- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: the onside kick
Posted on 9/7/10 at 2:50 pm to whiteyc777
Posted on 9/7/10 at 2:50 pm to whiteyc777
quote:The ball has to hit the ground AND TRAVEL BEYOND THE NEUTRAL ZONE(10 yards)!!!
a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule
6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).
Point #1: It was okay for the North Carolina player to crash into the LSU player because the protection rule had terminated since the ball hit the ground.
If you could block before the ball travels beyond the neutral zone (10 yards), then why doesn't everyone use a slow rolling technique on the kick and run everyone in front of the ball to kill the kicking team and let the kicker follow a slow rolling ball and fall on it after 10 yards.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 2:55 pm to CPT 8ch
Rule 6 covers "Kicks".
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
Still, if you read Rule 6 further, you find Section 4 which deals with Opportunity to catch a kick.
Rule 6-4-1 states:
A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.
Then in Rule 6-4-1-a, you read:
This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone.
The protection referred to applies to kicks heyond the nuetral zone or kicks that have gone 10 yards. This protection has nothing to do with Rule 6-1-2-g.
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
Still, if you read Rule 6 further, you find Section 4 which deals with Opportunity to catch a kick.
Rule 6-4-1 states:
A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.
Then in Rule 6-4-1-a, you read:
This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone.
The protection referred to applies to kicks heyond the nuetral zone or kicks that have gone 10 yards. This protection has nothing to do with Rule 6-1-2-g.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 2:56 pm to XbengalTiger
You were quicker Xbengal.
I don't understand how they can not comprehend this.


I don't understand how they can not comprehend this.

Posted on 9/7/10 at 2:56 pm to JaxTigah
Tell you what. You go with Rogers Redding. I'll go with the officials at the field. I'll also side with the person in this thread who is an actual official.
-YTC
-YTC
Posted on 9/7/10 at 2:57 pm to XbengalTiger
Bottom line: Ball has to go 10 yards before kicking team can recover it (even if it "hits the ground" before 10 yards or otherwise the kicker would kick the ball next to the tee) or if a member of the receiving team touches it prior to 10 yards (prior to being hit by member of the kicking team). The contact on that kick was directly in front of me and the UNC player definitely hit the LSU receiver prior to him touching the ball. Should have been a penalty.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 2:57 pm to whiteyc777
quote:
Tell you what. You go with Rogers Redding. I'll go with the officials at the field. I'll also side with the person in this thread who is an actual official.
The rulebook clearly states that you're wrong. It's not that difficult to understand.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:00 pm to CPT 8ch
quote:
Rule 6 covers "Kicks".
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
Still, if you read Rule 6 further, you find Section 4 which deals with Opportunity to catch a kick.
Rule 6-4-1 states:
A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick.
Then in Rule 6-4-1-a, you read:
This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player
of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any
player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone.
I don't think you are interpreting the language correctly.
You are citing to Rule 6-4-1-a, which is a clearly a limitation on Rule 6-4-1, not Rule 6-1-2-g. In other words, the phrase "this protection" in Rule 6-4-1-a refers to the protection afforded by rule 6-4-1. Now, look at the language of Rule 6-4-1 itself, which defines the scope of the protection:
"A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting
to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage
kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to
catch the kick."
BY its own terms, 6-4-1 refers to players who are attempting to catch a kick "beyond the neutral zone." All 6-4-1-a is stating is that if a player is waiting to catch a kick BEYOND THE NUETRAL ZONE and the kick has already hit the ground, then the defense can hit the awaiting receiver.
(I assume that nuetral zone here refers to the ten yard buffer between the teams.)
However, the rule is entirely silent as to players who are in the nuetral zone. In such a case, where a player is IN the neutral zone, you have to apply Rule 6-1-2-g, which says that you can't block anyone until the ball reaches ten yards or hits someone, etc.
Read this way, Rules 6-4-1-a and 6-1-2-g are entirely consonant. Any other reading renders them internally inconsistent and contradictory.
This post was edited on 9/7/10 at 3:03 pm
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:01 pm to JaxTigah
just checked the hs rulebook.. which could be totally different. Here it is: basically if K is responsible for contact bw a R player and ball, ie blocking R player into the ball, the ball becomes dead where K recovers and R starts a new series at spot of K's recovery
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:02 pm to bmy
The rulebook clearly states that I'm right. It's not that difficult to understand.
-YTC
-YTC
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:02 pm to whiteyc777
Dude, who are you? Ron Burgundy?
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:03 pm to whiteyc777

Stay stupid. No one is forcing you. Just so you know, Redding is the supervisor of the guys on the field.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:03 pm to whiteyc777
quote:
The rulebook clearly states that I'm right. It's not that difficult to understand.
Yep. Gotta be Ron Burgundy.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:04 pm to JaxTigah
Thanks!
By the way, if you could link me to Mr. Redding admitting that the wrong call was made then I would love to see it.
-YTC
By the way, if you could link me to Mr. Redding admitting that the wrong call was made then I would love to see it.
-YTC
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:05 pm to whiteyc777
I am kind of a big deal.
People know me.
-YTC
People know me.
-YTC
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:06 pm to JaxTigah
quote:
or kicks that have gone 10 yards.
So then....CPT's assertion was right. The LSU player should not have moved into the 'neutral' zone to attempt to field the kick. He would have been 'protected' from contact if he would have remained outside of the zone...eventhough the ball had already touched the ground?
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:06 pm to whiteyc777
quote:
The rulebook clearly states that I'm right. It's not that difficult to understand.
-YTC
LINK
Vic Winnek
NCAA Football Official
disagrees

Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:08 pm to whiteyc777
On how he interpreted the onside kick ruling...
"I talked to the head of officials in the SEC, Rogers Redding, and he said frankly you cannot block anyone in advance of the ball. Anybody that would contact somebody in advance of the ball has created a foul. It's irrespective of the 40-yard line. In other words, if (Alfred) Blue steps across the 40-yard line to make the reception on the kick, then he is protected because you still cannot block in advance of the ball, and you still cannot contact a guy until the ball has gone 10 yards, so we are in a position where we should be able to field the ball certainly until we get possession without interference. In review, the officials are given a responsibility not to apparently create flags and throw flags from a reviewed look, and I think that was really the position that was taken. They reviewed it, and they really could not overturn the call on the field."
"I talked to the head of officials in the SEC, Rogers Redding, and he said frankly you cannot block anyone in advance of the ball. Anybody that would contact somebody in advance of the ball has created a foul. It's irrespective of the 40-yard line. In other words, if (Alfred) Blue steps across the 40-yard line to make the reception on the kick, then he is protected because you still cannot block in advance of the ball, and you still cannot contact a guy until the ball has gone 10 yards, so we are in a position where we should be able to field the ball certainly until we get possession without interference. In review, the officials are given a responsibility not to apparently create flags and throw flags from a reviewed look, and I think that was really the position that was taken. They reviewed it, and they really could not overturn the call on the field."
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:09 pm to whiteyc777
Just because the ball hits the ground does not = the ball is free for the kicking team to recover. Think about it for a moment - if that would be true, the kicker would simply kick the ball 2 yards off the tee & the player next to the kicker would fall on it. Most onside kicks involve the ball hitting the ground prior to 10 yards.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:10 pm to JaxTigah
that is my understanding, just from a player safety perspective.. rules and officials are primarily in place for the safety of the players
Posted on 9/7/10 at 3:10 pm to MastrShake
That ref deserves his "F".


Popular
Back to top
