- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message

The overturn
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:27 am
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:27 am
Let’s just say a QB or RB went to stretch out for the pylon and hits the pylon with any of their body part but loses the ball after the fact. Wouldn’t they then not survive the ground like Barion apparently did? Once you hit the pylon and the ball breaks the plane the play should be dead and a TD. Straight up bullshite. He’s no longer a receiver but now a ball carrier.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:28 am to Biggiebam
SECTION 2. TOUCHDOWN
Article 1 - How Scored
A touchdown shall be scored when:
a. A ball carrier advancing from the field of play has possession of a live ball when it penetrates the plane of the opponent’s goal line. This plane extends beyond the pylons only for a player who touches the ground in the end zone or a pylon. (A.R. 2-23-1-I and A.R. 8-2-1-I-IX).
Pretty straight forward. Brown clearly had possession of the ball when he penetrated the plane of the opponents goal line.
Article 1 - How Scored
A touchdown shall be scored when:
a. A ball carrier advancing from the field of play has possession of a live ball when it penetrates the plane of the opponent’s goal line. This plane extends beyond the pylons only for a player who touches the ground in the end zone or a pylon. (A.R. 2-23-1-I and A.R. 8-2-1-I-IX).
Pretty straight forward. Brown clearly had possession of the ball when he penetrated the plane of the opponents goal line.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:31 am to CDawson
They argued he DIDNT have possession, therefore breaking the plane didn’t matter, but I disagree.
Two steps and a lunge is a football move, Jack
Two steps and a lunge is a football move, Jack
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:32 am to Biggiebam
quote:
The overturn
was bullshite.
/thread
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:32 am to CDawson
Now, show us the definition of a catch.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:32 am to CDawson
If our TE possessed it enough to be a fumble, brown possessed it enough to be a score
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:32 am to Vacherie Saint
You are correct. He’s no longer attempting to catch the ball and had full possession.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:35 am to Biggiebam
Exactly. Just like on Durham's TD.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:35 am to HughsWorkPhone
Sorry about the down vote. I accidentally touched it and I don't know how to take it off.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:37 am to Biggiebam
quote:
Wouldn’t they then not survive the ground like Barion apparently did?
Do you not understand what a runner vs in the act of the catch is?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:38 am to Biggiebam
quote:
He’s no longer attempting to catch the ball
Yes he was by the letter of the rule.
Blame the rule.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:38 am to JackTMed
Yup they were saying he was still attempting to catch the ball when he had full control.. and then hit the pylon and went out of bounds with still full control and possession. Can’t make this shite up
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:38 am to jctiger73
quote:
Now, show us the definition of a catch.
Look it up yourself. If you don’t know I can’t help you.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:39 am to Vacherie Saint
quote:
Two steps and a lunge is a football move, Jack
If we are honest with ourselves, he did not take two steps after possession. He got possession while his left foot was on the ground. He then crossed the plane of the goal/pylon and his right foot hit out of bounds in the end zone. He did catch the ball. He did not make two steps or a football move and the ball did pop out and hit the ground when his elbow hit the ground. He rolled on top of it while securing with his other hand.
Had that been in the middle of the field and ruled a catch on the field I’m not sure it gets overturned. But in the end zone, I’ve seen that overturned a number of times. They just don’t give touchdowns as easily as catches in the field for whatever reason.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:39 am to Vacherie Saint
His steps were as he was falling. He was still in the act of the catch by the letter of the rule.
Y’all are just not correct. The rule sucks but it is what it is.
Y’all are just not correct. The rule sucks but it is what it is.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:39 am to Fun Bunch
Do you not understand he had possession all the way through? Sybau
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:43 am to CDawson
quote:
SECTION 2. TOUCHDOWN Article 1 - How Scored A touchdown shall be scored when: a. A ball carrier advancing from the field of play has possession of a live ball when it penetrates the plane of the opponent’s goal line. This plane extends beyond the pylons only for a player who touches the ground in the end zone or a pylon. (A.R. 2-23-1-I and A.R. 8-2-1-I-IX).
Now do the catch rule, subsection B
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:45 am to Biggiebam
quote:
Do you not understand he had possession all the way through? Sybau
lol?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:45 am to Fun Bunch
If the call were upheld, there would be zero controversy outside of a few asshurt Clemson fans. I saw it replayed by several sports media outlets this morning and most felt it should not have been overturned. Defining “In the act” of catching is as subjective as holding, so it’s a bad rule on several levels.
It was a controversial call, so stop acting like it was obviously incomplete. The ref on the spot called it a catch in real time.
It was a controversial call, so stop acting like it was obviously incomplete. The ref on the spot called it a catch in real time.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:47 am to Fun Bunch
The play would be over he broke the plain and and hit the pylon while already having possession and making a football move all while having one foot in bounds. The play would be dead and a TD. Even then the ball can still touch the ground as long as he has control.
Popular
Back to top

22






