Started By
Message

re: The overturn

Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:29 pm to
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:29 pm to
if he falls to the ground in the act of catching the ball, he has to survive the ground with possession. I think he did, but this is what the refs did not think happened. It is consider a simultaneous action, he is not an established ball carrier
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:31 pm to
If he keeps control and the ball hits the pylon/crosses the plane before going out of bounds, then he completed the catch and became a ball carrier who scored.
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:32 pm to
If the player already has firm control and keeps that control even though the ball subsequently contacts the ground (while still controlled), and the other requirements are met, the catch stands.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:36 pm to
quote:

If he keeps control and the ball hits the pylon/crosses the plane before going out of bounds, then he completed the catch and became a ball carrier who scored.




no


quote:

If the player already has firm control and keeps that control even though the ball subsequently contacts the ground (while still controlled), and the other requirements are met, the catch stands.




yes
Posted by LSU Tigerhead
Metairie
Member since Nov 2007
5145 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:42 pm to
One thing no one is looking at is why did the referee mark him out at the 1 foot line to begin with? What the heck did he imagine? Brown didn't come close to the out of bounds until after he crossed the goal line.

This makes me think it was rigged from the beginning.
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:43 pm to
He met all requirements prior to going to the ground. He wasn’t going to the ground when he attempted to catch the ball. Therefore he’s a ball carrier and the surviving the ground or ball touching the ground doesn’t apply. If he were to dive and attempt to catch I could see that being incomplete. And that’s after he hit the pylon first and ball crossing the plane. Even if those did apply he had control.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 12:45 pm
Posted by wesman21
Youngsville
Member since Jun 2009
3472 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:43 pm to
Was the call completely at the discretion of Daniel Gautreaux? Did any of the other crew members get to have their input? What about those pumping the video feed to him?

Doubt we see a shittier call than that all season.
Posted by whodatfan
Member since Mar 2008
21897 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:46 pm to
quote:

jesus frick


be better
Posted by King Joey
Just south of the DC/US border
Member since Mar 2004
12718 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:49 pm to
quote:

His steps are as he is falling which attaches relevance to the ground.


Not by rule. Being off balance and stumbling until you eventually hit the ground is not "falling". "Falling" is the process of going directly to the ground. When you take more steps you are not longer falling. That's why when a guy catches a ball and is clearly stumbling ahead for 5 or 6 steps before hitting the ground they don't look at this. Same thing here. If you're still taking steps, you aren't "falling".

Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:50 pm to
quote:

He wasn’t going to the ground when he attempted to catch the ball.


You cannot make a legal catch without having at least 1 foot in bounds. Just because you have 1 foot in bounds does not mean you are an established ball carrier. They are not mutually exclusive.
Posted by des4271
Member since Oct 2014
4440 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:50 pm to
Tried to explain this same exact scenario to someone on here earlier. When surviving the ground would come into play would be when a catch is made within the end zone going out of bounds and to the ground. The only thing that should have been reviewed last night should have been, did he have possession inbounds and did he break the plane of the goal line and he did both.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:50 pm to
quote:

"Falling" is the process of going directly to the ground. When you take more steps you are not longer falling. That's why when a guy catches a ball and is clearly stumbling ahead for 5 or 6 steps before hitting the ground they don't look at this. Same thing here. If you're still taking steps, you aren't "falling".



He took 1 step and fell lol
Posted by jctiger73
Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2009
289 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:55 pm to
I do know. I have a rule book.
Posted by Penrod
Member since Jan 2011
51561 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:55 pm to
Several have corrected you in this thread. Their point is correct. You are assuming he possessed the ball. But the rules about possessing the ball include surviving contact with the ground after a catch while falling. He might not have. No amount of quoting parts of the rulebook are going to get around the fact that he had to maintain control through contact with the ground. Did he? I don’t know, but your argument is avoiding the actual dilemma.
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:57 pm to
He met all the requirements it would be a catch prior to the ground. He crossed the plane prior to the ground. I can post the requirements if you’d like.

A completed catch requires all of the following in this order:

a. Secure firm control of a live ball in flight using hand(s) or arm(s) before the ball touches the ground.

b. Touch the ground inbounds with any part of the body.

c. Maintain control long enough to make an act common to the game (e.g., pitch or hand the ball, advance it, ward off a defender, etc.).

d. Satisfy Subsections b, c, and d.


Love to hear your thoughts.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:59 pm to
why cut the most important part of the rule off?

the catch is completed until this part was not fulfilled, in the referees eyes.


quote:

If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also required for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and going to the ground out of bounds. If he loses control of the ball which then touches the ground before he regains control, it is not a catch. If he regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.



Posted by des4271
Member since Oct 2014
4440 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:01 pm to
He actually had both feet inbounds, one in outside the plane of the goal line and then the other touched down inside the end zone all with possession. Catch, possession, football move ( 2 steps ) and inbounds and broke the plane of the goal line. TD all day.
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:06 pm to
He wasn’t going out of bounds. He met the requirements prior to that anyways. He wasn’t going to the ground. He may have been off balanced. If he were to dive while catching the ball and that happened then YES it’s incomplete. He wasn’t going to the ground when the catch was made. He was in stride caught the ball broke the plane then went out of bounds while going to the ground.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287759 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:07 pm to
quote:

He actually had both feet inbounds


no he didn't. He had 1 foot in bounds, the 2nd step lands on the sideline of the endzone. It is not even in question.
Posted by HTX_LSU
Member since Oct 2018
2638 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:07 pm to
quote:

They argued he DIDNT have possession

even if he didn't he still held the ball all the way through to the ground, the ball it the ground but he had complete control of it and it didn't move, herb and fowler actually talked about that very thing earlier in the game
first pageprev pagePage 4 of 8Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram