before any part of the runner's body other than a hand or foot touches the ground, and this contact causes the runner to lose control of the ball. The ball hitting the ground while any other body part (knee, elbow, etc.) is simultaneously making contact, or if a body part other than the hand or foot touches the ground first, the runner is considered down, and thus there is no fumble.
Posted by misey94
Member since Jan 2007
32376 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:14 am to
quote:

Finally, someone who gets it. I don't think the replay refs "screwed up". I think they made the correct call based on the letter of the law of a stupid rule that applies differently to receivers and running backs


I don’t actually agree with you. Interpretation matters. When Bill Lemange says emphatically that the refs blew the call and then doubles down on air two days later after saying that he consulted with multiple working refs and replay guys, it shows that the interpretation used was outside of the industry norm.

The issue is that the rule book allows two different interpretations.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 9:15 am
Posted by 610man
Louisiana
Member since Jun 2005
8127 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:16 am to
Yep, and in this case once he crossed the plane with control, the play should've been over
Posted by LSUGrad9295
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2007
36784 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:18 am to
quote:

The issue is that the rule book allows two different interpretations.


That is actually what I was kinda getting at...I don't think it was a deliberate, bone-head act by the review people and an utter failure to interpret a simple rule.

It is a complex deal and the loophole needs to be closed
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram