Posted by
Message
11kdd
So Cal
Member since Oct 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I have MADM701 with McLaughlin and ECON705 with Fawaz right now and it's been very manageable for me. I was nervous about doubling up, but it has been pretty good so far.


OleWarSkuleAlum
Alabama Fan
Member since Dec 2013
8232 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Courtney if you need any after hours help HMU


WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
8585 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does Vines curve at the end. It looks like I'll be right at the A/B line?


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
73 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Does Vines curve at the end. It looks like I'll be right at the A/B line


If he does, he doesn’t tell anyone. I was a bit surprised that I got a decent grade on Vines exam 4 and suspect he may have curved. So I wouldn’t count on a curve, but wouldn’t be surprised if your last exam has a couple unexpected points added.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
73 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I have MADM701 with McLaughlin and ECON705 with Fawaz right now and it's been very manageable for me


Good to know. I’m planning to wrap up in spring so I booked MADM 701 with Heller and Econ with Fawz for AP1 and MADM 760 with Heller and FiN 740 for AP2. Cant wait to be done!!’


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
8585 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Ok. Thanks. Not that it's needed but it's nice to know if he builds one in.


Miami dolfan
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Is it bad that I haven't found this MBA as challenging as I expected? How valuable is this degree going to be going forward? Any chance of getting into company MBA development programs?

So far I have taken Fin 701, Econ 705 ISDS 705 and MADM 725...yes I can't expect much out of this latest one...was just interested in casino industry. It's just most of this content is repeat from under grad....very little development.

Anyone else have similar thoughts?


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
32 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Challenge and usefulness are not necessarily related.

I do not have a business undergrad, but no matter the university, I don’t think MBA coursework really expands traditional undergrad business education. It is too broad to achieve that.

I think if I already had a business degree, I would share some of your sentiment.
This post was edited on 11/24 at 9:25 pm


Miami dolfan
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
True and I guess I should have understood that most MBA programs assume limited business background. Don't get me wrong, being refreshed on the topics and having another opportunity to master them is great, coupled with the cost there is some value. I think my expectations going in were just a little higher, so that could be on me. Just wondering how others felt...or if any past graduates are on here how they feel post graduation.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
mpina3
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone know is Kungu's MADM 701 tests are open book/notes or not?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
73 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Is it bad that I haven't found this MBA as challenging as I expected? How valuable is this degree going to be going forward?


I feel like the point of an MBA is to know a little about a lot. No one would expect an MBA grad to know accounting like a CPA, or know Finance like a Grad Student majoring in Finance. But an MBA holder should have a working knowledge of these studies and be able to utilize that knowledge to improve an organization. I think the MBA will definitely get you an interview for some companies/positions that you wouldn't have gotten otherwise. I think you will be able to tell a dept VP, CFO, COO "yea I got my MBA a few months ago" an impress them enough to consider giving you a shot next time you apply for an internal position. I think it's worth it.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
so far still 100% on every assignment+exam in Fawaz econ 705 by just studying from the lecture and sample problems. Definitely a class that you can wipe out the entire week's course load in a single sitting.
There was an announcement that exams can now only be opened for 72 hours and not the entire week... is this something that all classes are doing now?
This post was edited on 11/25 at 3:21 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Miami dolfan
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

an impress them enough to consider giving you a shot next time you apply for an internal position. I think it's worth it.


The whole post was well said John and I agree as well. I think this last sentence is what got me questioning this endeavor. While I know this won't open doors like a well named b school, I was thinking maybe at least a window? In this case I am hoping for more than internal movement and maybe some opps. outside to weigh options. But maybe not and maybe it is unfair to expect that as well....


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
32 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

While I know this won't open doors like a well named b school, I was thinking maybe at least a window?


Why do you think the content of this MBA is any different than any other AACSB accredited MBA? Perhaps investment banks don’t recruit at LSUS, but that doesn’t mean the education is inferior.
This post was edited on 11/25 at 7:38 pm


Miami dolfan
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I think that is what is vexing. This does not feel like Masters level material. Which adds to my first post. I thought there would be more rigor and kind of expect that it would be at other schools, but I have not taken masters classes anywhere else though, so hopefully someone else with experience can inform us.


Duke0609
Member since Jul 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’m in ISDS 710. Do you need help?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Outside of T10 or even T20, I believe an MBA is an MBA is an MBA. I work with a lot of people who attended my local T30 school and they all said the content was a breeze. There’s also a liberal arts school near me that costs an arm and a leg. My friend who went there said in the end, he paid for the network because he didn’t learn anything new. My coworker went to Wharton and said not only was it “not hard” (granted, she’s a medical doctor AND got into Wharton...so maybe nothing is hard to her), but they also have grade NDA so no one can know how well or poorly she did. She said there’s a joke there that it’s called “b-school” for a reason (ha).

I’ve heard time and time again the hardest part of an MBA is time management because most of us work full time and have some sort of major family obligations whether they be spouses or children or both. I also feel like most people with business savvy would respect someone who got a better deal on their MBA as found at LSUS (because again, outside of T10/T20, what’s the diff?). It seems like every time I Google any of the questions or assignments I have here at LSUS, they’re basically all adaptations from Kellogg, Stanford, or HBS, which makes me feel like the content is all pretty standard across the board. IMO, you could spend your free time studying Porter and Argyris if you’re bored w/program content and have time to kill.


Miami dolfan
Member since Aug 2019
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Very well put Kiki. I agree and honking about your examples on material it makes alot of sense. I think I just built it up bigger in my mind and thought I would have some profound moment each course versus a continued grind on the topics to ensure understanding.


AmosMosesAndTwins
New Orleans Saints Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Apr 2010
14168 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Miami dolfan


2015 grad here with B.S. in Finance, 2009. I’d agree the coursework wasn’t difficult per say and also with the comment about time management. The best way I can put it is the program didn’t teach me as much as it taught me about me. Employers I speak with are more impressed with my attaining MBA in such a short time as a Full-Timer than they are with the degree itself. It illustrates discipline, commitment, and drive. Speaking personally, it has paid dividends to my career and, honestly, my life outside of my career.

You’re right about that profound moment missing from courses, up to now at least. I can’t say for sure whether it was the coursework or just a sudden change in me, but that profound moment came for me during MADM 751 with Meeks. The sense of entitlement we’re naturally cursed with melted away and the resulting emotional intelligence I suddenly found myself with has completely transformed everything about my life.

It may not happen for everyone, but I hope it happens for you. My advice is to give the program everything you’ve got. Looking back, I am proud of what I made of my experience in the program and meeting my personal challenge to commit completely to doing it the right way.

Best of luck to you.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
50
longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
17 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Is it bad that I haven't found this MBA as challenging as I expected? How valuable is this degree going to be going forward? Any chance of getting into company MBA development programs?

So far I have taken Fin 701, Econ 705 ISDS 705 and MADM 725...yes I can't expect much out of this latest one...was just interested in casino industry. It's just most of this content is repeat from under grad....very little development.

Anyone else have similar thoughts?


Personally, my goal is to have the MBA title. Honestly, you can learn absolutely all of the topics by reading The 10-Day MBA book. It'll take you at most 10 days, but then all you have is the knowledge, but nothing that anyone can verify from a cursory glance at your resume. I've owned my own (quite successful) IT consulting company for 20 years, but without an MBA, there are conversations that I've found that I'm excluded from. All of the material from the MBA can easily be obtained, but the actual title from an accredited school is what holds weight in many cases (in my opinion and experience).


first pageprev pagePage 431 of 433next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram