Started By
Message

re: Lions 19 @ Cowboys 20 Final - ABC/ESPN

Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:02 am to
Posted by RB10
Member since Nov 2010
51035 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:02 am to
quote:

Sending 3 linemen to go to the ref to tell them 1 of those 3 are reporting isn't the smartest move.


I don’t think 70 went to the official. He went to his teammates. I’m guessing he was told to go make sure they’d clarified that 68 was eligible.

This post was edited on 12/31/23 at 12:03 am
Posted by Tigerpride18
Lakewood Colorado
Member since Sep 2017
32136 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:03 am to
quote:

That’s probably the root of the situation, two players reported as eligible even though only one was actually eligible according to formation rules. There are 6 OL in on that play but only 68 is not covered up, it’s a clusterfrick


Is it possible that this whole thing is because the refs thought both reported and that it’s illegal for two players to report even though it’s not a flag. Basically meaning the refs didn’t know the rules and after the game they found out that it’s legal for two guys to report so now they’re changing their story
Posted by bad93ex
Walnut Cove
Member since Sep 2018
34526 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:04 am to
quote:

Bottom line: The official heard a linemen report and just assumed it was #70 because he’d done it earlier in the game. That is on the official.


100% on the official, won’t deny that but starting to think the ref misheard 58 instead of 68 and reported it to the defense on who is eligible.

Look at how confused the cowboys D is during that play, refs screwed the pooch.
Posted by bad93ex
Walnut Cove
Member since Sep 2018
34526 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:05 am to
quote:

Basically meaning the refs didn’t know the rules and after the game they found out that it’s legal for two guys to report so now they’re changing their story


They can report as long as there are enough men on the line, which there wasn’t for two OL to go out into a pattern.
Posted by JPLSU1981
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2005
28329 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:06 am to
The whole thing is a confusing situation IMO.

Two lineman are talking to him, one is running straight at him yelling something. When only ONE of them needs to tell the official anything. Actually it should probably be against the rules for more than 1 to say something.

I think that’s part of the “gimmick”…. Have 2-3 lineman talking to the official.
Posted by RB10
Member since Nov 2010
51035 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:07 am to
quote:

Is it possible that this whole thing is because the refs thought both reported and that it’s illegal for two players to report even though it’s not a flag. Basically meaning the refs didn’t know the rules and after the game they found out that it’s legal for two guys to report so now they’re changing their story


Possibly, but the official’s statement he put out shows that he assumed #70 reported because he’d done it a few times earlier in the game.

Seems like #68 reported, the official heard him but never really registered who it was, and assumed it was #70 again.

Honest mistake, but one that should never be made. He got caught not paying attention.
Posted by bad93ex
Walnut Cove
Member since Sep 2018
34526 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:08 am to
quote:

think that’s part of the “gimmick”…. Have 2-3 lineman talking to the official.


Lions got far too cute, it’s confusing across the board to send 2-3 OL at the refs yelling eligible and then relying on the refs to know immediately who is eligible and who is not when there are only 6 OL.
Posted by nvasil1
Hellinois
Member since Oct 2009
17457 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:09 am to
quote:

starting to think the ref misheard 58 instead of 68 and reported it to the defense on who is eligible

According to the released report after the game, the ref claimed multiple times that #70 reported eligible.
Posted by TheWalrus
Land of the Hogs
Member since Dec 2012
46136 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:11 am to
You would think the burden of proof to call a game deciding penalty would be higher than “I think that I remember that the other guy reported”
Posted by bad93ex
Walnut Cove
Member since Sep 2018
34526 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:11 am to
quote:

According to the released report after the game, the ref claimed multiple times that #70 reported eligible.


Then the fault lies entirely with the Lions if true, why is he even talking to refs if he is lining up as a T?
Posted by JPLSU1981
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2005
28329 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:11 am to
Which makes sense… 70 was clearly running right at him yelling something and the official is looking right at him.

What else would he have been running directly towards and yelling to the official??
This post was edited on 12/31/23 at 12:12 am
Posted by Tigerpride18
Lakewood Colorado
Member since Sep 2017
32136 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:11 am to
Well then maybe that’s the issue . The refs thought two reported which would make the formation illegal . Idk if they called touching or formation or if that matters
Posted by RB10
Member since Nov 2010
51035 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:11 am to
quote:

Lions got far too cute, it’s confusing across the board to send 2-3 OL at the refs yelling eligible and then relying on the refs to know immediately who is eligible and who is not when there are only 6 OL.


frick that. A gigantic human being with a gigantic #68 on his chest, and back, went and told the ref he was eligible. The fact the ref didn’t know which one said it is his fault.
Posted by PaperTiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Feb 2015
26333 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:12 am to
No. The ref in his statement said 70 had reported multiple times in the game. So I bet he just assumed and didn't listen at all. Skipper told some paper that he didn't even say anything to the ref.

It's fricked up it's the players responsibility to make sure the ref hears and understands correctly.. Especially if Dan told the refs pregame that this was one of their plays.
Posted by RB10
Member since Nov 2010
51035 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:12 am to
quote:

Then the fault lies entirely with the Lions if true, why is he even talking to refs if he is lining up as a T?




bullshite. He reported as eligible because he was eligible on certain plays. The ref assuming it was him again just because isn’t the Lions’ fault.

A different player could report as eligible on every play, when they do it’s the officials job to note who it is each time.
This post was edited on 12/31/23 at 12:15 am
Posted by PaperTiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Feb 2015
26333 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:13 am to
And the ref said #68 never reported. Which is just fricking ridiculous
Posted by PaperTiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Feb 2015
26333 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:14 am to
He didn't line up as a tackle. Skipper lined up as a guard
Posted by bad93ex
Walnut Cove
Member since Sep 2018
34526 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:14 am to
quote:

He didn't line up as a tackle. Skipper lined up as a guard


2nd to the right is a tackle
Posted by PaperTiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Feb 2015
26333 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:16 am to
Everyone on ESPN said guard.
Posted by RB10
Member since Nov 2010
51035 posts
Posted on 12/31/23 at 12:16 am to
quote:

Which makes sense… 70 was clearly running right at him yelling something and the official is looking right at him.

What else would he have been running directly towards and yelling to the official??


He wasn’t yelling at the official. He went to his teammates and said something. He never even got near the official.
Jump to page
Page First 40 41 42 43 44
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 42 of 44Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram