Posted by
Message
CuseTiger
Syracuse Fan
Buffalo
Member since Jul 2013
5992 posts

Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
This is a bit late but with a few days off I finally have a chance to get caught up on everything. This trip was booked just before thanksgiving for early December Baton Rouge to Jackson Hole. I spent 5 days/4 nights with a friend and his dad and had a blast.

Flying into Jackson is tough early season, with the only connections available in Denver or Salt Lake. I chose Salt Lake just in case there were weather issues and I needed to drive the 3-4 hours there from a cancellation. Plus Delta had a nice A333 on the ATL-Salt Lake route, though there were 70 people on the upgrade list...

Image: https://i.imgur.com/MIPXRyi.jpg width=600


Below is a picture of landing to the SW into Jackson Hole Airport. The tetons are on the right so if you know you'll be landing to the SW get a seat on the DEF side of the plane.

Image: https://i.imgur.com/1SV0Hpr.jpg width=600


The Jackson Hole airport is very nice, but does not have any food by the check-in area so be warned. The drive from the airport to the village is about a half hour. On the way, you drive through a huge game reserve that supposedly 10,000 elk like to hang out in. Unfortunately, we didn't see any elk until later in the trip.

Picture of the clock tower in the village
Image: https://i.imgur.com/jJN0Xh4.jpg width=400


Once in the village, we stayed at the Hotel Terra. The hotel had a very european feel, with one master switch right next to the room door and showers that had the glass only extend half the length of the tub. The beds were comfy and the views were excellent, but we ran into several issues with the staff. First, when checking in the valet guy was baked off his ass. In trying to get the luggage to our room, he ran the baggage cart into the walls about 6 times and made it seem like he didn't know where he was going. The next morning, when asking about breakfast, the lady at the check-in desk suggested the Mangy Moose. So we walked over only to see it was closed... Third, we ask the concierge to make us dinner reservations at a place called Local. He tells us he will call and set up a reservation, we get confirmation that we're good for 6:30pm. Drive all the way to town then see a sign on the door that they're closed for a holiday party... Maybe we were just there too early in the season, but most of the staff did not seem to know all the ins and outs/had a lot of things to pick up on before busy season a few weeks later.

Pic of the mountain from hotel room
Image: https://i.imgur.com/9nEVrBE.jpg width=600


Pic of the outdoor pool, there's also a rooftop hottub
Image: https://i.imgur.com/5GXjOUU.jpg width=600


Skiing wise, there was a winter storm warning so we were excited about the powder. We skied for 3 days and there were no lift lines at all despite over a foot of snow. Hiking the headwall was quite the challenge for me, definitely had some altitude sickness.

Picture from the thunder lift
Image: https://i.imgur.com/7WsPhZ3.jpg width=400


Not even 5 minutes later a blizzard showed up
Image: https://i.imgur.com/d5exZz6.jpg width=400


On the last day, there was a surprise snowstorm on mid-mountain so the bottom and top were both sunny. Once we got to the top of sublette, it looked like this
Image: https://i.imgur.com/DKKlPpT.jpg width=600


For breakfast, since we were in the village, we went to the Mangy Moose and the Teton Mountain Lodge. The breakfast was very filling at the lodge, but the mangy moose was a cheaper option that had omeletes.

For dinner, we went to Rendevouz Bistro, the Silver Dollar Bar, and Teton Thai. Rendevouz Bistro was excellent, the silver dollar bar had two sides: the bar side and a fancier dinner side. We sat on the dinner side and I chose the elk potroast (it was delicious, pictured below). On the way to the silver dollar we passed by a dead elk on the side of the road, we decided that if it wasn't there on the return then that was likely my dinner plate

Image: https://i.imgur.com/xX3qSt9.jpg width=600


Teton Thai is located in the village and is similar to a hole in the wall type restaurant with only about 8 tables. The portions were huge and the food was also very good. Didn't have a bad meal while in Jackson.

On the return, flew through Salt Lake and got a nice picture of the lake.

Image: https://i.imgur.com/4YmnNS1.jpg width=600


Overall, had a great trip and would highly recommend Jackson Hole for a ski vacation. Early december was great and while all the terrain wasn't open, we were still able to find plenty of powder with no lift lines.
This post was edited on 1/20 at 1:17 am


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17844 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
Awesome! Will add to sticky soon.




Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
SnowAubie
Auburn Fan
Member since Dec 2016
227 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
Nice review, JH is on my hit list at some point. Almost did it the week before Xmas flying into Denver and driving 10 hours there but decided to save my money for a later trip down the line when JH terrain is fully open.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Catman88
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Dec 2004
49125 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
They must have expanded the runway. Last time i was there about 9 years ago we had to take a turbo prop from denver.


CuseTiger
Syracuse Fan
Buffalo
Member since Jul 2013
5992 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
Well delta definitely flies 757s to Atlanta so the JAC runway must meet whatever the minimum requirements are for that. I flew in on an A319 from SLC, other option was a CRJ700 from Denver


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Crow Pie
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nuero ICU - Tulane Medical Center
Member since Feb 2010
20001 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
would you stay in Jackson proper or in the Teton Village area if you were going in the early summer? We will be there 3 nights on the way to Yellowstone in early June. Still have to book lodging for the Jackson Hole portion of the trip.


CuseTiger
Syracuse Fan
Buffalo
Member since Jul 2013
5992 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
Stay in jackson proper, much more to do and it's on the road up to yellowstone. If it was skiing or for winter, would suggest teton village. It's an awesome area, you'll love it


Crow Pie
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nuero ICU - Tulane Medical Center
Member since Feb 2010
20001 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
quote:

Stay in jackson proper, much more to do and it's on the road up to yellowstone. If it was skiing or for winter, would suggest teton village. It's an awesome area, you'll love it
Thanks....I am about to settle in on a condo at the base of Snow King!! Very excited ...do you know if the ride from Salt Lake to Jackson is scenic?


baldona
Auburn Fan
Florida
Member since Feb 2016
10833 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
quote:

Stay in jackson proper, much more to do and it's on the road up to yellowstone. If it was skiing or for winter, would suggest teton village. It's an awesome area, you'll love it


I would disagree with this. But it's really about what you want to do and I'm biased my FIL has a townhome in Teton Village. The town of Jackson is about a 4 hour event and then you are done.

In the summer they allow a limited amount of traffic through the moose creek road which goes through GTNP between Moose and Teton Village. This is the shortest and best route to GTNP, the entrance is literally next to Teton Village. That road is closed in the winter as it's under deep snow.

I would highly recommend a horseback ride there in Jackson, there's a great one south of town I'll try to find its rated like the best in the country literally. You climb like 2,500 ft or something to get up high with a great view.

Also as said, check out a float trip or rapids trip. You can float calm sections for 2-4 hour trips that are very enjoyable to see wildlife. Those are mostly out of the town of Jackson.

Definitely take the gondolas or tram up to the top in Teton Village. One of my favorite things to do, there's some nice hikes but it's great to just enjoy the sunset with a beer and apps at the top of the gondolas.


CuseTiger
Syracuse Fan
Buffalo
Member since Jul 2013
5992 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
Pretty sure you're much more of an expert on jackson than I am , crowpie listen to baldona. I just figured if he was going to be doing all the other activities he'd be more centrally located in town than the village. Also forgot that the road continues up to GTNP through Moose, hopefully it's open by the time crow is going (when is early summer?).

quote:

do you know if the ride from Salt Lake to Jackson is scenic?

When I flew SLC-Jackson we basically took the same route so it starts out flat then you head through the mountains along the snake river. It looked nice enough from the plane
This post was edited on 1/20 at 10:43 am


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17844 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017


Lima Whiskey
Virginia Fan
Member since Apr 2013
7142 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
I don’t know that drive, but you’re going to be dealing with mountain passes in winter. That can get chancy, depending on what you’re driving, what tires you’re running, and the other people on the road.

I assume you’re also looking at a days drive, in good weather.
This post was edited on 1/29 at 6:17 pm


HoustonGumbeauxGuy
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
17844 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
Who down voted this review getting added to the sticky?

Dick head.
This post was edited on 1/30 at 6:50 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
32
bamafan425
Alabama Fan
Jackson's Hole
Member since Jan 2009
25549 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
The drive from SLC to Jackson Hole is only about 5 hours and relatively flat until the last hour or so going through Bridger Teton NF.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
Crow Pie
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nuero ICU - Tulane Medical Center
Member since Feb 2010
20001 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
quote:

I would highly recommend a horseback ride there in Jackson, there's a great one south of town I'll try to find its rated like the best in the country literally. You climb like 2,500 ft or something to get up high with a great view.

Does anyone know the name of the company that has this highly rated horseback ride outside Jackson Wy? Will be there in 3 weeks!!


baldona
Auburn Fan
Florida
Member since Feb 2016
10833 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017

Horseback ride

It's 15-20 minutes south of th town of Jackson if I remember right. It's been a couple years.


lanticguy
LSU Fan
AK
Member since Nov 2014
228 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
Called inversion when there is cloud cover/precip at mid mountain. JHMR is well known for these, warmer up high then in the valley.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Crow Pie
New Orleans Saints Fan
Nuero ICU - Tulane Medical Center
Member since Feb 2010
20001 posts

re: Jackson Hole Trip Review: Early Dec 2017
quote:

It's 15-20 minutes south of th town of Jackson if I remember right. It's been a couple years
.
Mill Iron Ranch...will check out. Thanks.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram