Posted by
Message
apt423
Member since Mar 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
This is my first semester here. For the next spring semester I plan to take ACCT 701. I've heard many times that Fabio Ambrosio's class is not much time consuming. But to my surprise Fabio Ambrosio's class has already been full!

Among the other ACCT 701 professors, does anyone have any information on the course load? Li, Hannah, and Zaidi are the available ones I think.


omae214
Member since Nov 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi everyone! Starting the program in Spring 2020. These are the courses I'm enrolled in thus far:

AP1:
- MADM 701 Williams, K
- ISDS 705 Gibbs (Hopefully - class is full right now - on email notifications waiting)

AP2:
- MADM 715 Wren, A
- FIN 701 Choi

Does this seem like a good combination? Does anyone have the syllabus they can send me for any of them? Any advice to prepare?


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

AP1:
- MADM 701 Williams, K
- ISDS 705 Gibbs (Hopefully - class is full right now - on email notifications waiting)

AP2:
- MADM 715 Wren, A
- FIN 701 Choi

Does this seem like a good combination? Does anyone have the syllabus they can send me for any of them? Any advice to prepare?


I did MADM 701 + ISDS 705 my first semester and thought it was a great combo. I had Kungu and Darban. I maintain that Darban’s ISDS 705 class is a great intro to MBA principles though prob not the lightest ISDS 705 offering. No idea on Gibbs' content but it sounds super light, so I'm sure it's a fine choice.

Not familiar with MADM 715 but I took FIN 701 from Choi and it was very straightforward and a good class. I took it with ACCT 701 with Ambrosio and thought it was a nice pairing because a LOT of the content overlapped and was therefore fresh in my mind.

To date, I have not had any pairings I have regretted. I was in your shoes once, but 8 classes in, my advice is not to worry too much about if anything is a terrible pairing- I'm not totally sure one exists.
This post was edited on 11/14 at 11:33 pm


crimsonsasquatch
Alabama Fan
Member since Apr 2019
10 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Anyone with experience with Wyatt for MADM-760?

I am in a dilemna and need some advice, professor seems to have misgraded two discussion assignments. I made a 20/20 on one then the next two were 0/20 followed by the next two as 20/20. Everything is to the rubric and was actually two days ahead of the deadline so there is no issue there.

Multiple e-mails no responses and I am stuck between appealing and risking retaliation or being stuck with a two letter grade hole to dig out of, anyone had any issues with Wyatt's lack of response? Or had to pursue an appeal?


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
34 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
This is the 1st good reason I've ever seen to file a grade appeal. It's clearly a mistake/oversight that the professor needs to correct. Have you considered filing the appeal after all the course work has been submitted -- perhaps remove any chance for retaliation?


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
32 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I would file it before course completion. You can’t be given a 0 with no explanation.


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Agreed and you will seem more proactive rather than waiting until the end.

I would also check-in one more time about your inquiry and keep the tone friendly. Also, make sure to have 3 email requests total prior to escalating. But I think you have every reason to take it to the top. Definitely do not accept a 2 grade deficit for something you submitted!


832LSUmba
Member since Oct 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm taking MADM 701 with Nathan Heller in the spring. Does anyone have a syllabus than can send me or any advice/direction?

Also, does anyone have any thoughts on signing up for Course Hero?

Thanks!


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
34 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Also, does anyone have any thoughts on signing up for Course Hero?


I used Course Hero to get my way through my undergrad degree. At LSUS I find Course Hero to be pretty useless honestly. Practically all the material is outdated and irrelevant to the discussions/essays/tests as currently constructed. I'd save the money myself.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
BEJ
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey NSAtoMBA, did you ever attend the ring ceremony? Or has anyone?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
32 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I'm taking MADM 701 with Nathan Heller in the spring.


I had him for MADM760 last semester. Setup was 1 proctored open book and note quiz on ~50 pages of reading per week, along with either 500 word discussion + response or a 1000 word paper. There was one extra credit assignment during the course, but I don’t know the format.

I assume 701 would be similar in setup, or at least in workload. Hope for a good AC.

For what it is worth, I’m also taking 701 with him this spring.
This post was edited on 11/14 at 9:16 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
crimsonsasquatch
Alabama Fan
Member since Apr 2019
10 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Quintis and Kikicub

I sent a follow-up and will see what occurs, after the third time it should get real interesting if I file the appeal. Fortunately I have been lucky to have great professors leading up to this and not to say this one isn't but the blemish on the grade sheet without an explanation is distracting.

Fingers crossed.


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Crimson, good luck! I’m sure you’ll get this resolved!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Mohawk MBA
LSU Fan
Tri-States
Member since Apr 2019
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I second ACCT 701 for Ambrosio.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
Snuffleupagus09
Alabama Fan
Georgia
Member since Apr 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I recommend Li Huang for Acct 701. I found the class to be VERY straight forward, the tests have absolutely no tricks. I found that if I listened to the lecture and reviewed the power-point prior to the test I would get an A every time and I have absolutely NO accounting background.

The "homework" was nothing more than an open-note proctored pre-test (20 to 25 questions with 2 hour time limit) that you could take twice with the highest grade recorded...there's no reason not to make 100% (50 points) every time. If I knew the concepts for the pretest, I knew them for the test. The only downside to the test is that it is 10 questions (30 minute time limit), so if you miss more than one you won't get an A on that exam; however, she drops the lowest test score, so if you struggle on one, no big deal. The "project" was very straight forward and I found it to be very easy to pull off.

There is absolutely no writing in the course outside of the final project. I averaged about 5 hours per week on this course and got a solid A in the class. Had I known this before the semester, I would have doubled up with another class. The only caveat is she can be a little hard to understand at times, but strangely this made me listen closer and not zone out on her lectures i.e. I think I actually absorbed more because of it...outside of that there is little to complain about.
This post was edited on 11/16 at 1:47 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
venubandi
Member since Nov 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi Baroqen,
Would you mind sending FIN 701 Choi slides, assignments and whatever documents you have to me at venu.kdk@gmail.com, please? Thank you so much!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
courtknee_
Member since Nov 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm taking that in AP2 next spring, if you could please email me the syllabus I'd appreciate it! Courtney.riley94@yahoo.com


WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
8585 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Not at you courtknee

Does anyone have Spreadsheets and notes for Vines Fin 701? TIA.
This post was edited on 11/18 at 5:34 am


venubandi
Member since Nov 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi, This is my first semester here, can you please advise , I have below options for FIN-701
Vines, Timothy
Kendall, Lynn - 1 seat left
Choi, Daewoung
Kim, Sung


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
Paulreed1
Member since Nov 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Han Shi is the worst. He is extremely unrealistic with his FIN 701 course. The average grade is an F. He will burn you out and then you take the practice problems and its on concepts that wasn't clear or he didn't teach. His tests are even worse. If you see he's teaching the class don't take it. Wait for a better teacher.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
first pageprev pagePage 430 of 433next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram