- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Stop with the whole he had two steps in but on the touchdown
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:37 pm to killercoconut
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:37 pm to killercoconut
We won, so I don't care about the missed call. Had we lost, this would be all over the TV, media, TD etc.... We won. Move on folks.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:13 pm to mtntiger
quote:
He had two feet down before crossing the goal line. One foot was down when he caught it, he took a step, then was pushed as he crossed the goal line. It was a catch and a TD.
You clearly have not watched the replay I linked above. He has one foot on the ground when he catches it then his second step comes down on the out of bounds line. At no point does he get two steps in bounds with the ball in his hands. This was the whole premise of the topic and it’s not even close if you watch the video. It’s not even an argument he had two feet because it did not happen.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:29 pm to killercoconut
He hit the pylon breaking the plane with possession of the ball after already getting a step in bounds before he reached the end zone, it’s a fricking touchdown.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:31 pm to killercoconut
Did he hit the pylon with possession after already getting a foot down in bounds before the goal line?
Try harder
Try harder
Posted on 8/31/25 at 10:36 pm to killercoconut
quote:
But he doesn’t take two steps in bounds lol. That’s my whole point.
Your point is wrong. He doesn’t have to “take two steps in bounds”.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 10:53 pm to killercoconut
You only need 1 foot inbounds in college.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:09 pm to uptowntiger84
So many different issues are being conflated here. It was the right call for one reason: lack of ball possession. That has to happen before a touchdown, first down, anywhere you are trying to go.
Let’s say this ball was thrown into the middle of the end-zone. Receiver jumps up is hit with momentum taking him to the back of the end-zone. One foot happens to tap down, but the other comes down out-of-bounds.
Not the end of the world, but at least one football move has been disqualified (the one that requires you to take two steps in play with ball in hand two establish possession).
So the only other football move left (to prove possession) is surviving the ground. If the player can survive the ground without the ball moving around, his second chance at establishing a football move/possession would be established.
Now we can talk about the imaginary goal line and crossing planes because possession has been established. That’s why the Durham comparison was so dumb he had established possession well before he even got to the plane
Let’s say this ball was thrown into the middle of the end-zone. Receiver jumps up is hit with momentum taking him to the back of the end-zone. One foot happens to tap down, but the other comes down out-of-bounds.
Not the end of the world, but at least one football move has been disqualified (the one that requires you to take two steps in play with ball in hand two establish possession).
So the only other football move left (to prove possession) is surviving the ground. If the player can survive the ground without the ball moving around, his second chance at establishing a football move/possession would be established.
Now we can talk about the imaginary goal line and crossing planes because possession has been established. That’s why the Durham comparison was so dumb he had established possession well before he even got to the plane
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:13 pm to uptowntiger84
quote:
You only need 1 foot inbounds in college
But you need so much more to establish possession. What if a receiver gets hit in the hands at the 5 yard line, and then proceeds to bobble the ball all the way to the back of the end-zone, and when he finally appears to secure it (with one foot inbounds) goes out the back of the end-zone, hits the ground, and it moves on him?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:18 pm to killercoconut
The really bad part of that call was the official marking Brown out of bounds at the 1/2 yard line when it was obvious that he hit the pylon & the pylon went towards the sideline. Then he had his head down looking at his wonderful spot & had no idea what was going on to his right in the endzone. Terrible mechanics but status quo for SEC officiating.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:22 pm to PaperTiger
The fact that he hit the pylon should have been enough. "
Exactly! This is what strikes me the most.
Exactly! This is what strikes me the most.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:59 pm to killercoconut
quote:
But he doesn’t take two steps in bounds lol. That’s my whole point. I’m not sure where yall are even getting this. Watch the video
and if you'll read the post that you're responding to, he says it doesn't matter if both steps were in bounds. In college football you only need one foot inbounds with possession. Barion Brown brought a foot down inbounds and a second foot down out of bounds with possession of the football. This indicates he made two football moves after possessing the ball and he clearly had possession catching the ball with one foot down in bounds.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 12:55 am to DCtiger1
quote:
a running back dives, hits the pylon and fumbles ob when he hits the ground it’s a fricking TD. The rule is moronic
Yes it is
Posted on 9/1/25 at 1:45 am to Augustus516
quote:
So many different issues are being conflated here. It was the right call for one reason: lack of ball possession. That has to happen before a touchdown, first down, anywhere you are trying to go.
It was the wrong call
By your shitty logic a neceiver who catches the ball on the 2 yard line in the middle of the field with possession and crosses the goal line then flips the ball like they do and it hits the ground it would be incomplete.
You are saying they would have to what? Hold the ball till they get back to the bench?
He caught the ball outside the endzone and had possession when he crossed the goal line. It's a fricking touchdown.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 2:51 am to killercoconut
I’m not getting the point of your thread here. Why are you wanting to argue about having or not having two feet inbounds if you don’t have to have two feet inbounds in college for it to be a catch? In which you said that you think it was a TD like all the rest of us do anyway. Who is griping about him having two feet inbounds?
Posted on 9/1/25 at 3:03 am to killercoconut
frick off, ignoramus!
He had 3 steps down to establish control of the catch. Right foot in bounds, left foot out of bounds and right knee out of bounds.
There was no bobbling of the ball until maybe AFTER the right knee had hit the ground and then the hand with the ball hit the ground. I'm not even sure there was a bobble after that hand with the ball hit the ground.
Control of the ball was established. He got his one foot down in bounds. He crossed the plane of the endzone with the ball in bounds and took out the pylon in bounds.
Result......clinical touchdown
frick Birmingham SEC trying to screw LSU and help Bama every chance they can.
Anybody got any molotov cocktails ready to go? I will meet you and that criminally corrupt org in the Kramer building will finally come down!!!!!
He had 3 steps down to establish control of the catch. Right foot in bounds, left foot out of bounds and right knee out of bounds.
There was no bobbling of the ball until maybe AFTER the right knee had hit the ground and then the hand with the ball hit the ground. I'm not even sure there was a bobble after that hand with the ball hit the ground.
Control of the ball was established. He got his one foot down in bounds. He crossed the plane of the endzone with the ball in bounds and took out the pylon in bounds.
Result......clinical touchdown
frick Birmingham SEC trying to screw LSU and help Bama every chance they can.
Anybody got any molotov cocktails ready to go? I will meet you and that criminally corrupt org in the Kramer building will finally come down!!!!!
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 3:25 am
Posted on 9/1/25 at 3:22 am to Yeahright
quote:
We won, so I don't care about the missed call. Had we lost, this would be all over the TV, media, TD etc.... We won. Move on folks.
frick you pussy. The Birmingham Alabama SEC has done shite like this to harm LSU and favor Alabama on the gridiron for the last 50 years at least.
If you want to bend over and take some more Alabama football cock up your arse.....you are welcome to do so. Don't exhort other LSU fans to do so.
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 3:30 am
Posted on 9/1/25 at 5:18 am to moneyg
Catch, Interception, Recovery
ARTICLE 3. a. To catch a ball means that a player:
1. Secures firm control with the hand(s) or arms) of a live ball in flight before the ball touches the ground, and
2. Touches the ground inbounds with any part of the body, and then
3. Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable that player to erform an act common to the game, i.e., long enough to pitch o1 and the ball, advance it, avoid or ward off an opponent, etc., anc
4. Satisfies paragraphs b, c, and d below.
b. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) the player must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also equired for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and goin: o the ground out of bounds. If the player loses control of the ball whicl then touches the ground before they regain control, it is not a catch. If the player regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.
C.
grone layer loses control of the ball while simulancusly touching the
with any part of their body, or if there is doubt that the acts were imultaneous, it is not a catch. If a player has control of the ball, a sligh movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considere
RULE 2 / DEFINITIONS
FR-33
loss of possession; the player must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.
d. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control and continues to maintain control, and the elements above are satisfied, it is a catch.
e. An interception is a catch of an opponent's pass or fumble.
• A catch by any kneeling or prone inbounds player is a completion
ARTICLE 3. a. To catch a ball means that a player:
1. Secures firm control with the hand(s) or arms) of a live ball in flight before the ball touches the ground, and
2. Touches the ground inbounds with any part of the body, and then
3. Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable that player to erform an act common to the game, i.e., long enough to pitch o1 and the ball, advance it, avoid or ward off an opponent, etc., anc
4. Satisfies paragraphs b, c, and d below.
b. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) the player must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also equired for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and goin: o the ground out of bounds. If the player loses control of the ball whicl then touches the ground before they regain control, it is not a catch. If the player regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.
C.
grone layer loses control of the ball while simulancusly touching the
with any part of their body, or if there is doubt that the acts were imultaneous, it is not a catch. If a player has control of the ball, a sligh movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considere
RULE 2 / DEFINITIONS
FR-33
loss of possession; the player must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.
d. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control and continues to maintain control, and the elements above are satisfied, it is a catch.
e. An interception is a catch of an opponent's pass or fumble.
• A catch by any kneeling or prone inbounds player is a completion
Posted on 9/1/25 at 5:37 am to CDawson
quote:
Control and “football move” aren’t defined as in bounds or out of bounds
Right.
quote:
He absolutely took two steps with control
Did he? Or did he get two feet down with control? The first step had already happened when he gained control.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 5:44 am to stein69
quote:
4. Satisfies paragraphs b, c, and d below.
b. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) the player must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also equired for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and goin: o the ground out of bounds. If the player loses control of the ball whicl then touches the ground before they regain control, it is not a catch. If the player regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.
C.
grone layer loses control of the ball while simulancusly touching the
with any part of their body, or if there is doubt that the acts were imultaneous, it is not a catch. If a player has control of the ball, a sligh movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered
This is what it boils down to. The replay officials ruled that he did NOT take two steps, which I think they got right. They then ruled that the ball movement we all saw constituted loss of control. I can’t agree with that.
Popular
Back to top

1





