Started By
Message

re: UPDATE in OP: Any baseball umpires here or baseball rules experts?

Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:53 am to
Posted by roadGator
Member since Feb 2009
154674 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:53 am to
quote:

If a runner is hit by a hit ball in play that runner is out. Other base runners are free to advance at their own risk.


They stopped play though.
Posted by oldcharlie8
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2012
7809 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:53 am to
quote:

The fielder only showed you possession after the runner was safely on 2nd. Prior to that the ball was not controlled and was merely under the glove and not inside the glove


once again, it's the ump's opinion on posession. even though you think that he didn't have it, the ump may have thought otherwise. you did mention that "he was in great position to make the call".

as parents/fans we are usually biased.
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33815 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:54 am to
quote:

Other runners go back as it is a dead ball.


not runners forced by batted ball...
Posted by oldcharlie8
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2012
7809 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:55 am to
quote:

If a runner is hit by a hit ball in play that runner is out. Other base runners are free to advance at their own risk.


don't believe this, roadgator.


it's a dead ball.
Posted by Geauxld Finger
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2005
32513 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:55 am to
1 - I believe the runner has to go back to first.

2 - def should have been safe. ball must be IN THE GLOVE to be out. otherwise its just trapped on the ground.
Posted by roadGator
Member since Feb 2009
154674 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:55 am to
WTF are you castying me about fool?

It's a baseball tournament to see who gets to move on to the state tournament. Is that a problem? Just because you have carpel tunnel from xboxing instead of going outside and doing something productive doesn't mean you have to piss on everyone less fat than you.
Posted by roadGator
Member since Feb 2009
154674 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:57 am to
The glove was not closed around the ball. You aren't going to convince me that I'm wrong. If he interpreted that as control of the ball then he was wrong. He did apparently and he was.

I didn't argue because you can't fix stupid and it's just 10U and I'm supposed to keep my cool.

It's all good. We still won so goofy umps didn't cause anything but a little stress for me.

I'm not biased when I'm right BTW.
This post was edited on 6/21/13 at 10:00 am
Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72225 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:57 am to


quote:

If a runner is hit by a hit ball in play that runner is out. Other base runners are free to advance at their own risk.


quote:

y stopped play though.



Sorry, had a brain fart when I first read his question. Went back and corrected my answer when I thought about it. A runner being struck by a hit ball in play constitutes a dead ball situation.
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33815 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:57 am to
1. runners forced to advance, advance on batted ball hitting a runner or someone standing on base(except for infield fly).... the runner that touches the ball - is out then yes it is a a dead ball - but any runner forced advances....

2. for an out to be recorded a catch must be made....
Posted by oldcharlie8
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2012
7809 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 9:59 am to
quote:

The glove was not close around the ball. You aren't going to convince me that I'm wrong. If he interpreted that as control of the ball then he was wrong.


i understand. you thought that it was not around the ball and he thought it was. my point is, it's a judgement call. just like when your pitcher throws one right down the pipe and he calls it a ball. it pisses you off because you thought it was a strike.

Posted by Darth_Vader
A galaxy far, far away
Member since Dec 2011
72225 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:01 am to
quote:

The glove was not closed around the ball. You aren't going to convince me that I'm wrong. If he interpreted that as control of the ball then he was wrong. He did apparently and he was.


Sounds like he just flat out made a bad call. If the ball was clearly on the ground and the 2nd baseman "trapped" it by putting his glove over it, that is not controlling or possessing the ball. If the runner reached base before he gained control of the ball, that runner is safe on base.
Posted by oldcharlie8
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2012
7809 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:01 am to
quote:

but any runner forced advances....


bullshite.

let me ask you this: if the batter comes out of the box and kicks the fricking ball all the way to the fricking foul pole, can the runner round the bases?

Posted by WDE24
Member since Oct 2010
54838 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:02 am to
1. Ball is dead, batter is out and runner must return to first base.

2. Fielder must control the ball. Covering it with the glove is not control. However, the umpire may have viewed it differently and believed the ball to be in the glove.
Posted by roadGator
Member since Feb 2009
154674 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:03 am to
You had to be there to see it.

1-traps ball and looks up at ump
2-grabs ball off ground with glove and turns it over and shows ump the ball.

Right in front of him. I was almost too shocked to form a good arguement.
Posted by Brinner
Retirement home
Member since May 2008
2656 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:03 am to
quote:

1. runners forced to advance, advance on batted ball hitting a runner or someone standing on base(except for infield fly).... the runner that touches the ball - is out then yes it is a a dead ball - but any runner forced advances....


So if I want to advance a runner to second or third I'll just bunt then go kick it.
Posted by foshizzle
Washington DC metro
Member since Mar 2008
40599 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:03 am to
This should be on the Rant, everyone there is an expert on baseball rules.

quote:

10U


That right there will change some rules. Seriously, you need a 10U rules expert.

The problem is that most of the people who call these games aren't really rules experts, it isn't worth the time to learn the intricacies of 10U rules vs. regular baseball rules. So in practice the rule is whatever that particular ump happened to think was right.

That said, here is how I would have called it, bering in mind that it probably doesn't truly follow 10U rules:

1. I'd have just let it play. If the ball rolls foul, it's a foul ball. If in the field of play, let the kid run. And yes, he'll probably make it to first but he would have anyway.

2. If an ump tells a kid to show the ball and is shown the ball, he basically has to call an out. That's basic umpiring, you learn that umping for kids in fact.

This isn't perfect of course but nothing about 10U ball is perfect, any ump who is reasonably consistent, makes sense and errs on the side of letting the kids play is a good ump at that level.
Posted by oldcharlie8
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2012
7809 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:04 am to
quote:

So if I want to advance a runner to second or third I'll just bunt then go kick it.


or just pick it up and throw it in the gap.

Posted by WDE24
Member since Oct 2010
54838 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:04 am to
quote:

1. runners forced to advance, advance on batted ball hitting a runner or someone standing on base(except for infield fly).... the runner that touches the ball - is out then yes it is a a dead ball - but any runner forced advances....
Actually, I believe this is actually correct, but the runner on first is not forced to advance because the batter is out.
This post was edited on 6/21/13 at 10:06 am
Posted by colorchangintiger
Dan Carlin
Member since Nov 2005
30979 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:05 am to
This is from the MLB rule book, your rules may be different:

quote:

7.08 Any runner is out when—


quote:

(f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33815 posts
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:06 am to
quote:



bullshite.

let me ask you this: if the batter comes out of the box and kicks the fricking ball all the way to the fricking foul pole, can the runner round the bases?


they go one base...
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 5Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram