Started By
Message

re: Everyone I talked still involved in the game, from officials to replay officials said TD

Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:50 am to
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127761 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:50 am to
quote:

And I think its hilarious how you want to discount former officials who are now working as rules analysts for the networks. WTF is that about?



He says while completely discounting the actual rule analyst paid to make the decision?
Posted by MikeTheTiger71
Member since Dec 2021
4224 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:50 am to
quote:

Mine is based on the letter of the rule.


Your interpretation of the letter of the rule would make it an incomplete pass if a player goes to ground 20 yards downfield from making the catch and has a slight bobble when he hits the ground. You aren’t wrong that the way it is worded makes it appear that way, but clearly that is not the intent.

quote:

You're posting blogs for terms the NCAA doesn't even use anymore within the catch rule (ie Football Move).


They call it an act common to the game. It’s the same concept. You were using that in your own argument, so I’m confused by what you are trying to say here. And the rule states they just need to have control long enough to perform such an act, not that they actually have to legally perform such an act. You are trying to employ a technicality that is not written into the rule. The movements that would typically constitute an act common to the game need not occur in bounds. He just needed to have control of the ball long enough to perform those actions in bounds or not.
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127761 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:51 am to
quote:

OMG, your level of mental gymnastics is off the charts!





How?

The official on the field got it wrong in both instances. One is reviewable, the other is not.

When the one that is reviewable was reviewed, the rules official changed it.
Posted by Vacherie Saint
Member since Aug 2015
46016 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:51 am to
He took one unquestionable stride across the plane which does not need to land in bounds, but truthfully, he really doesnt need to take any. Last night a TE caught a pass in the air and simply turned his head slightly before he was hammered in mid air before touching the ground. The ball immediately came out. It was ruled a catch.
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127761 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:52 am to
quote:

Your interpretation of the letter of the rule would make it an incomplete pass if a player goes to ground 20 yards downfield from making the catch and has a slight bobble when he hits the ground.


He would have advanced the ball, a move "common to the game".
Posted by chaso
clinton ms.
Member since Aug 2006
3207 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:52 am to
No he didn't, the ball moved but those big hands were wrapped around and never let go! He had possession before pylon and I completely disagree with your super slo mo vision! Geaux to eye doc today ?? You are just living up to your "fun bunch" title
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127761 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:53 am to
quote:

They call it an act common to the game. It’s the same concept. You were using that in your own argument, so I’m confused by what you are trying to say here. And the rule states they just need to have control long enough to perform such an act, not that they actually have to legally perform such an act. You are trying to employ a technicality that is not written into the rule. The movements that would typically constitute an act common to the game need not occur in bounds. He just needed to have control of the ball long enough to perform those actions in bounds or not.



These are better arguments than what others are making. Much better.

However, the last word of subsection A:3 applies:

"And"

He must satisfy B: he went to the ground.

So now its a matter of did he maintain control when he did
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127761 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:54 am to
quote:


No he didn't, the ball moved but those big hands were wrapped around and never let go!


respectfully having watched this play many times, I very much disagree.

But we can agree to disagree.
Posted by Vacherie Saint
Member since Aug 2015
46016 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:57 am to
he did advance the ball. WTF are you talking about?

He caught it on like the two yard line and landed 3 yards deep in the end zone!
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 10:57 am
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127761 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 10:59 am to
quote:

He caught it on like the two yard line and landed 3 yards deep in the end zone!



AND

Satisfies subsection B


(I also disagree with your categorization of the events of the play)
Posted by tigerfoot
Alexandria
Member since Sep 2006
60630 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 11:00 am to
quote:

he did advance the ball. WTF are you talking about?

He caught it on like the two yard line and landed 3 yards deep in the end zone!
He caught the ball clean, with control, took a step across the goal line, with a foot inbounds. In my opinion and many others, including rules officials, that was a TD.

I can promise you this, if had dropped it and fumbled it out of the endzone...without the fall to the ground, it would have been Clemson ball.


The refs did this a few times last year in games I watched, it seems the ruling of controlling thru the ground is open to a pretty broad interpretation. My opinion is, once a player makes a step, with the ball, it is a catch.
Posted by Capo
New Orleans
Member since Jun 2013
1040 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 11:00 am to
quote:

He was falling the entire time. If it is not a catch, then where it happened and crossing the pylon is totally irrelevant.

Take for example he grips the ball like he did in this situation and dove face first toward the pylon. Ball gripped in his hands hits the pylon and as he lands, the ball pops out.

You don’t think that’s a touchdown?
Posted by Vacherie Saint
Member since Aug 2015
46016 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 11:00 am to
the video you posted shows it best, he even secures the ball with the second hand on the ground as he rolls. sure the ball touched the ground, but that alone does not eliminate a catch. The ball never left his hands and was never clearly and irrefutably out of his control at any point.

That being said, he made a football move, so its a moot point.
Posted by Vacherie Saint
Member since Aug 2015
46016 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 11:02 am to
now you are just being obtuse.

Even the most conservative interpretation has him taking a full stride over the plane.
Posted by King Joey
Just south of the DC/US border
Member since Mar 2004
12722 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 11:07 am to
quote:

If the catch is made while falling - and the way they define it, it was - then you have to survive the ground.


Simply not correct. A catch MADE while falling is irrelevant. The only thing that triggers "surviving the ground" is if the player "goes to the ground while in the act of making a catch". Not "falling", not "stumbling", not "inevitably ending up on the ground"; "goes to the ground". And it has to be "while in the act of making the catch". Once the catch is made, the receiver is a runner and the rule is the same as any other ball carrier.

The rules clearly define the process of making a catch. It is described in the first three paragraphs and includes the infamous football move concept (though that term isn't actually used). Then they had to add a paragraph to account for players making diving catches where there is no opportunity to make the football move (i.e., when the player goes to the ground while in the process of making a catch). That -- and only THAT -- is when the whole surviving the ground notion comes into play. That clearly wasn't the case with Brown because by the time he went to the ground he had clearly completed the process of making a catch.

Posted by Penrod
Member since Jan 2011
51864 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 11:12 am to
quote:

A catch MADE while falling is irrelevant. The only thing that triggers "surviving the ground" is if the player "goes to the ground while in the act of making a catch"

That’s semantics. It’s the same thing.
Posted by MikeTheTiger71
Member since Dec 2021
4224 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 12:05 pm to
quote:

However, the last word of subsection A:3 applies: "And" He must satisfy B: he went to the ground. So now its a matter of did he maintain control when he did


This gets back to what I said before. That interpretation of the AND in the rule would mean that the player losing control going to ground would invalidate the catch no matter how long after he established control and no matter how many acts to common to the game he completed after establishing that control. I agree with you 100% that the wording is confusing, at best, and grammatically incorrect, at worst. Regardless of that, I think we can agree that the AND doesn’t mean both have to be met in all circumstances regardless of the time that elapses in between.

I think the issue here is that 3.a.3 has multiple components to it. The parts that establish control with a body part touching down in bounds must be fulfilled AND the requirements of b., c., and d., but the part after the AND only applies if the player has not had control long enough to complete an act common to the game. So, in this case, b., c., d. should only be applicable if you don’t believe Brown had control long enough to complete an act common to the game. I would argue that the time to take 2 steps and put a knee down was sufficiently long enough to make b., c., and d. not applicable.
Posted by lsupride87
Member since Dec 2007
108186 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 12:18 pm to
LSU isn’t even turning on the TD catch to officials because BK said the ruling was 100% correct based on the rule, but the rule needs to change


Posted by Roscoe
Member since Sep 2007
3069 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 12:21 pm to
Yeah - I just heard him. He said the ruling was correct applying the letter of the rule. He said said - the rule needs to be changed. But it was the correct call.
Posted by Tiger_n_ATL
Ft. Lauderdale
Member since Jul 2005
33211 posts
Posted on 9/2/25 at 12:24 pm to
Your thread title sucks. Trying to decipher.

But the bottom line is the ball crossed the goal line (he hit the pylon). Once that happened, it was a TD. What happened after that doesn’t matter.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 12:28 pm
Jump to page
Page First 6 7 8 9 10 11
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 8 of 11Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram