Posted by
Message
craig_miamifl
Member since Jul 2017
111 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@mtntreks I'll also be in MADM715 next session. I'd definitely recommend Knotts for MADM701. I personally didn't mind the text (JMO it's better than no text like other courses). I don't think it was the most enjoyable reading theory 1, theory 2 conflicting theory 1, etc...but I thought the tests were straight forward. I thought the course would be a load of time consuming busy work which I really didn't find to be the case.

FIN701: Vines mentioned this was the first session w/o a text in the course. His tests weren't overly difficult and he's great about giving partial credit but those MS Word doc texts leave much to be desired. So many gaps within it. (Big reason why he gets the same questions a lot). Might have gotten the grade I wanted but was completely lost much of the session. The biggest benefit might be the textbook SkipDigs linked to go back and to reference. Wish I'd seen it sooner. The course really needs a textbook. It's gonna be a struggle for those w/o a previous finance course/background IMO if the MS Word doc setup remains unchanged. Vines is very accommodating and always available to help. Just wasn't personally a big fan of the MS Word doc setup.

Session over. Enjoy some days off.
This post was edited on 3/3 at 6:31 pm


WhoNeedsSleep
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2018
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
In FIN 701 (Vines), I got a bad draw on the test 4 questions. It was my worst test out of the four by far. Luckily, I still pulled out an A in the course. The current course materials are a bit lacking for sure. I am very appreciative of the previous class materials provided in this forum. He is a great teacher though.

FIN 710 sucked (Hsieh). I got a B in the course, but it was not easy. The class material was tough, but I could have pulled an A with a better instructor. I have Hsieh for FIN 720 starting soon, so I'm expecting more of the same.

These 7 week classes are nice. 2 classes down, 8 to go.


perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@WhoNeedsSleep, agree with you, got a B in FIN710 as well and have no choice but to face him again for FIN720.. course materials are good but the way the concepts are taught needs to improve.. glad done with this term


WhoNeedsSleep
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2018
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@perry_g5
Did you take FIN 730? If so, how was it?


Naughtonthemove
Member since Mar 2018
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi I am new here! Anyone here know about HCAD 750 with Gherfal? I have searched for some comments or notes, but have yet to find anything.

I am doubling up this semester with MADM 760 with McLaughlin. Another instructor I was unable to find many details. Any insight would be appreciated!!! TIA


perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@WhoNeedsSleep, yes i did, secured an A in that, its relatively easy and requires less commitment, if you have done FIN701 already.


perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
FIN720 Syllabus is out, seems the same format as FIN710 with Heigsh, hope to get concepts explained well on this one....


darkfather79
North Carolina St. Fan
Leland, NC
Member since Oct 2017
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
The Gospel according to @AL_Supertramp; could not have said it better myself. Spot on assessment. My 4.0 was blown up for this class as well. According to Dr. Koksal's news forum post, there will be a curve for the course. The average for the final test was 70%. I'm surprised it was that high honestly. I understood the concepts of linear regression, but the test was not an indicator of the understanding of the concepts. The wording of questions I felt was purposefully deceiving, and not being able to write anything or have a piece of paper to write out and solve for variables in the equations was off-putting as well. Like you said; onward and upward.


bmcmil2
Member since Dec 2016
74 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’m in fin 720 with Hseigh as well. I’m taking it along with Econ 705 for my final two classes! No info yet in Econ 705.


WhoNeedsSleep
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2018
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'll be in both classes with you. Congrats on nearing the end of your MBA. This will be my 3rd and 4th classes. I'm hoping to finish in October.


perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
thank guys, have created a groupme for FIN720, pls join FIN720


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Al_Supertramp
Oklahoma
Member since May 2017
14 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Anybody in ISDS 702 see Dr. Koksal’s latest post? He is curving the grade...adding 40 points to our point totals!!! Considering that he is a young professor, and new to the program, I feel bad for ripping him on here. At least I gave him an honest, thorough assessment on the evaluations so he can understand where a student might have found the course instruction to be lacking.
This post was edited on 3/4 at 9:58 pm


Jeaux Cool
Atlanta Braves Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
1133 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Where did you see that he is adding 40 points? I must be missing it

ETA nevermind, I see his forum post. That was very generous of him. It was much needed though. That final exam was a beast!
This post was edited on 3/4 at 10:02 pm


DieDaily
LSU Fan
West of a white house
Member since Mar 2010
2465 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Anyone here know about HCAD 750 with Gherfal?
HCAD 750 is a new course for the MBA program and Gherfal is a new professor to LSUS. He also doesn't have an entry on RateMyProfessor.com, though I did find a LinkedIn page for him. He seems to have a heavy IT background, an MBA, and appears to do some teaching on the side. Also one thing to note is that you must be doing the Data Analytics concentration to take the course. If you take this course and then later decide you don't want to do that concentration, it will not count toward the other concentrations / specializations.
quote:

I am doubling up this semester with MADM 760 with McLaughlin.

MADM 760 is typically taught by Meeks and this is McLaughlin's first time teaching it for the LSUS MBA program. Therefore, you're not going to be able to find any info on it here. You might try looking McLaughlin up on RateMyProfessor, though, to see their rating there.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
AstroTiger
Houston Astros Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2007
22837 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Well, I must say that curve bumped my grade. I appreciate what he did, but he really needs to look at the format of this class. I understand the idea of getting students to learn concepts over number punching, but a Business Stats class without use of a calculations and excel and the like is not the direction I expected the class to go.

8 down and 2 to go. Good luck to everyone in AP2. I'll be sitting this session out


Marco22
Member since Sep 2017
58 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
For those in Econ705 this semester, let me know if you want to create a groupme chat.


darkfather79
North Carolina St. Fan
Leland, NC
Member since Oct 2017
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

MBA Reviews
For those in Econ705 this semester, let me know if you want to create a groupme chat.


@Marco22, I'll be in that class as well. I'm all for a groupme chat.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
nike2020
Member since Mar 2018
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I finished my MK701, first course with LSUS. It was pretty hectic with 10+ hours of dedication every week.
Thankfully I was able to get A in the course.

I am planning to take ECON 705 in Spring AP2. Does anyone here have suggestions, can share Syllabus / Course material that will help me decide if I should continue with this.

Thanks


AstroTiger
Houston Astros Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2007
22837 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

help me decide if I should continue with this.



Are you considering dropping out? I don't understand your dilemma. You completed what most consider to be the "worst" and most time consuming course in the program (and I agree with most). Are you talking about just ECON 705 itself? It's required so just go for it. I'm not sure what professor you have but there have been many changes to the program in just the 8 months I have been enrolled, so you're best off just rolling with it at this point.


nike2020
Member since Mar 2018
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
The professor is Mary White.
I am taking only ECON 705, with my heavy office workload it gets difficult to spend time on MBA course. Also I may have some travel coming up next month.

The guidance would help if I should skip the term or continue with ECON 705



Jump to page
Page First 239 240 241 242 243 ... 317
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 241 of 317next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram