Posted by
Message
WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
9163 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
She does not have great reviews at all. I'm not a big fan of this course. 6 more weeks and I'm done. One day at a a time.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Turtlemane
Member since May 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I guess I need to clarify a little more. I have no intent on claiming Baton Rouge. I list School Name, City, State. In order to do this I was thinking of having it listed as follows: Louisiana State University, Shreveport, Louisiana. The followed by degree and whatnot on line below. Is it necessary to say Louisiana State University Shreveport, Shreveport, Louisiana. I feel that way looks a little too repetitive. My undergrad school does not look in such a repetitive nature

This post was edited on 5/18 at 6:14 pm


apt423
Member since Mar 2019
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm not saying it's morally right or judging anything, but a lot of people actually put on their resume something like

Louisiana State University, Shreveport, Louisiana.

For example, Cedric Glover, the former mayor of Shreveport did this on his resume (and his Wiki says that he's from LSU, but he's actually a LSUS MBA).

In this way, they are not lying by saying they attended Baton Rouge, but you can see that they are using the ambiguity and perhaps trying to confuse others the difference between LSU and LSU System (which includes LSUS, LSUA, LSUE, and other campuses) here.


Turtlemane
Member since May 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Yup, I get it may be a little deceitful, but it seems like that harmless gray area where if someone says "I thought LSU was in Baton Rouge?" Then I can go into detail about what the program was and how it is a satellite campus in the same system. At the end of the day the resume is just to get your foot in the door for the interview. LSUS claims to use the same curriculum as LSU, OSU, and even MIT for MBA. As far as my undergrad experience, I literally never received one question about education or verifying it across 4 companies.


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
LSUS is not a satellite campus for LSU.


EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
NM
This post was edited on 5/21 at 9:47 am


Sunflower63
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
If anyone has taken Michael Meeks for MADM 760, which assignments are group assignments?


Turtlemane
Member since May 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Anyone have recommendation of which order to take course? Or even to start? I wanted to start with FIN 701 in July but it looked like the profs weren't the best options so I'm going to hold off and do Econ 705 instead. Any insight to previous experiences would be greatly appreciated


Sunflower63
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
If you want my opinion on where to start from easiest to hardest, it's: Marketing 701 (Kim Minseong), Econ 705 (Fadi Fawaz), Finance 701 (Lynn Kendall). These are the ones I have taken so far. For me they were all amazing.
This post was edited on 5/21 at 4:46 pm


Turtlemane
Member since May 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Unfortunately none of them seem to have the class for the 7/6 term posted. Atleast not available right now. I'm currently registered to Econ 705 with Fassil Fanta. I may still make changes.

Have you taken 1 or 2 course at a time? About how many hours per week?


EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
FIN 701 Sung Kim has a straight forward class. You are tested on study materials and will become skillful with a financial calculator. Excellent professor! He's available 7/6.

I haven't paired classes b/c of my rigorous work schedule, so I don't know if Fanta and Kim can be paired.
This post was edited on 5/22 at 12:37 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Sunflower63
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I have taken one at a time, but I think MKT 701 can definitely be taken with another class. I have also heard that ISDS is one to take with another class, but it depends on who you take.


akerk10
Member since May 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Yup, I get it may be a little deceitful, but it seems like that harmless gray area where if someone says "I thought LSU was in Baton Rouge?" Then I can go into detail about what the program was and how it is a satellite campus in the same system. At the end of the day the resume is just to get your foot in the door for the interview. LSUS claims to use the same curriculum as LSU, OSU, and even MIT for MBA. As far as my undergrad experience, I literally never received one question about education or verifying it across 4 companies.


In my mind, it's splitting hairs. You're not trying to obscure the location of the school by any means. It's literally the difference between a dash and a comma. I personally use "Louisiana State University - Shreveport" because I wouldn't want to risk anyone thinking I'm trying to claim LSU. At the end of the day, most people likely won't look that closely at it either way. Frankly, isn't that the point of programs like this? You get the brand recognition and credibility of the big school without the associated cost. LSUS knows that's what this is all about for most of its students.
This post was edited on 5/22 at 10:01 am


EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I think it is Binshan Lin ISDS. Like Vines (I couldn't deal with his typed notes, so I took someone else.) in FIN , I think his AP is just 3-4 exams with no busy work.
This post was edited on 5/22 at 10:52 am


WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
9163 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I did not like Vines. Others do and I can see the appeal. It wasn't a bad course, just not my style


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Turtlemane
Member since May 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Exactly, I mean the school changed their colors and logo to mimick LSU a little while back. My VP knows what school I'm going to. Since LSU is not a top 20 MBA I don't think it should make much difference. In my industry (CPG) I think its more likely for someone to recognize the name because of the football program and not because they know anything about quality of education


apt423
Member since Mar 2019
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
LSUS, as well as LSUE and LSUA, are actually forced to adopt the purple and gold color by the Baton Rouge though. Thanks to the F King;)
LINK


EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
It's a part of the LSU Campus System...which includes the LSU Agricultural Center, Pennington Biomedical Research Center, LSU of Alexandria, LSU Shreveport, LSU Eunice, LSU Health Sciences Center New Orleans and LSU Health Sciences Center Shreveport.

Just list the city. At the end of the day most people and employers will view it as a satellite of the main campus.
This post was edited on 5/22 at 10:58 pm


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
By definition satellite campuses offer the same degrees as the parent universities. Just because two universities are funded with the same pot of money doesn’t make one a satellite for the other. You can’t take classes at both universities, unless you are enrolled in both universities.

If LSUS is encompassed by the LA Tech system, as has been suggested by state legislators, will it then instantly considered a satellite for LA Tech? No! As long as the diploma says Shreveport on it, it will not a satellite for any university.

Perhaps you understand this and are instead suggesting that eventhough LSUS is not a satellite, employers will view it as such. In my experience, it is absurd to think hiring managers don’t understand this concept.

This is not meant to degrade LSUS. I am certainly happy with my choice. I’m not even suggesting that one university is better than the other. I’m stating for those who have been deceived by marketing, or are attempting to deceive others by claiming their degree is from LSU, that while the degrees may be academically equivalent, they are not interchangeable, and anyone willing to sign your pay check knows it.


Turtlemane
Member since May 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm seeing your point. This degree should not cause any issue IMO. As mentioned I'm in CPG and thru scrolling LinkedIn, I am seeing director level plus roles thru companies like PepsiCo and the people have UofPhoenix and other of those types. Atleast this will be regionall accredited. On the other hand it makes me think if these hiring managers are accepting degrees from programs like that, then they probably would not know the difference


Jump to page
Page First 444 445 446 447
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 446 of 447next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram