Posted by
Message
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
175 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
IMO none of the classes at LSUS are hard. Some have stupid hoop requirements and some are unnecessarily time consuming. In fact, it is downright shameful what some of the professors require not because of learning and difficulty, but because of some fascination with busy work.
A couple of classes require focused analysis and focused time and focused concentration - just like running a business.

I really do not mean this in a mean way. But, if these classes are hard for you, maybe you should choose a different career. You are going to be miserable running any kind of business.
Truly, my sophomore and junior years in high school were more difficult as I took 12 AP classes those two years.
This post was edited on 1/31 at 9:42 am


Glinda
Member since Apr 2018
41 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
In case anyone wants to know how MADM 710 is going—discussion board post and response once a week. Very simple case study responses but lots of questions to answer. Either a “mini project” or case study response each week to write, minimum of 500 words, and a quiz over the readings. Manageable course load.

Here’s the bad so far—extremely slow grading. Here we are at Thursday and nothing from last week has been graded save the quiz. I don’t like to write a second assignment before I know how the person grading likes things done but looks like I have no choice here.


pineveillj
Pineville
Member since Sep 2018
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’ve been managing people for the past 10 years. This statistics class is driving me bonkers.
I need to just step back and dumb it down and stop trying to analyze it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
214 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I really do not mean this in a mean way. But, if these classes are hard for you, maybe you should choose a different career. You are going to be miserable running any kind of business. Truly, my sophomore and junior years in high school were more difficult as I took 12 AP classes those two years.


BK, I think you are being unnecessarily harsh here. While I understand much of what you're saying, you need to keep in mind that someone who took ANY AP class (much less 12) and the "average" student are very different. Plus, high school, undergrad, and then grad school situations are all extremely different animals. High school is about school, that's your job. You spend a whole work day focused on school. Undergrad work is a little more varied, with some studying full time and others carrying one or more full time jobs. Grad school students going straight from undergrad studies tend to be similar, but an ONLINE MBA student tends to lean towards people who have full time jobs, many with families, and many who have been out of school and their study habits for an extended period of time.

Add the fact that academic success is by no means an indicator of real work success. I have some extremely successful friends and business associates that had pitiful academic careers, but have managed to become millionaires through grit (and luck, which really does play a big part in everything). I also have some friends and associates who were extremely successful academically, honors students at top 10 colleges, Harvard, Caltech, MIT, etc, who simply couldn't hack it in the real world, didn't catch that one lucky break, or simply made the wrong decisions/choices.

Everyone's situation is different, and sometimes we need to appreciate that something that is easy for some, might not be so for others. When I hire people, I hire for their attitude, not their academic prowess. Some of the best people I've ever developed were not academically gifted but were able to become great managers. Some of the extremely "intelligent" people I've hired ended up being arrogant and condescending to both employees and customers.


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
66 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

BK, I think you are being unnecessarily harsh here. While I understand much of what you're saying, you need to keep in mind that someone who took ANY AP class (much less 12) and the "average" student are very different. Plus, high school, undergrad, and then grad school situations are all extremely different animals. High school is about school, that's your job. You spend a whole work day focused on school. Undergrad work is a little more varied, with some studying full time and others carrying one or more full time jobs. Grad school students going straight from undergrad studies tend to be similar, but an ONLINE MBA student tends to lean towards people who have full time jobs, many with families, and many who have been out of school and their study habits for an extended period of time.

Add the fact that academic success is by no means an indicator of real work success. I have some extremely successful friends and business associates that had pitiful academic careers, but have managed to become millionaires through grit (and luck, which really does play a big part in everything). I also have some friends and associates who were extremely successful academically, honors students at top 10 colleges, Harvard, Caltech, MIT, etc, who simply couldn't hack it in the real world, didn't catch that one lucky break, or simply made the wrong decisions/choices.

Everyone's situation is different, and sometimes we need to appreciate that something that is easy for some, might not be so for others. When I hire people, I hire for their attitude, not their academic prowess. Some of the best people I've ever developed were not academically gifted but were able to become great managers. Some of the extremely "intelligent" people I've hired ended up being arrogant and condescending to both employees and customers.


Well said.


pineveillj
Pineville
Member since Sep 2018
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@baroqen
Where y’at?
Just took me all week to figure this weeks isds 702 stuff. I keep over complicating this hypothesis creation.
I pulled out the book and that helped me a lot.


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
214 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
It's been an incredibly busy week, so I just barely finished my MADM 701 stuff and now I'm in the middle of the second lecture video. I haven't done any actual work for ISDS 702 yet. Last week was also crazy busy for me so I didn't have time to properly study for MADM and didn't do very well on the test. I spent extra time this week to try and make sure to bring my grade back into A territory.


I have about 6-7 total hours still available to me to work on this class, so wish me luck that I do okay. Your comments are making me worry! Between work and my family, I sometimes struggle to find enough time to dedicate to my classes. I'll update again after I've gotten into the actual work.
This post was edited on 2/3 at 3:33 am


BogGirl94
Member since Jan 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Is anyone else taking Kendall for FIN 701 and doing pretty poorly on the tests? Please tell me in not the only one. I study and practice all week, but I still do terrible on the test. Can anyone give me tips on how to better prepare? There is honestly so much information it's crazy and the tests are so much different than the practice problems.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
biggsc
USA Fan
30.321484, -87.534052
Member since Mar 2009
29213 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Do EMBA


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
Manderson1005
Member since Feb 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
What did you think about the first exam this week in mkt 701?


SATNIGHTS
LSU Fan
Red Stick
Member since Jan 2008
1294 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am overthinking ISDS


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
214 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I am overthinking ISDS


Probably, but it might come in handy in the coming weeks. I honestly just didn't have time to "understand" it per se, I just made sure I understood the wonky logic of it all. I watched the videos once, took a couple hours break for dinner and to take care of my kids a bit, did the excel stuff, took the assignment and then the quiz. 100% on the first try of the assignment but only 80% on the quiz because by then I'd forgotten the exact details of one of the first videos, and there were 3 questions on it (I missed all 3).

Overall, I'm okay with the results considering I only had about 4-5 hours invested this week. I'll try to devote more time next week and definitely review the videos again before taking the quiz. Someone indicated that he didn't explain things well, and I'd have to agree. There definitely could have been better ways to explain it than what I got out of the videos. I learned more from reverse engineering the logic from the Discussion board stuff than anything else.


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
66 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:


What did you think about the first exam this week in mkt 701?

@Manderson1005

This was the second exam. First exam was on 1/27 and the second was on 2/3. This coming Sunday is Exam 3.
Did you miss the first one on 1/27?
This post was edited on 2/4 at 8:06 am


Manderson1005
Member since Feb 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
We must be taking two different professors. I am taking Mohammad Darat.


sl8819
Member since Feb 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Going through the application process for this program. Hoping to start during the upcoming March session. Just curious about the courses. Which courses are heavy in group work? Would anyone recommend taking certain courses early in the program? As to acquire a specific helpful skillset? Any elective courses that are NOT recommended? Thanks for any feedback!


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
66 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

We must be taking two different professors. I am taking Mohammad Darat.

Ah! I am with Khan.
This post was edited on 2/4 at 2:21 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
66 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Going through the application process for this program. Hoping to start during the upcoming March session. Just curious about the courses. Which courses are heavy in group work? Would anyone recommend taking certain courses early in the program? As to acquire a specific helpful skillset? Any elective courses that are NOT recommended? Thanks for any feedback!

In the MBA Resource Center, there is a list of recommended course sequences based on your concentration/specialization.
I am in Class 4 of 10 and I have yet to run into anything heavy in group-work.
Elective-wise, I would say it just depends on your track and your interests.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
175 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
baroquen:

Good points.

But, I still think if LSUS is "hard" as in difficult subject matter, business school is not right for you. Traditional business schools rule people out with the GMAT. The disadvantage of not requiring a GMAT is the lower quality of students in the program because many have no business thinking they should be in business school and the GMAT prevented them from doing so. For some, the GMAT would not have made any difference. But, there are too many students in this program who can barely put a sentence together, spell correctly, and think beyond their own experience. Just my opinion and observations, but it is a pretty pervasive issue and it is growing. Just look at the Facebook discussions, the discussions in Moodle, and wow, just look at the GroupMe discussions if you are ever as unfortunate to be in one of those. Many do not want to work for their degree and feel entitled to an MBA.
This post was edited on 2/4 at 2:58 pm


Paul Allen
Notre Dame Fan
Montauk, NY
Member since Nov 2007
56187 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I was lambasted on this thread for pointing out egregious grammatical errors on several moodle posts/assignments. One person said “it’s truly a bazaar thing” when describing something unorthodox. Someone pointed out it should have read “it’s truly a bizarre thing”, which led to an ensuing disagreement between the two students. The same person also mentioned to not “take things for granite”.

The misuse of “they’re, their and there” was grossly pervasive on several moodle assignments. I don’t want to come off as an elitist or condescending, but you have to somewhat agree that proper grammar and the correct use of everyday idioms is somewhat expected at an MBA level, regardless if it’s LSUS or Wharton School of Business. Students challenging themselves to earn their MBA should take pride in how they speak and the use of proper diction.

Just my .02 cents. Overall, I couldn’t be happier with finishing the program, but if I had to pick one drawback, it certainly would be this. I hope the program continues on its upward trajectory and posters on this thread continue to gain valuable insight and one day apply what they’ve learned in their real world experiences.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
80
21sunny
MI
Member since Jul 2018
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Great response, thank you!
This post was edited on 2/4 at 8:58 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Jump to page
Page First 375 376 377 378 379 ... 395
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 377 of 395next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram