Posted by
Message
GEAUXT
USA Fan
Member since Nov 2007
27328 posts

My wifi speaker review
I cannot stand to be in my kitchen without music playing.

For the past year or 2 we've had a google home max in the kitchen. From the moment I set it up, I was really impressed with the audio quality. It is maybe a little heavy on the bass, but it also has a warmer sound, which I am used to from the KEF speakers on my main system. Have the Google assistant built in is awesome for the kids as they can play whatever they want whenever they want.

I have been looking for something "better" for a few months. It was very hard to find any speakers with Google assistant built in.

I finally decided to get a Sonos five and have a separate nest mini in the kitchen to control it. Set up was relatively easy. The response was somewhat hit or miss though, and the mini had trouble hearing commands with the volume up.

I spent a good bit of time listening to all kinds of different music through the five. I also did the room correction right when I first set it up. Overall, I was not impressed. There was relatively good clarity, but the the speaker just sounded thin to me. I played with the settings and positioning, but could not really get the sound I was expecting based on reviews.

Ultimately, I ended up returning the Sonos and getting a klipsch the three with Google assistant built in. The klipsch sounds amazing. It has a wonderful warmth to sound like regular klipsch speakers, it's extremely clear, and it looks awesome.

If anyone is looking for a Sonos five alternative and is in the Google ecosystem I highly recommend the klipsch. I think you'd have jump up to one of the B&O speakers for any better sound (at 3-4x the cost).

I would also add that if you can find a Google home max at a good discount it is a really good speaker. I wish I had bough a few when they were on sale before discontinuing.

This post was edited on 5/1 at 9:38 pm


Rize
Texas Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2011
11080 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
I’ve been wanting one or two of these for my house. I have Klipsch surround sound in my kitchen and living room but my wife is always using Alexa to play music for the dog when we leave. One of these on my bar in my living room and up stairs in my office would be great.

I also think they have several versions like a 1 2 and 3 or maybe just old models. They for sure have a black and white mesh with a black or darker top instead of the light wood.
This post was edited on 5/2 at 12:54 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
Rize
Texas Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2011
11080 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
Just broke down and ordered one.


GEAUXT
USA Fan
Member since Nov 2007
27328 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
You will be very pleased. Jazz sounds fantastic on it


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
AlxTgr
LSU Fan
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
71085 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
I always wonder if this wouldn't be a better option than the two in ceiling speakers in my kitchen.


Neauxla
New Orleans Saints Fan
New Orleans
Member since Feb 2008
33191 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
quote:

My wifi speaker review
I always wonder if this wouldn't be a better option than the two in ceiling speakers in my kitchen.

Shame they don't make something like this that you can mount in your ceiling and hardwire.


AlxTgr
LSU Fan
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
71085 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
My biggest issue with the in ceiling deal is just how damn far apart they are.


VABuckeye
Ohio State Fan
Oak Hill, VA
Member since Dec 2007
29314 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
Love the retro look of the Klipsch. Looks like you got a keeper.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
VABuckeye
Ohio State Fan
Oak Hill, VA
Member since Dec 2007
29314 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
quote:

My biggest issue with the in ceiling deal is just how damn far apart they are.


Many companies (and consumers) do a terrible job of placing in-ceiling speakers. First they should be placed near a wall if possible to reinforce the sound and improve bass performance. Some reflected sound from the adjoining wall is actually a good thing in this application. Secondly, as you noted they should be spaced apart at a distance that still promotes a stereo image. Of course this can vary some as you move about the room.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
ArkLaTexTiger
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Nov 2009
2026 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
Thanks for the insight on the Klipsch. Does it have a 3.5mm AUX port?

I've been pleased with the Google Home. It went through a period a couple of years ago where it wasn't very stable but has been good since then.


TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
GEAUXT
USA Fan
Member since Nov 2007
27328 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
The version with Google assistant does not. The regular version has both 3.5mm and RCA, I believe.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
honeybadger07
LSU Fan
The Woodlands
Member since Jul 2015
2148 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
I have never heard anyone complain about the audio quality with Sonos, especially the five.

Including my sonance landscape speakers, I have 21 Sonos/sonance speakers setup throughout my house and yard....sounds amazing to say the least.. My backyard is nearly 100’ wide, as you walk across the yard and around the pool it sounds like a concert series, added 2 outdoor subwoofers that just takes it to a new level and then it’s continues as you go inside and make your way around the house.

Need to get a Sonos boost ($100) when you start adding on this many speakers for a dedicated wifi and you are set....oh and have to get a mesh wifi system, frick those extenders


VABuckeye
Ohio State Fan
Oak Hill, VA
Member since Dec 2007
29314 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
SONOS sounds ok for what it is but it will never be confused with hi-fi.


GEAUXT
USA Fan
Member since Nov 2007
27328 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
quote:

SONOS sounds ok for what it is but it will never be confused with hi-fi.


Correct. There is nothing at all wrong with Sonos, and it definitely sounds better than the majority of cheaper bluetooth/wireless speakers. However, the sound is definitely still tuned for the masses.

That is not to say the klipsch speaker I recommended is a reference speaker for critical listening. However, as a stand alone single speaker music system it has a much better sound than the rival Sonos five.

I wanted a pair of LS50 wireless in the kitchen, but the wife put the kibosh on that.


AlxTgr
LSU Fan
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
71085 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
quote:

the sound is definitely still tuned for the masses.
What does this mean?


VABuckeye
Ohio State Fan
Oak Hill, VA
Member since Dec 2007
29314 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
It means it isn't accurate. First downside is that you're listening to compressed music. Secondly, it's made for the masses. It is made more for functionality and portability than it is for accurate reproduction of music. IOW, it's geared towards the largest number of people at a price point they can live with. It also has the wife acceptance factor with the small size.

It's not bad, per se. It just doesn't begin to approach really good.

Too many words above version. It's made for background music and does a fine job doing that task.
This post was edited on 5/5 at 3:22 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
50
GEAUXT
USA Fan
Member since Nov 2007
27328 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
quote:

What does this mean?


VA basically summed it up. The VAST majority of speaker systems (wifi and Bluetooth speakers) are designed to artificially boost the bass and treble. It gives the speaker a sense of being louderer and clearer than it actually is.

This sound signiture is what many/most of the people buying these speakers like. It's the same reason people will crank up the bass/treble on their home and car stereos.

A "neutral" speaker or amplifier would be one that does not color the music in any way. It reproduces the music the way in which it was recorded and intended. To many people a neutral speaker sounds flat. They are not used to hearing music that is not artificially boosted.

Having said all of that, it is totally subjective. What sounds good to one person may not be appealing to another. The most important thing is to try out systems in the store or even better in the house and see what you like.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Rize
Texas Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2011
11080 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
Got it all hooked up and I love it. I’ve got 5 Klipsch 5800’s in my living room kitchen area with a Pro1000 10 inch in Wall sub for when I really want to jam but this is perfect for leaving on during the day


GEAUXT
USA Fan
Member since Nov 2007
27328 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
Really glad you enjoy it


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
HubbaBubba
LSU Fan
Gab: @Hubba_Bubba
Member since Oct 2010
35313 posts

re: My wifi speaker review
quote:

I always wonder if this wouldn't be a better option than the two in ceiling speakers in my kitchen.
They were installed, most likely, by a low voltage contractor, who purchased them in bulk for about $14.00 each. Replace with something like the Klipsch CDT-5650-C-II in-ceiling speakers, if you can afford them.


first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram