Posted by
Message
Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
57 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
It is impossible to know if those people on LinkedIn were promoted because of their degree, or even if they had the degree when they were promoted. In any case, I think recognition of for profit or low level accreditation is a thing of the past.

If you modeled your education on CEOs of 10 years ago, you would find yourself under educated by the time you applied for those jobs. I doubt future CEOs are currently studying at the University of Phoenix.

I agree. Accreditation is king. I think when you look back, the lasting value of your degree will be attributed mainly to its accreditation.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
79 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
do professors typically curve up writing assignments to account for teaching assistants who may grade more harshly than others?


TigerTrainer1
Member since Mar 2020
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Is anyone currently in Huang's Acct 701 class?

I am about to lose my mind. I can not understand a word she is saying. Her teaching method lacks explanation. I've held tightly to the transcript of the slides and lo-and-behold, transcripts missing in Topic 3 Module 3. This class is literally causing me physical pain.. ha.

Any recommendations? 4.0 going down the drain fast on such a basic course simply because of poor teaching method and broken English.



audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
79 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
i took Huang and it was a easy A for me and I had zero exposure to accounting prior. I didnt even bother with her pre-recorded lectures... they rarely added anything of value that wasnt already spelled out in the slides.


MelissaA
Member since Jun 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks for the additional feedback! I am taking her in the Fall AP2.


ylam
Member since Feb 2020
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi All!

Thank you all for sharing your experience from each course. I am fortunate that I got accepted and I will start this fall semester.

If possible can anyone share course outlines for the following courses? My email address is yinpaklam@outlook.com.

In addition any feedback on taking the courses with the following order? I asked course specialist if order matters but they mentioned it can be taken in any order.

Fall AP1 - FIN 701
Fall AP2 - ACCT 701
Spring AP1 - ISDS 715
Spring AP2 - ISDS 730
Summer AP1 - ISDS 720
Summer AP2 - ECON 705
Fall AP1 - MKT 701
Fall AP2 - MADM 701
Spring AP1 - ISDS 705
Spring AP2 - MADM 706

Thanks,


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
79 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
one thing to note is that the professor teaching the course is a big difference maker in the experience you will have.
Read up here to know the professors to avoid and look for each course.


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
28 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Segwaying off that comment from Quintus - is there a running Excel sheet/Google doc that has a list of each class and the preferred professor?



LINK


ylam
Member since Feb 2020
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi audioaxes1!

Very useful information. I'll review the instructors and go from there.

Thanks,


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
kakashie
Member since May 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi everyone, I am taking prof. Yuan Yin from LUSU for acct701 this summer. Does anyone have taken her before and have the schedule? like for the book chapter to read, I found two different versions of the book and one is a chapter off so I would like to know if anyone can provide me with one of the chapter reading title so I can match which is the correct book to read?
Thanks


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
lcarubia
Member since Apr 2020
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey All, wanted some feedback on two courses. I plan to pick one of these to double with Econ (Fawaz) for AP2

1. Gibbs ISDS 705
2. Wyatt MADM 760

I heard Wyatt has recently changed his course slightly. Can anyone who has RECENTLY taken these courses with these professors give me some insight. Time commitment, difficulty etc.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
79 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Gibbs isds705 is definitely a class you can double up on. You have to go out your way to not get a 100% on the homeworks, excel tutorials, and projects and they give enough filler to skate through the weekly quizzes without reading the chapters.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
32
EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Difficulty is 3.5/5 b/c of the tricky weekly exams, but the class is pair-able with Econ, Acct or IS. No papers or group work, just about 1000 word discussions weekly. I've learned a lot and enjoyed 760 with him, wish he was teaching 701
This post was edited on 6/10 at 6:25 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
22
EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
nm
This post was edited on 6/10 at 6:43 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
03
d39408
Member since May 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone take MADM 710 with Felice Williams and have any feedback or pointers in getting through with the class with an A. I am taking her in Summer AP2. Thanks in advance!


WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
9223 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Finished up today. It was quite a ride for the last 10 months. Good luck to those still going through it.


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
28 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Finished up today. It was quite a ride for the last 10 months. Good luck to those still going through it.


Congrats, Wylie. Thanks for all your help. I'm halfway done.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
pglangelier
Member since Jun 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I moved from the American Public University MBA program because I also suffered the frustration that I didn't feel I was learning anything from text only based lectures and the use of youtube videos that the professor didn't even check to see if were still available each semester.

However I did learn my lesson and spent a bunch of time on rate my professor prior to picking up my first course at LSUS which was also FIN701 but with Kendall, I would have liked less text and more video explanations but the practice problems and the solutions were very helpful. I hope if you decide to continue you have better luck.


hey benji
New Orleans Saints Fan
new orleans
Member since Sep 2013
143 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Do any of you have experience with the LSU Online Post Bacc CM program? I'm interested in the program and am curious how what opportunities might be available after graduation.


rowbear1922
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2008
13293 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
As I said in the other thread, LSU is about to offer an MBA that is focused on the construction industry. I would look into that personally. It’s also offered fully online so you can complete the study while also working and raising your family.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Jump to page
Page First 445 446 447 448
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 447 of 448next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram