Posted by
Message
Maximusheals
New Orleans Saints Fan
Mississippi
Member since Jan 2018
47 posts

University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
I noticed that LSUS has a pretty lengthy Forum so I wanted to start one for ULL's Online MBA Program. Has anyone had experience with this program? I understand that it is fairly new so I am sure there are problems. If any current students out there could give feedback, that would be great. Thanks,


bbhstiger5
Member since Feb 2018
7 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
I'm currently enrolled in the program. It is very fast-paced and challenging, but I feel confident in the education I am receiving. You also can't beat the price. The only drawback so far is that sometimes the professor is hard to get ahold of, especially if you have a question about the material. Getting it answered could take a bit.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
72
Rougaroux
LA-Monroe Fan
Madisonville
Member since Feb 2017
465 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
I plan to start the ULL MBA- health care admin concentration in August.


tigertownnation
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jul 2017
2 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
I'll be starting in the fall as well with a concentration in project management. Can anyone recommend if I should be taking one or two classes per session while working a full time job?


Mingo Was His NameO
LSU Fan
DFW/NELA
Member since Mar 2016
12433 posts
 Online 

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
quote:

ULL MBA- health care admin


Are these (the project management concentration above as well) available online? I know a guy in the health care admin, but traditional. I want aware they were online as well.


VermilionTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2012
28653 posts
 Online 

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
quote:

I'll be starting in the fall as well with a concentration in project management. Can anyone recommend if I should be taking one or two classes per session while working a full time job?


I was looking at this. I have a friend in this program right now and he says it's solid, but challenging. Interesting in seeing what people say about this.


VermilionTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2012
28653 posts
 Online 

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Yes, the project management one is online.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
bbhstiger5
Member since Feb 2018
7 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Also: the foundation courses will kick your behind; students find them to be more rigorous than the actual core classes.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
03
VYForever
Texas Fan
Member since Feb 2019
8 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
I'm doing this program-- was working at a large, Fortune 100 who let me choose as long as the school was in my "patch" (I don't live in Louisiana) though I covered Louisiana nominally (no real business to speak of in LA outside of Entergy which is a big Accenture shop anyways), I was never there.

Anyways, having done about half of the MBA, I got a great new job offer-- I think because of having the MBA on my resume as a checkbox/tollbooth-- and as part of onboarding I had to drop the Finance class as it was too much work.

I'm now getting back into it to finish, so interested in hearing others experience.


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
20460 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Why not an online MBA from a higher ranked school like UNC? Is cost the driving factor?


thegreatboudini
McNeese State Fan
Member since Oct 2008
4245 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
quote:

Why not an online MBA from a higher ranked school like UNC? Is cost the driving factor?




From someone who has been toying with the idea of the MBA, cost is 100% the factor for me.

My company cut tuition reimbursement a year before I arrived, unfortunately. I’m technical science by background, and have transitioned to the technical science/business hybrid side, so this is definitely high on my list of wants, and to some degree needs for my career if I don’t go back to heavy technical.

Preparing for marriage and a mortgage in the next year or two forces me to look into programs that are very cost effective.


BehindtheWoodshed
Houston Astros Fan
Louisiana
Member since Sep 2007
2096 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Ballpark total cost of ULL online MBA?


jcaz
LSU Fan
Laffy
Member since Aug 2014
4274 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Advertised as $13k At 15 months


VYForever
Texas Fan
Member since Feb 2019
8 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
If you are asking me, it's two things: 1) cost/ROI relative to the effort I'm willing to make and 2) ease of use.

I have a good colleague I work with who got his MBA at UNC, super smart guy and even the online option he said is tough sledding.

I started down the path of an MBA because my employer would pay for it as long as it was in my patch (TOLA), and so I thought I'd take advantage of getting the box checked. I'm not going to school for a full-time immersive experience or to network and I don't want something extremely time consuming or difficult.

The combination of my undergraduate degree and work experience is strong enough that I don't need a public ivy MBA degree to get through the career tollbooth that may or might not be coming, so long as the degree isn't too obviously phoned in (which LSUS, in my geographic region might be seen as).

Bottom line, if I wanted to work at something I'd have done the UTD online MBA


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
20460 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Makes sense and I applaud the transparency. I think clarity of purpose is arguably the #1 thing anyone getting an MBA needs figured out [before attending a program]. It sounds like you have that crystallized.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
34
lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
20460 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
quote:

Advertised as $13k At 15 months



I'd be careful with degree printing...15 months is very, very short.


VYForever
Texas Fan
Member since Feb 2019
8 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
What does this mean?


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
20460 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Programs pumping out graduates without the appropriate rigor behind the degree. MBAs are already notorious for “diploma mills” so a $13K, 15-month program raises those flags, IMO.

If you take a typical MBA (full time or part time) is ~2 years and costs $60-115K, then, as a hiring manager, I would question the value of such a short, cheap program.

I understand that these can be “check the box” degrees but the last thing you want is to go through the effort of a program for that accomplishment to be written off by a hiring manager.


Colonel Flagg
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2010
16907 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
quote:

If you take a typical MBA (full time or part time) is ~2 years and costs $60-115K


They are all check boxes imo. I think people are naive to put any program really on a pedestal outside of networking.


lynxcat
Rutgers Fan
Member since Jan 2008
20460 posts

re: University of Louisiana at Lafayette ONLINE MBA REVIEWS
Depends on career aspirations. Don’t want to hijack this thread any more than I already did...good luck to everyone.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
13
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram