Posted by
Message
AN0NYMOUS
Member since Jun 2017
19 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’m thinking about emailing her regarding it. I don’t see how we wouldn’t get some type of curve. We can’t be tested on something we didn’t cover in the reading material and expect to know the answer.


AN0NYMOUS
Member since Jun 2017
19 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Well, looks like I won’t have to worry about it. Just logged into Moodle and saw this.

“M3: Exam ***Due to a technical issue this exam has been closed early, your score is 80/80.”

Edit: Looks like she also emailed the whole class regarding this issue. I’ll take it.
This post was edited on 2/10 at 11:02 am


BEJ
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm in Yin's ACCT. This is my first class in the program, but her workload seems very reasonable. 7 weekly quizzes and 7 weekly assessments (Proctorio). Then a final exam at the end. Each week covers 1-3 chapters with a recorded lecture that's around an hour.

My only complaint is that you aren't allowed to know what questions you missed on the assessments. Since this is my first class I'm not sure if that's an overall LSUS policy or just hers.
If I'm sure an answer is correct, and it isn't, but I'm not able to know which ones I missed or the correct answer, how can I possibly grasp what concepts I’m not picking up on? I couldn’t imagine being in a physical classroom and the teacher not letting us review what questions we missed.


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

My only complaint is that you aren't allowed to know what questions you missed on the assessments. Since this is my first class I'm not sure if that's an overall LSUS policy or just hers.


It's an LSUS policy. I have yet to find a professor that will share the missed questions.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
181 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

“M3: Exam ***Due to a technical issue this exam has been closed early, your score is 80/80.”


Just read her email. Wow. I've been a proponent of McLaughlin, despite the difficult tests. I'd never had a test where the questions seemed so entirely out of the blue before though. I had thought that it seemed so out different that it might have come from a different chapter, but the concepts were close enough to chapter 5 that I figured I must have been mistaken.

I can't believe she wrote that she hoped everyone would find her resolution acceptable. Hah! It's absolutely the most generous possible resolution she could have made. I actually got an 80% (probably guessed a couple of the weird questions correctly), but I'll take 100% any day. If anything, it's "too fair", where just giving everyone points for the missed questions (up to 100) would have been more than acceptable.

I've recommended McLaughlin for MADM 760 before (with the caveat that it's a self-taught, low interaction, but balanced workload course). The weird questions made me question my former opinion, but I understand that it was a technical issue. I know this is her first time teaching this course, so some kinks are to be expected.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
epginn
Arkansas
Member since Feb 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
How's it going with Isaacs? I have him for MADM 715 in AP2 with MADM 701 with Phillips. Think I'll be able to handle both of those?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

How's it going with Isaacs? I have him for MADM 715 in AP2 with MADM 701 with Phillips. Think I'll be able to handle both of those?

Going pretty well, actually. So far I had to reach out to him once and he responded quickly and on a Saturday night. Material is pretty straight-forward, but there is some reading required each week of 2 chapters (about 60-70 pages) plus PPTs and recorded lectures. There is also a couple case study analysis to do. I think he's been pretty fair and we received a nice little curve on Exam 1. I think I made the right choice by switching to him.

As far as MADM 701 and pairing, I couldn't tell you as I haven't taken MADM 701 yet. As long as you can manage what I mentioned above each week and you have free time, go for it.


Glinda
Member since Apr 2018
38 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Now that we are a few weeks in, I just want to tell everyone that MADM 710 with Phillips has a large course load. It is super writing heavy and feels like a lot of busy work. The assignments each week say they have a minimum of 500 words, but all 3 of mine have been over 2000 and I am not a verbose writer.
This post was edited on 2/11 at 8:16 pm


epginn
Arkansas
Member since Feb 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thank you, I really appreciate the info! I'm taking ACCT 701 & ECON 705 right now. I don't have much free time but I'm managing. Neither of these classes require a lot of writing, so I'm worried about taking Phillips' class. Thanks again.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
181 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Now that we are a few weeks in, I just want to tell everyone that MADM 710 with Phillips has a large course load. It is super writing heavy and feels like a lot of busy work. The assignments each week say they have a minimum of 500 words, but all 3 of mine have been over 2000 and I am not a verbose writer.


Thanks for the heads up. The specific word count is actually extremely helpful, as everyone's definition of a heavy load is different. Since MADM 710 isn't a core course, there is less feedback on it overall, so this is valuable information.

I would like to note however, that 2000 words probably wouldn't be considered "super heavy" when compared to the heavy core classes. I won't be taking the class, but for the sake of posterity is there only a single writing assignment each week, or is there a second (ie discussion post)?

I'd probably classify 2k words a week in the moderate territory. The majority of my MKT and MADM core classes have had weekly discussion posts with additional replies (probably about 800-1200 words total) PLUS a weekly assignment in the 1000-3000 word range... and I did my homework to pick the NOT heavy workload teachers (ie. I did not take Williams, White, or Meeks).
This post was edited on 2/12 at 3:19 am


Glinda
Member since Apr 2018
38 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
No, I agree with you. There is also a discussion board post + 25 question quiz each week. My discussion board posts have fallen in the 1000-1500+ range or thereabouts. Just as an example this week there were 4 questions to answer in that post including one that required 2 pro/cons and fully fleshed out arguments to go with it. Before that last question my word count was at 948. As it’s an HR class we are working on things weekly like writing a fully fleshed out job description + analysis, but we weren’t allowed to write it on our own job or one within our department. And both discussion board post and weekly assignment require a fair amount of outside research as they ask questions that can’t be answered with the core text.

All of this is fine—it’s a graduate level course after all—it’s just much more involved than the syllabus made it look in the beginning. I’d say the workload is nearly comparable to James’ MKT701 when you factor in all the research/etc.
This post was edited on 2/12 at 7:17 am


Glinda
Member since Apr 2018
38 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Also for clarification I didn’t call the course load super heavy or even the writing load—just that within the class, it is super writing heavy. For example McLaughlin’s MADM 760 I felt was more balanced as the writing assignments were straightforward every week and didn’t require multiple directions of outside research, just one or two supporting sources.


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
181 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Also for clarification I didn’t call the course load super heavy or even the writing load—just that within the class, it is super writing heavy. For example McLaughlin’s MADM 760 I felt was more balanced as the writing assignments were straightforward every week and didn’t require multiple directions of outside research, just one or two supporting sources.


Which is why I took McLaughlin for MADM 701 as well as MADM 760. Straightforward, balanced, no busywork. Frankly, writing for McLaughlin is also a bit more like writing for a senior executive. You need to be hit all the points while being concise. It's not perfect (most senior execs I've known typically preferred things condensed to bullet points), but it's much closer to getting you the real world skills than a 20-40 page paper.

It's also not a perfect class in other ways. From what I hear, James and Meeks are heavy on busywork, but also heavy on actual teaching and interaction. I'd like to have more interaction, lecture videos, zooms, open discussions (for non-graded conversations between the teacher and class so we can help each other with difficult concepts)... basically I took Shaughnessy my first semester, and so far no other teacher has begun to compare to his setup. lol


SATNIGHTS
LSU Fan
Red Stick
Member since Jan 2008
1184 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Am I going to regret taking Heller for 760 next semester? I was thinking about switching to McLaughlin but there are no openings and not sure she will teach it Summer.

There is an Acct 701 open with Yin in AP2.

Currently I have the following classes left:
Acct 701 - Hoping for Ambrosia
MADM 701 - Have read I can possibly double up.
MADM 760 - Spring AP2 unless I should hold out for McLaughlin.
MADM 720 - Free elective. I was told Kim Williams and can possibly double up.

I am ready to be done. So I was thinking of doubling the next 2 semesters but not sure it’s worth it yet. Any thoughts or prayers?


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
181 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Satnights,

I've heard Heller is good so you probably won't regret it. The details have generally been vague but positive. No group work, which is important to me.

I should re-iterate that McLaughlin's tests can be a bit tricky. If you're lucky, you can pick up a bunch of easy questions, but I've also been unlucky before and gotten hit with questions that were more granular. It's tough for me to remember every single little detail, so I'm sure I miss some of these and it's been tough for some other students as well. For me, it's a calculated risk as I place a lot of value in the predictable and balanced workload.

Perhaps I was traumatized, but I would HATE to have another class like MKT 701 (A. Darrat) where literally 44% of the class was concentrated into two weeks (3 and 5) and you're hit with an exam covering multiple weeks, a discussion post and reply, AND a full case analysis on those weeks, while weeks 1, 2, and 6 are just two discussion posts and replies (worth 12% total).

McLaughlin's MADM 760 was, weekly discussion with two replies, a short weekly current event paper (I would say 500-1000 words), and a weekly exam on the two chapters for the week. 701 was a similar format (although only 4 weeks of forum posts). No weeks are light but neither are any weeks unusually heavy.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Am I going to regret taking Heller for 760 next semester?


SATNIGHTS,

I took Heller for 760 and ended up with an A. Found it to be pretty straight-forward with a Company Profile paper that was the biggest time hog. Everything else pretty easy.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
epginn
Arkansas
Member since Feb 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Me again! How is MKT 701 with Khan? I may change and take the same two classes you are this term? Has it been a real pain?


epginn
Arkansas
Member since Feb 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Any updates on this class? Was thinking of switching to this class instead of MADM 701 with Williams in AP2.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
sl8819
Member since Feb 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'll be starting the program in the upcoming AP2 session. I've registered for ISDS 705 with Lind and FIN 701 with Kendall. Couldn't find much info on either professor. Any thoughts?


epginn
Arkansas
Member since Feb 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
This is my first term at LSUS. I have ACCT 701 with Yin and ECON 705 with Fanta.

I LOVE Yin's class. No discussions, no papers, just straightforward accounting. Read the chapters, watch the power points, take the quiz, and take the exam. She grades tough though.

Fanta's class isn't too bad, other than group projects. We have three. The syllabus started out with five, so I'm glad he changed it! You have a discussion every week and an exam, which can be tough. He also gives A LOT of reading material, which for me, makes it hard to focus. However, he grades fairly.

I'm trying to find out about FIN 701 with Kendall as well. Let me know if you find out anything.


Jump to page
Page First 377 378 379 380
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 379 of 380next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram