- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: the onside kick
Posted on 9/8/10 at 10:54 am to ConnorBeach
Posted on 9/8/10 at 10:54 am to ConnorBeach
Obviously Connor has done a good job of being polite and explaining himself so I'm definitely not going to jump too hard into this. I see why he's confused, but it really is pretty clear and simple.
The rule very clearly explains that team A can not contact team B prior to the 10 yard restraining line. They are eligible to hit the player past the restraining line. The EXCEPTION of 6-4-1 is an exception to Team A touching or blocking past the restraining line. It states that while Team A can touch the ball and Team B players past the restraining line, they are not allowed that same contact due to these exceptions, including the fact that they must allow the receiving team a free shot at catching a ball in the air, etc.
In short, you're reading it completely backwards. And if you want to take four or five of your guys and have them stand still and not move, then go for it. I strongly suggest against it.
The rule very clearly explains that team A can not contact team B prior to the 10 yard restraining line. They are eligible to hit the player past the restraining line. The EXCEPTION of 6-4-1 is an exception to Team A touching or blocking past the restraining line. It states that while Team A can touch the ball and Team B players past the restraining line, they are not allowed that same contact due to these exceptions, including the fact that they must allow the receiving team a free shot at catching a ball in the air, etc.
In short, you're reading it completely backwards. And if you want to take four or five of your guys and have them stand still and not move, then go for it. I strongly suggest against it.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 11:08 am to RPC4LSU
quote:
Where is the apology from the league for blowing the call?
The only thing the SEC is worse at than hiring officials is being honest about the mistakes the officials make. They simply never admit the refs made a mistake. No matter how ridiculous the refs' calls are, they never admit a mistake.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 11:16 am to Jon1798
16 pages for this nonsense.
CLEARLY:
It was a foul b/c they ran into our guy before he touched the ball.
Also as clearly:
It was a bang-bang play on the field and the ref simply missed the call, thinking that our guy got hit just as the ball got to him.
Watching it live I agreed with the ref. It looked simultaneous or close enough to it. Brent and Herbie sounded like they don't know the rules.
CLEARLY:
It was a foul b/c they ran into our guy before he touched the ball.
Also as clearly:
It was a bang-bang play on the field and the ref simply missed the call, thinking that our guy got hit just as the ball got to him.
Watching it live I agreed with the ref. It looked simultaneous or close enough to it. Brent and Herbie sounded like they don't know the rules.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 1:25 pm to Nuts4LSU
quote:
The only thing the SEC is worse at than hiring officials is being honest about the mistakes the officials make. They simply never admit the refs made a mistake. No matter how ridiculous the refs' calls are, they never admit a mistake.
They admitted mistakes twice just last year.
And I feel like I've been pretty civil as well in this conversation. (This is being directed at a previous post saying how nice ConnorBeach has been)
-YTC
Posted on 9/8/10 at 1:40 pm to uway
quote:
Brent and Herbie sounded like they don't know the rules.
actually they both got the rule right.
quote:
It was a bang-bang play on the field and the ref simply missed the call, thinking that our guy got hit just as the ball got to him.
im sorry but this was not "bang-bang". the video is clear as can be. three refs stood 10 feet away, stared right at this and had no idea what to do. Herbstriet was a hundred yards away and saw the play just fine. Musberger is 900 years old and even he saw that it didnt go ten yards.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:07 pm to whiteyc777
quote:
They admitted mistakes twice just last year.
And I feel like I've been pretty civil as well in this conversation. (This is being directed at a previous post saying how nice ConnorBeach has been)
-YTC
I made the horrible mistake of going back to read why this thread has gone on for so long now. I know there are dumb people on this board, but this still amazes me. How anyone can have Jax clearly state the rules straight from the NCAA handbook in black and white, and still have people not understand the rule is just pure comedy.
If I see another person talk about the ball hitting the ground, or impeding someone's right to the ball, I just might have to hurt myself. This has nothing to do with anything in this situation.
The kicking team can't hit the receiving team before the restraining line. The receiving team does not have those same restrictions. This play was as clear as day, and was botched badly. The head of officials has already told Les that. How anyone can still be arguing just to show how stupid they are is beyond me.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:10 pm to musick
quote:
ive heard that once the ball touches the ground, everything is fair game.
this...
you can hit our guy to prevent him from touching the ball....
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:10 pm to MastrShake
So they couldn't throw a flag because you can't review a play, then throw a flag if a flag wasn't thrown to begin with.
New rule, shoot and ask questions later. IOW, throw the frickin flag, and if have to, wave the frickin thing off.
New rule, shoot and ask questions later. IOW, throw the frickin flag, and if have to, wave the frickin thing off.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:14 pm to MastrShake
Official rule book states when the ball hits the ground the "the unimpeded opportunity" goes out the window! Page 92 of the 2009-2010 NCAA Football Rules and Interpretations!
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:19 pm to TigerFan55555
quote:
Posted by TigerFan55555 on 9/8 at 2:10 pm to musick
God dammit.
Not you again. You have proven time and time again you don't know what the frick you are talking about at ANY time.
Run along now.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:20 pm to MastrShake
Jax, Jon, et al are probably correct. My interpretation was probably incorrect.
Mastr - I think your image is a bit misleading. The contact was before the ball was touched but it was closer than that picture looks. The picture you just posted is NOT the moment of impact. Compare the 2 you posted to start the conversation. The LSU player does not move between the 2. Correct that, he actually moves FORWARD. The UNC player turned his body sideways to avoid contact as long as possible. Look at the two again and compare the head, waist, and feet of the LSU player as the UNC player goes by.
I know refs aren't the best at publicly admitting mistakes. Were either of the 2 (supposed) admissions from the AL-TN game?
Mastr - I think your image is a bit misleading. The contact was before the ball was touched but it was closer than that picture looks. The picture you just posted is NOT the moment of impact. Compare the 2 you posted to start the conversation. The LSU player does not move between the 2. Correct that, he actually moves FORWARD. The UNC player turned his body sideways to avoid contact as long as possible. Look at the two again and compare the head, waist, and feet of the LSU player as the UNC player goes by.
I know refs aren't the best at publicly admitting mistakes. Were either of the 2 (supposed) admissions from the AL-TN game?
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:20 pm to loustuni
quote:
Official rule book states when the ball hits the ground the "the unimpeded opportunity" goes out the window! Page 92 of the 2009-2010 NCAA Football Rules and Interpretations!
:sigh:
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:21 pm to MastrShake
quote:
actually they both got the rule right.
They sounded like they didn't know the rule, b/c neither of them (to my knowledge) mentioned that, if the ref thought the hit wasn't early, then it wasn't a foul regardless of how far the ball went.
quote:
im sorry but this was not "bang-bang". the video is clear as can be
The replay video is clear, as they usually are. Live it was bang-bang, IMO, and evidently the refs saw it the same way. Surely you're not claiming a conspiracy or glaring incompetence b/c a .33 second early hit wasn't called as interference?
You still don't sound like you know the rule b/c you (like Herbie and Brent) are talking about how it didn't go 10 yards. Whether or not it went 10 yards isn't the issue. The issue is whether he was hit before the ball reached him. The ref missed the call, but it wasn't nearly as obvious at full speed as it is in your pic here.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:21 pm to TheDoc
I still don't see in any of the rules that have been posted where it is legal to block a player in the back!!!
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:32 pm to uway
quote:
The replay video is clear, as they usually are. Live it was bang-bang, IMO, and evidently the refs saw it the same way. Surely you're not claiming a conspiracy or glaring incompetence b/c a .33 second early hit wasn't called as interference?
Two of the three closest officials were out of position however the third man appeared to have an angle which would have afforded him a clear view of the early contact. I was there and the ball was 2 or 3 yards away when contact was made. Not nearly as bang-bang as many passing plays are. The UNC fans sitting near us all thought a flag was forthcoming. It was a flagrantly blown call. Being out of position is an excuse but a very poor one.
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:43 pm to RANDY44
Did LSULaw assign its students to argue the call on TD or something?
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:50 pm to TigerFan55555
quote:
this...
you can hit our guy to prevent him from touching the ball....
ON A SCRIMMAGE KICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:53 pm to Golfer
Just a question that I hope someong will answer. Watch the play again and tell me where EXACTLY was the head of the UNC player that made first contact?
Posted on 9/8/10 at 2:55 pm to omegaman66
quote:
Watch the play again and tell me where EXACTLY was the head of the UNC player that made first contact?
Doesn't matter, his left arm is already in contact with Blue.
Popular
Back to top


2





