Posted by
Message
WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
9163 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I didn't care for Vines that much. Good class, but I felt like I had to learn his spin on top of finance.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
tigersint
New Orleans Saints Fan
Lafayette
Member since Nov 2012
3113 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I really want to get into MADM751. Is anyone planning on possibly dropping it? My other choice is FIN710 but it is also full.
This post was edited on 4/26 at 10:41 pm


DrRogers
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2014
576 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone taken MADM 701 with Nicole Phillips? If so, what should I expect for the class?

I am taking Summer AP2 Session.

Thanks for the help in advance.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
67 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
thanks for your review, been looking for a MKT701-professor combo that would be good.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
50 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi all – I survived my year at LSUS! I decided to also memorializing courses and instructors and below are order of courses, difficulty, time required, and grade received. Overall, I was happy with the program and gradated Spring AP2 2020 with a 3.9 GPA. As with anything, there were good and bad professors, teaching styles, and course materials – but by in large, everything was what one would expect in a Masters program. I will lurk around for a few weeks to answer any questions – best of luck to all future students!

Summer AP 1 2019

Course: ACCT701 w/ Ambrosio
Difficulty: 2 out of 5
Time Required: 5-8 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Summer AP 1 2019 – class was open book, but not a great reference. I was able to create excel shortcut sheets that saved my arse for use on quizzes. Be sure to attend zoom live and twist the professor's arm, he will give exact test questions (albeit with numbers changed). One of the best prof’s in the program, hands down.


Course: ECON705 w/ Shaughnessy
Difficulty: 4 out of 5
Time Required: 10-12 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Summer AP 1 2019 – class was difficult, even with an econ background from my undergrad. Professor uses recorded zoom sessions. His quizzes and materials are on coursehero, but changed for the exams, so be sure to understand concepts. This was a challenging course, but overall really enjoyed Shaughnessy and highly recommend.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
50 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Summer AP 2 2019
Course: MADM701 w/ Kungu
Difficulty: 1 out of 5
Time Required: 5-6 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Summer AP 2 2019 – Kungu is an absent professor – no interaction with the class, no zoom/recorded sessions, and has academic coaches grading the discussion posts and papers. Old & outdated PDF textbook was an OK read, but left this course feeling that I wasted $1200. Do not recommend the professor.

Course: ISDS705 w/ Hennigan
Difficulty: 2 out of 5
Time Required: 6-8 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: B
Notes: Summer AP 2 2019 – I am a project Manager by trade, so this class was review. Although I earned a B (because I accidentally missed turning in an assignment), this was a simple course for anyone with a PM background. Good professor and up-to-date materials. Recommend the PM concentration for anyone looking to get into PM.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
50 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Fall AP 1 2019
Course: FIN701 w/ Kendall
Difficulty: 5 out of 5
Time Required: 15-20 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Fall AP 1 2019 – This was the hardest course in the program – Tests are difficult and require the mastery of the financial calculator. If you do not take the practice exams and use feedback, you will not ace this course. Keep taking practive exams until you commit to memory because they will show up word-for-word on the tests (with numbers changed, of course). This is an effort class and those that put in the effort, will be rewarded. I recommend this professor.

Course: ISDS730 w/ Loughrin
Difficulty: 2 out of 5
Time Required: 10-12 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Fall AP 1 2019 – Group project that required multiple weekly meetings was actually fun – our semester was running a juice factory (into the ground…). I had a fun and attentive group that made the course work enjoyable. Tests were directly from reading material, and the $75 certification test at the end of the course was cake and great resume fodder – do it! I recommend the course, even though group work typically sucks.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
50 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Fall AP 2 2019
Course: ISDS720 w/ Loughrin
Difficulty: 1 out of 5
Time Required: 8-10 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Fall AP 2 2019 – Although a different course, a near carbon copy of learning materials from ISDS730. Same structure w/easier group project. Again, recommend the cert test and highly recommend the professor. Great course and concentration!

Spring AP 1 2020
Course: ISDS705 w/ Gherfal
Difficulty: 1 out of 5
Time Required: 4-6 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Spring AP 1 2020 – What a waste of time and effort. Wildly outdated text that references blockbuster, myspace, and other legacy technology (think lessons on how great Tivo is…yea.). This course would have been relevant in 2010 but was a total waste of time/effort. No group work, plenty of writing, and plenty of extra credit. Tests were tricky, although I put in a serious lack of effort. Professor checks in a few times a semester but was self-paced and taught. If you earn less than an A in this class, drop the program. There must be better options, and I would not recommend this course/professor for anyone serious about learning. Total waste of my time and money. LSUS – do better.

Course: MADM760 w/ Wyatt
Difficulty: 3 out of 5
Time Required: 12-14 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Spring AP 1 2020 – Tons of discussion posts and replies (Which are the worst, right?) with tricky exams. The textbook is a snoozefest, and tough to follow. Mercifully, the texts key areas are all over Quizlet, and a better approach for learning. No group work is a bonus as many MADM760 prof’s require, so I lightly recommend this course. If there are better options, take ‘em. This is a better 2nd choice setup I suspect.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
50 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Spring AP 2 2020
Course: MKT701 w/ Si Chen
Difficulty: 1 out of 5
Time Required: 4-6 Hrs Per Week
Grade Received: A
Notes: Spring AP 2 2020 – I put this class off, and arranged to take it by itself, due to reviews I read a year ago on Tigerdroppings. In reality, this was a SIMPLE course, with a great instructor. Chen gives weekly recorded zoom sessions, and quizzes come directly from the PowerPoints – feel free to skip the drier-than-melba-toast-textbook, I did after week 1 and relied on PowerPoint + quizlet study. Discussion posts required NO replies (hallelujah!!) and 3x papers were graded fairly. I had enough points that I could skip the final. Perhaps the easiest course in the program where I learned something. 10/10 highly recommend Chen with NO hesitation.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
67 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
only class I took this session was FIN701... I got a solid A before whatever curving he's going to do but found it a good amount more challenging than anticipated but thats mostly because I have zero finance background... this class could definitely benefit from a professor like Fawaz who actually posts online lectures.
Also the biweekly exams were a pain because you have to cram through 2 weeks of material on each (much rather have weekly exams). BUT it covers only whats in his slides and practice problems. Also the discussion posts and case studies were easy 100% grade fillers.

so far I classify all my classes as "easy"
Gibbs isds705- super easy, splits his weekly exams into 1 per chapter (2 per week) making it easy to cram and test on 1 chapter at a time... BUT he provides no slides or notes for the exams, so you are left with actually reading the entire textbook chapters if you want to aim for a 100% on them. But build up enough cushion and you can get away with just skimming and reading the chapter summary plus definitions.
Fawaz econ705- easy, super easy if you are decent with math. I found his zoom lectures very helpful and studying that along with chapter questions enough to ace through without reading the text.
Huang acct701- super easy. Exam material is contained within her slides and the home work problems (with multiple attempts) gives plenty of indication of what will be on the exam. The final project was ridiculously easy... completed it in like 1.5 hours
This post was edited on 4/27 at 12:36 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
lcarubia
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Doubling this course with ACCT 701 be ok?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
lcarubia
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
How is Chen course? able to double up?


WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
9163 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Yes.

I bit the bullet and stacked throughout without much planning. The toughest from a time management perspective were the first two courses due to not being in school for over 10 years and having a limited finance and economic background.

Things got better as the program progressed. However, I'm ready for the 10 months to be over with. It's been quite the grind with a full time job, 2 kids, and a wife (no pics) that works full time as well.

Good luck.


lcarubia
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Which classes would you say take the least amt of time per week. How many hours per week did you say chen class took? im looking to stack it with ACCT 701


Sunflower63
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone taken Anthony Hannah for accounting 701? I didn't see much about him on ratemyprofessors. I didn't want to take it with Ambrosio, so I was trying to decide between Li Huang or Anthony Hannah.
This post was edited on 4/28 at 12:04 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
WylieTiger
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
9163 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I spent about 4 to 5 hours per week on Chen on average, with the majority used for the case studies(3) and the discussion questions (6). There are 3 exams spaced out every 2 weeks. The case studies fall on the non-exam weekends. The discussions are weekly. I put in minimal to moderate effort relative to other classes and finished with a 99%.

At some point you're going to have to put in long hours. Just take them and grind for 10 months and be done.
This post was edited on 4/28 at 11:34 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
67 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
didnt take this course yet but from my research she is not a recommended professor to take. One obvious indicator of the preferred professor to take is from simply looking at the enrollment status... if there's multiple professors teaching a course there's a reason why some may be completely booked up while others are empty.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
lcarubia
Member since Apr 2020
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Rybo44 Do you still have the excel spread sheet formulas from ACCT 701?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
mekamouse
Member since Apr 2020
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi Rybo,

I am starting my first classes of the MBA with project management concentration in a week or so. My first classes are Acct 701 with Ambrosio and Econ 705 with Fawaz. I am so nervous. I see you had them both, any other advice or tips, I havent been in school in years. Any outside materials, or special calculator you think might be helpful? Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!


EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello mekamouse...

You are in GOOD hands. I took both them, two of the best in the program. Their study materials match up with their exams. Ambrosio's quizzes are a bit different from the exams but if you understand the concepts, you will be fine. Fawaz reviews similar test materials during zooms and curves. Ambrosio also has excellent zoom sessions. Enjoy the classes. Fawaz also has a weekly Excel assignment, which I was able to get through, and I'm a novice with Excel.

A standard TI calculator should be fine for both classes. Most students also get a HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator for FIN for about $20.
This post was edited on 5/2 at 12:57 am


first pageprev pagePage 444 of 447next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram