Posted by
Message
StickD
New Orleans Saints Fan
New Orleans
Member since Apr 2010
8221 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Can Hughes hit 250? Is he capable?

Or should we just expect 230 pray for walks?


oOoLsUtIgErSoOo
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Aug 2006
23623 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
quote:

Can Hughes hit 250?


Can he? Yes. Will he? Who knows.

quote:

Or should we just expect 230 pray for walks?


I will take .230 with a good amount of walks all day.

There seems to be a back up plan in place, incase Hughes isn't cutting it. Although, Hughes not cutting it probably means our other hitters aren't hitting well. Hughes is what he is. Him playing, or not playing, will probably depend more on the rest of the lineup as much, or more, than him.


LSshoe
LSU Fan
Burrowing through a pile o MikePoop
Member since Jan 2008
2939 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
I get the feeling that we're going to worse in the field than we're used to. Not necessarily bad, but bad in reference to the standard Mainieri usually keeps fielding at, which is usually high.

Kind of interesting in a year where pitching should be superb, fielding may not be able to match, which could make the pitchers look a bit worse than they otherwise could. Sounds like hitting should be really good so I think it will be fine overall. I've also not watched any scrimmages or anything so I'm just going off what I've read.


Adam4848
LSU Fan
LA
Member since Apr 2006
13134 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
You’re not wrong. The lineup is going to sacrifice some speed in the field to be a lot more power oriented playing station to station.

However tigerdroppings says Mainieri only recruits slap hitters under 5’9 so something’s gotta give.
This post was edited on 2/7 at 2:02 pm


josh336
Chicago Cubs Fan
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
55518 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Doughty is an advanced hitter, but a 55 rating? Seems low.


josh336
Chicago Cubs Fan
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
55518 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Which spots do you see us getting worse defensively compared to last year?


Adam4848
LSU Fan
LA
Member since Apr 2006
13134 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
For his age. He’s a 55-60 but I don’t see the point in over hyping him.

0.270 is typically the average in college so if he does end up hitting 0.280 ish I think that’s very respectable.


josh336
Chicago Cubs Fan
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
55518 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
So this grading system is based on their classification too?


Adam4848
LSU Fan
LA
Member since Apr 2006
13134 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
No, my apologies on the wording. He's advanced for his age but that is not transitive so to speak of how I grade him. I think he's a 55-60 tool hitter right now in college baseball.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
LSshoe
LSU Fan
Burrowing through a pile o MikePoop
Member since Jan 2008
2939 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Of, 2b. Maybe 3rd and SS if Hal can't cut it at bat. Gio is fast in OF but if I recall he made some mistakes with bad jumps and such that I don't really remember Watson making. I think he'll be fine with reps but there could take a bit for him to really settle in there. Cabrera has a cannon and is more than decent in the field, but dups was a machine.

We've just been spoiled for defense for a while outside of a few anomalies. I just predict a lot of bitching about it. From the sound of it if we needed to go all out on d we've got great guys available in basically all positions so it'll probably be a lot of experimenting to see where we can afford the tradeoff of d for o.


TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
josh336
Chicago Cubs Fan
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
55518 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Mathis by all accounts is pretty good at 3rd. We didnt have a defensive stud there last year either. 2nd base didnt have a defensive stud either. Gio and cabrera played last year in the outfield, so i dont think we are taking a big drop there. Hal is the shortstop, so no defensive drop there. Im not saying we will be a top 10 defensive team, but should still be top 50. Amd i feel like holding base stealers was the biggest problem last year, and that sounds like its being corrected. Most thought it was on the catchers, but it was much more of a pitcher issue


CottonWasKing
LSU Fan
4,8,15,16,23,42
Member since Jun 2011
22226 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
quote:

Mathis by all accounts is pretty good at 3rd. We didnt have a defensive stud there last year either. 2nd base didnt have a defensive stud either.



Hughes and Broussard were both top notch defenders at 3rd and 2nd respectively. There’s definitely going to be a drop off defensively in the infield but I don’t think it’s going to really be a problem. The guys we have are adequate.


LSshoe
LSU Fan
Burrowing through a pile o MikePoop
Member since Jan 2008
2939 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Oh yeah I'm not saying we're going to bad. Just probably worse than we usually are.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
04
CheerWhine
LSU Fan
Ellicott's Rock
Member since Apr 2014
46064 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Thanks Adam, looking forward to a fun season. I will be doing BPB to the best of my ability


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
110
josh336
Chicago Cubs Fan
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
55518 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Appreciate all the previews this year adam. Ready to watch this staff take form.


Adam4848
LSU Fan
LA
Member since Apr 2006
13134 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Same. I’m excited to see more power arms and power bats.


josh336
Chicago Cubs Fan
baton rouge
Member since Jan 2007
55518 posts
 Online 

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
With guys like beloso, garza, cabrera, willis, and travinski, no one should have a reason to complain about our size at the plate


CheerWhine
LSU Fan
Ellicott's Rock
Member since Apr 2014
46064 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
But they will anyway, after we have a rough stretch hitting. "CPM doesn't recruit anyone over 5'9".'


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
80
SM6
Navy Fan
South of ATL
Member since Jul 2008
8085 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
Where did Ripoll transfer to?


ProjectP2294
Penn Fan
South St. Louis city
Member since May 2007
50119 posts

re: Baseball Preview: 2020 Season (Feb 10th - Pro Prospects & SEC Predictions)
He transferred to San Jacinto, but he’s not on their roster for the spring after playing there in the fall.

ETA: Riggs Threadgill went to McLennan, and he seems to be having a decent start to the season for them.
This post was edited on 2/9 at 1:40 pm


first pageprev pagePage 7 of 8next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram