Page 1
Page 1
Started By
Message

There is no way that is correct

Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:01 pm
Posted by JTA1985
Member since Feb 2012
3566 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:01 pm
Reward the team for blocked field goal
Posted by Ancient Astronaut
Member since May 2015
36885 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:01 pm to
Shouldn’t they have to recover it past the first’s downline???
Posted by Not Cooper
Member since Jun 2015
5014 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:02 pm to
I don’t understand how Carolina touching it doesn’t change anything? The ball bounced off of a panthers player
Posted by Ancient Astronaut
Member since May 2015
36885 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:02 pm to
There is no way that was the right call
Posted by VaeVictus
Member since Feb 2017
1770 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:02 pm to
The nfl seems to find new ways to screw the saints.
Posted by Hangover Haven
Metry
Member since Oct 2013
31726 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:03 pm to
quote:

Shouldn’t they have to recover it past the first’s downline???


Exactly…

NFL will apologize later…
Posted by Hester Carries
Member since Sep 2012
24865 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:03 pm to
Zero chance that’s the right ruling. It’s not a punt. Possession never changed. They didn’t recover it last the marker.
Posted by Demonbengal
Ruston
Member since May 2015
4542 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:04 pm to
I think it’s the correct call, but really rare situation. We blocked the kick, but then it bounced off a Carolina player past the line of scrimmage into the scrum. We touched it and they recovered.
Posted by infantry1026
Louisiana
Member since Jan 2010
7474 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:04 pm to
quote:

I don’t understand how Carolina touching it doesn’t change anything? The ball bounced off of a panthers player


That’s what I was screaming at my TV

Once it bounced off of the Carolina player…..should be a dead ball right there
Posted by TigerSooner
Member since Nov 2023
3562 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:05 pm to
Players need to physically take these refs out of the game one by one. I'm there guys.
Posted by Not Cooper
Member since Jun 2015
5014 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:05 pm to
quote:

Once it bounced off of the Carolina player…..should be a dead ball right there

Exactly, just like a punt. They touch it first it’s dead
Posted by BerniceLATiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Jan 2016
213 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:10 pm to
Yep, another NFL 1st of its kind to happen to the Saints.
Posted by Ancient Astronaut
Member since May 2015
36885 posts
Posted on 11/9/25 at 2:10 pm to
Per Chat GPT

The kick was blocked, then went beyond the line of scrimmage.
• It was touched by the defense.
• The kicking team recovered.
? That means the kicking team can legally retain possession of the ball.

However, for it to result in a first down, the spot of recovery must be beyond the line to gain (not just beyond the line of scrimmage).

If they recover short of the first down marker, it’s turnover on downs.

So yes — even if the defense touches the ball beyond the line of scrimmage, the kicking team still must recover it beyond the first down marker to earn a new set of downs. Touching by the defense only makes it legal for the kicking team to recover — not an automatic first down.

This post was edited on 11/9/25 at 2:13 pm
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram