Posted by
Message
MNCscripper
USA Fan
Alligator Bayou
Member since Jan 2004
10227 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
quote:

Enjoy the Westlake tourney


Thanks baw


BallChamp00
Member since May 2015
3503 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
You playing Thursday?


MNCscripper
USA Fan
Alligator Bayou
Member since Jan 2004
10227 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
Nope, playing in another tournament. The reschedule caused our whole team to have to back out with conflicts.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
LSUButt
USA Fan
Philadelphia
Member since Jan 2006
13580 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
quote:

Played there Saturday, greens were in absolutely horrible conditions


I'm fairly new to golf, started about 15 months ago when I was living in the North, but then had to stop for 4-5 months because of the Winter conditions. Moved back to LA about 2 months ago and play 3-4 rounds a week. I'm hitting between 95-105 right now, point is, I'm no golfing expert.

With that said, some of you don't know what "horrible greens" are. I get it that you're expecting the greens to be better but they aren't horrible. I play Webb, Dumas, LSU, City Park, JS Clark mostly just to consistently practice. I played The Island last Wednesday and I absolutely LOVED it. Considering what I'm used to, the greens were terrific. Then on Thursday I played Santa Maria with a 4some and the greens were hard as a rock, fast, no idea where the breaks were coming from. However, they weren't in bad shape, just dry and needed to be extensively watered, but that was literally all over the state.

Bottom line: Be grateful there are solid options even around BR that are very reasonably priced. In Philly, you're paying $45 for a course like Webb and $150 for a course like the Island


Thib-a-doe Tiger
LSU Fan
LaTour and in BRgetthenet's head
Member since Nov 2012
29493 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
quote:

In Philly, you're paying $45 for a course like Webb and $150 for a course like the Island



I’m also making twice what I am here


In LA, if you’re charging 60-100 to play, the greens need to be smooth and not slow


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
60
reauxl tigers
Chicago Cubs Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2014
1384 posts
 Online 

re: Opinions of the Island
Every summer I take a trip up to the west side of Chicago in the suburbs to see family. Around there, you pay $40 for a course like LaTour (there are a lot of them) and $9 for a course like Webb for 18 holes.

Played a course called Arrowhead, place looked nicer and was better kept than anywhere in BR including the CCs. It was only $45 w/ cart. Quality of golf for the price down here is atrocious give or take a couple of courses.


Thib-a-doe Tiger
LSU Fan
LaTour and in BRgetthenet's head
Member since Nov 2012
29493 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
Same in Michigan. There are some courses that are several hundred bucks, but I (and a few others on here) played 3 rounds at a Nicklaus course on the lake for about $210 total, and it’s better than anything I’ve played in LA


tigercraig
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2003
2872 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
Did Island quit using golfnow?

I don’t see any tee times


BallChamp00
Member since May 2015
3503 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
No we still use it. We are closed today for two outings. Tomorrow afternoon and Saturday afternoon using a 7:30 shot gun for members. It’s better to just call me then use golf now anyway.


SaturdayTraditions
LSU Fan
Down Seven Bridges Rd
Member since Sep 2015
3038 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
Was invited to play next month for a work outing. It will be my first time to play the course. I am looking forward to it. Hopefully the beer will be cold and the skies will be blue!


CBandits82
Lurker since May 2008
Member since May 2012
37092 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
who is the head pro right now at the Island after Chris left?


tigercraig
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2003
2872 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
quote:

who is the head pro right now at the Island after Chris left?


It’s BallChamp now


CBandits82
Lurker since May 2008
Member since May 2012
37092 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
quote:

It’s BallChamp now



oh shite


CBandits82
Lurker since May 2008
Member since May 2012
37092 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
BallChamp, how much are your lessons for an hour?


BallChamp00
Member since May 2015
3503 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
$75


CBandits82
Lurker since May 2008
Member since May 2012
37092 posts

re: Opinions of the Island


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
CBandits82
Lurker since May 2008
Member since May 2012
37092 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
Ball, how important is it to keep the club in front of you?

My miss my whole life has been a snap hook, I played 9 yesterday and I hooked every drive. I threw myself on iphone slow mo and im so inside on the takeaway its insane.

Super inside takeaway leading to a hook on the longer clubs?

thinking I need some major work on keeping the club in front of me throughout the swing, which feels insane to me and feels like im just lifting the club over my head because im so used to a flat, inside takeaway. I hit a couple of shag balls last night with driver forcing myself to keep the club in front and they were perfect, has to be my issue.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
BallChamp00
Member since May 2015
3503 posts

re: Opinions of the Island
Snap hooks are easy to fix. Only a couple things cause it. Keeping club out like Andrew Loupe does will normally stop a snap.


CBandits82
Lurker since May 2008
Member since May 2012
37092 posts

re: Opinions of the Island


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 3next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram