Started By
Message

re: Does the ball have to be COMPLETELY outside of cylinder???

Posted on 2/13/19 at 6:18 pm to
Posted by Woodman
Seattle WA
Member since Aug 2009
2297 posts
Posted on 2/13/19 at 6:18 pm to
There were at least three shooting fouls not called on Kentucky that were obvious. Certainly a couple of free throws would most certainly have been made.

Kentucky's got nothing to bitch about.
Posted by Dudebro2
San Diego
Member since Dec 2011
8967 posts
Posted on 2/13/19 at 7:49 pm to
quote:

They missed the call on LSU.



The rule is if the ball is inside the cylinder, which it definitely was. The ball was definitely off the rim but some of the ball was still inside the cylinder which is TECHNICALLY goal tending! That being said they missed the obvious goal tending on that play on Kentucky for their players hand going inside the rim on that play!!! So if anything that was a makeup “no call” for the UK “no call” on that play!!!!!
Posted by LSU Groupee
Member since Oct 2012
4026 posts
Posted on 2/13/19 at 7:58 pm to
quote:

which it definitely was


The Kentucky guys had removed their hands before the ball hit the backboard and the ball bounced off the rim and away from the goal before the tip.
Posted by touchdownjeebus
Member since Sep 2010
25333 posts
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:08 pm to
quote:

They missed the call on LSU. Great win regardless.


They did miss the call, but they also missed the call when the UK defender whacked the backboard while the ball was in the cylinder, which is defensive goaltending. If a player rattles the rim in any way, while a ball is in flight, it’s goaltending. He smacked the shut out of the backboard.
This post was edited on 2/13/19 at 9:18 pm
Posted by DrD
Houston
Member since Jan 2010
2698 posts
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:11 pm to
Here's what I "think" after listening to "experts" on this:
1. The basketball has to be completely OUTSIDE of the cylinder. Bigsby interfered w the ball before it was completely outside of the cylinder.

2. The defenders hand can go through the insider of the net and rim w/o penalty as long as ball is not on backboard or around the rim.

Now you know as much as anyone else. Expect a rule change soon to be able to review plays like Bigsby's. If I was a Kentucky fan I would be pissed..... just like Saints fans were over the non pass interference call.
C'est La Vie.
Posted by touchdownjeebus
Member since Sep 2010
25333 posts
Posted on 2/13/19 at 9:19 pm to
He smacked the backboard while the ball was in flight, thus vibrating the rim. That’s not disputable at all.

They missed offensive goaltending, IMO. They also missed defensive goaltending when the UK guy whacked the backboard.
This post was edited on 2/13/19 at 9:19 pm
first pageprev pagePage 5 of 5Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram