Started By
Message

re: 2 things that still have me pissed off

Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:44 am to
Posted by stewie
Member since Jan 2006
4024 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:44 am to
The ball can touch the ground … it’s if he had control during impact.
He had consistent control of the ball, even as and after it hit the ground.

More importantly, the referee on the field ruled he had possession. At worst, it was inconclusive on replay and you MUST defer to the rule on the field.

It was an egregious overturn, plain and simple.

Refs did an AWEFUL job tonight.
Posted by supersaints9
Colleyville,Tx
Member since Dec 2009
18776 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:45 am to
quote:

Horrific calls. Clearly grounding.


Agreed. And that isn’t a reviewable call right?
Posted by BhamTigah
Lurker since Jan 2003
Member since Jan 2007
17348 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:45 am to
Stop being pissed off. We just beat a legit top 5 team on the road.

Clemson is going to be a playoff team.
Posted by SaintLSU
Gretna
Member since Apr 2007
4321 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:46 am to
The Refs got it right. It’s a stupid rule. It needs to be revisited. If you clearly have control of the ball and you cross the pilon or plain of the golaline it should be TD
Posted by stewie
Member since Jan 2006
4024 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:47 am to
quote:

The Refs got it right


No they didn’t … they completely screwed it up.
Posted by supersaints9
Colleyville,Tx
Member since Dec 2009
18776 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:47 am to
quote:

BhamTigah


Keep it moving JACKASS!
Posted by Paul Allen
Montauk, NY
Member since Nov 2007
77748 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:48 am to
They should have kicked a field goal before halftime
Posted by misey94
Member since Jan 2007
32969 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:48 am to
quote:

but he caught it outside the endzone, got a foot down and then crossed the goal line, so he doesn’t have to survive the ground as he has possession crossing the goal line, see Cade’s earlier TD where the ground caused a fumble.


This. For any other play, crossing the plane from outside of the end zone is the end of the play and a TD. Period. If it was a catch and cross, that should have ended the play, and it’s been interpreted that way by many officials of over the years.

I agree- the NCAA needs to fix this. We don’t need anything close to the stupid as frick NFL rules on a catch in college football.
Posted by Penrod
Member since Jan 2011
52024 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:48 am to
quote:

The rule is clear. If he’s going to the ground (he was and did) then he has to maintain control.

He didn’t.

The ball definitely moved, but he might have maintained control while it was moving. Borderline play, but it should definitely not been overturned.
Posted by supersaints9
Colleyville,Tx
Member since Dec 2009
18776 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:49 am to
Definitely agree on that. It was clear that it was going to be a close game and points would be at a premium. Had we taken the field goal the end of game drive by them would have been a moot point
Posted by Fast Times @ LSU
Camas
Member since Jan 2005
2065 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:50 am to
How is Brown’s TD not a catch, but Bauer’s is?

They missed the grounding. In the 1H, on their TD drive Klubnik had a big run, but the middle of their OL tackled Whit Weeks. No call for holding.
Posted by Tigershine
New Orleans
Member since Dec 2015
1985 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:50 am to
The rule also says if the player takes 2 steps and/or makes a football move, the possession to the ground issue doesn't come into play. Brown took 2 steps and hit the pylon which is a football move. So possession to the ground shouldn't have mattered.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 12:02 pm
Posted by Papa Tigah
TIGER ISLAND, LA
Member since Sep 2007
20126 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:51 am to
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
288313 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:51 am to
Wasn’t grounding. There was a WR in the vicinity. Also QB was being pulled down, which inhibits complete accuracy of the pass.


Posted by LSUButt
Lowcountry
Member since Jan 2006
15870 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:52 am to
99% of humans know this was a catch. Go watch Arch Manning’s TD…that was less of a catch than this. If this happened middle of the field it is no brainer TD
Posted by LCTFAN
New Iberia
Member since Mar 2013
2896 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:52 am to
quote:

TheHarahanian


quote:

The actual possession rule from the NCAA was posted here earlier, and the non-TD call was correct based on the wording of the rule.


No it is not correct. the ball was caught, the receiver possessed the ball, the receiver crossed the goal line, the receiver took two steps with full procession scored and the only thing they focused on was the ball coming out after his 3rd step hitting the ground

Posted by BhamTigah
Lurker since Jan 2003
Member since Jan 2007
17348 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:52 am to
quote:

Keep it moving JACKASS!




Not even sure what I did to you, but I guess I apologize?
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
288313 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:53 am to
quote:

got a foot down and then crossed the goal line, so he doesn’t have to survive the ground as he has possession crossing the goal line, see Cade’s earlier TD where the ground caused a fumble.



The rules are different for a rush vs a completed pass. He has to go to the ground with possession, which i think he did. But you are not applying the rule correctly.
Posted by wadewilson
Member since Sep 2009
40116 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:53 am to
quote:


Please defend either of those plays


He didn't, because he can't.
Posted by White Tiger
Dallas
Member since Jul 2007
15313 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:54 am to
Well, no it was not the correct call but that’s the point. Isn’t it
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 4Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram