Started By
Message

re: Was the last play an illegal formation or not?

Posted on 11/27/18 at 1:47 pm to
Posted by MOT
Member since Jul 2006
30370 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 1:47 pm to
You have to have at least 7 on the line, it isn’t illegal to have more. If two receivers are to one side and both are on the line, the inside receiver is ineligible and can not move beyond the LOS. That’s why they check to make sure one or the other is off.
Posted by bubbaprohn
Kansas
Member since Feb 2009
4090 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 1:48 pm to
You can't have more than 4 in the backfield. You can have as many as you want on the LOS. The only way that last play was a penalty for a&m is if those 3 WRs that were covered went out for a pass. They didn't so no foul. If you are covered you are not an eligible receiver.
Posted by xGeauxLSUx
United States of Atrophy
Member since Oct 2008
22456 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:03 pm to
quote:

No, there’s an angle with a view down the line and the receivers are on the ball.



Please show me that pic because all the ones that I saw showed NO WRs on the line.
Posted by MOT
Member since Jul 2006
30370 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:10 pm to
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33645 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:16 pm to
if the widest wr was not ON the line the line judges left arm would be up and pointing back....... amazed at how much some of ya'll claim to know about football, yet don't..

anyone that has ever lined up wide or covered wides

knows this
This post was edited on 11/27/18 at 2:17 pm
Posted by ffhouston
The Woodlands
Member since Sep 2007
3981 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:17 pm to
Except for Greedy's PI call, I agree.
Posted by MOT
Member since Jul 2006
30370 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:22 pm to
I’m well aware of this, pointed it out Sunday. Regardless of what anyone thinks they see (and the pic shows at least two of them are on the line by definition), the L doesn’t have his arm raised meaning he has made the determination.
Posted by League Champs
Bayou Self
Member since Oct 2012
10340 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:24 pm to
quote:

the back foot of each receiver is on the same line as the QB

So we determine if you are offsides by where your back foot is?





The front most part of the body determines where you are in relation to being on the LOS or not. You might want to delete that part. It's embarrassing.
Posted by League Champs
Bayou Self
Member since Oct 2012
10340 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:27 pm to
quote:

If the ball truck the ground with .1 of a full second left, then your essentially giving more time to the team if you give them a full second. And, I’m not sure you can hike a ball in .1 second.

Good God. Hopefully all LSU fans aren't this stupid.

The clock doesn't start until the ball IS SNAPPED. So .1 of a second is plenty of time to snap the ball, because the clock doesn't start until the QB touches the ball.
Posted by GeauxTigers120
Luling, Louisiana
Member since Aug 2014
26 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 2:28 pm to
No
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 2Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram