- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: the onside kick
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:11 pm to XbengalTiger
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:11 pm to XbengalTiger
Penalty either way. It is and always has been illegal for a football player to hit another player in the back. It is called clipping or illegal block in the back. Watch the kick over again. Clearly it was clipping.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:17 pm to ChineseBandit58
quote:
Who ever keeps saying why wouldn't a team just tap the ball of the tee and kill anybody who tried to get it.
quote:
why would a receiving team try to get it?? just let it lay there and it is your ball.
Interesting.
I'll have to tell Payton about that and he can win the game at halftime.
When would the whistle blow? What a standoff.
I imagine the ball would be blown dead when it fails to roll any more becoming obvious it won't make 10yds and would result in illegal kick.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:30 pm to Mayhawman
someone should make a list of the window lickers in this thread
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:34 pm to XbengalTiger
Hey guys,
I know a lot of people are basing their opinion on the fact that the ball has to cross the "neutral zone" first and think the "neutral zone" means the 10 yards. This is incorrect. Read 2-17 (definitions). The "neutral zone" is only the "length of the ball". Offsides on a kickoff isn't called because the receiving team is in the neutral zone; it's because they are past their restraining line.
So... 6-4-1 is satisfied because the kick was beyond the neutral zone and touched the ground. This meets the first of the 3 criteria to terminate the opportunity to catch protection in 6-4-1-a and makes the contact legal. Kicking team recovery was clearly after receiving team contact so no illegal touching. The question of whether the player was blocked into the ball is a judgment call. However I think it would be difficult to argue that the touching was solely a result of being blocked and that the receiver was not making a play on the ball.
Full disclosure... I am a UNC fan but not trying to flame; just reasonably discuss.
I know a lot of people are basing their opinion on the fact that the ball has to cross the "neutral zone" first and think the "neutral zone" means the 10 yards. This is incorrect. Read 2-17 (definitions). The "neutral zone" is only the "length of the ball". Offsides on a kickoff isn't called because the receiving team is in the neutral zone; it's because they are past their restraining line.
So... 6-4-1 is satisfied because the kick was beyond the neutral zone and touched the ground. This meets the first of the 3 criteria to terminate the opportunity to catch protection in 6-4-1-a and makes the contact legal. Kicking team recovery was clearly after receiving team contact so no illegal touching. The question of whether the player was blocked into the ball is a judgment call. However I think it would be difficult to argue that the touching was solely a result of being blocked and that the receiver was not making a play on the ball.
Full disclosure... I am a UNC fan but not trying to flame; just reasonably discuss.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:34 pm to JaxTigah
quote:
Most people don't even know that rule yet. I did not see that part of it but you must have at least 4 on either side of the kicker before the ball is kicked.
It was called on Georgia last season to tack on 5 more yards after Trindon's long return late in the 4th quarter.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:36 pm to ConnorBeach
The neutral zone is the length of the football for a scrimmage play not a free kick. It is 10 yards on a free kick.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:43 pm to ConnorBeach
quote:
The "neutral zone" is only the "length of the ball".
So you're saying LSU can line up on the 31 yard line now to receive kicks??
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:43 pm to TheDoc
Add one more rider to the short bus.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:43 pm to PlanoPrivateer
I may be wrong but I tried to look it up in the NCAA rulebook to be certain. I didn't find any exceptions to the definition of the neutral zone or any mention of it being 10 yards on a free kick. Do you know where I should be looking?
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:46 pm to Golfer
I'm saying they must be behind their "restraining line". This is what is 10 yards from where the ball is placed to be kicked. This is defined in 6-1.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:50 pm to ConnorBeach
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
That is pretty clear right.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
They are not eligible to touch the ball until one of those three things happen, so they therefor are not permitted to block an opponent because they are not eligible to touch a free kicked ball
That is pretty clear right.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
They are not eligible to touch the ball until one of those three things happen, so they therefor are not permitted to block an opponent because they are not eligible to touch a free kicked ball
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:51 pm to ConnorBeach
First paragraph in Section 6: Kicks
quote:
Restraining Lines
ARTICLE 1. For any free kick formation, the kicking team’s restraining line
shall be the yard line through the most forward point from which the ball
shall be kicked, and the receiving team’s restraining line shall be the yard
line 10 yards beyond that point. Unless relocated by a penalty, the kicking
team’s restraining line on a kickoff shall be its 30-yard line, and for a free
kick after a safety, its 20-yard line.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:55 pm to Golfer
We're still arguing this? I thought it was proven pretty well that the shite was illegal in like page 3.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:04 pm to Froman
the question is will Slive publicly reprimand the officials
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:08 pm to Golfer
Golfer - the quote is exactly what I said. It is not a 10 yard "neutral zone". It is 2 "restraining lines" separated by 10 yards.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:09 pm to ConnorBeach
Connor, you seem to mean well, and you can download the NCAA rulebook as a pdf HERE.
(im gonna talk to you like youre an idiot right now, but im not really talking to you, im actually talking to other LSU fans who happen to be fricking idiots. its a really proud moment in my life.)
this is as simple as I can make it. been saying this since page 2. a player on the kicking team CAN NOT hit a player on the receiving team until...
Free Kick Formation
ARTICLE 2
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
and when is he eligible to touch a free-kicked ball?
Touching and Recovery of a Free Kick
ARTICLE 3. a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s restraining line.
so they happen at the same time, OMG! the ball has to go 10 yards or hit the player before he can make contact or touch the ball! you cant just wipe out the reciever on a kick! shocking, isnt it? because you see that all the time in college football, dont you.
oh, and heres your restraining line answer:
Rule for Free Kick/Kick off:
Rule 6 Section 1
Restraining Lines
ARTICLE 1. For any free kick formation, the kicking team’s restraining line shall be the yard line through the most forward point from which the ball shall be kicked, and the receiving team’s restraining line shall be the yard line 10 yards beyond that point. Unless relocated by a penalty, the kicking team’s restraining line on a kickoff shall be its 30-yard line, and for a free kick after a safety, its 20-yard line.
(im gonna talk to you like youre an idiot right now, but im not really talking to you, im actually talking to other LSU fans who happen to be fricking idiots. its a really proud moment in my life.)
this is as simple as I can make it. been saying this since page 2. a player on the kicking team CAN NOT hit a player on the receiving team until...
Free Kick Formation
ARTICLE 2
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
and when is he eligible to touch a free-kicked ball?
Touching and Recovery of a Free Kick
ARTICLE 3. a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s restraining line.
so they happen at the same time, OMG! the ball has to go 10 yards or hit the player before he can make contact or touch the ball! you cant just wipe out the reciever on a kick! shocking, isnt it? because you see that all the time in college football, dont you.
oh, and heres your restraining line answer:
Rule for Free Kick/Kick off:
Rule 6 Section 1
Restraining Lines
ARTICLE 1. For any free kick formation, the kicking team’s restraining line shall be the yard line through the most forward point from which the ball shall be kicked, and the receiving team’s restraining line shall be the yard line 10 yards beyond that point. Unless relocated by a penalty, the kicking team’s restraining line on a kickoff shall be its 30-yard line, and for a free kick after a safety, its 20-yard line.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:09 pm to ConnorBeach
quote:
Rule 6-1-2-g states: No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
That is pretty clear right.
But if you read further down to Rule 6-1-3, you'll find the following:
No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player;
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line; or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s
restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the
kick.
People keep quoting the section that refers to scrimmage kicks which includes the wording "neutral zone"
This post was edited on 9/7/10 at 10:11 pm
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:14 pm to Froman
quote:
We're still arguing this? I thought it was proven pretty well that the shite was illegal in like page 3.
Everybody is sick and tired of Miles, JJ, Crowton hatin and apologizin.
It's frickin refreshing.
Posted on 9/7/10 at 10:15 pm to JaxTigah
Jax- This is where it does seem to get confusing. 6-1-3-a-2 states criteria after which the ball can be touched and lists 6-4-1 as an exception. 6-4-1 is the section that says the receiver does not have protection in this scenario. The way I read it 6-1-2-g states blocking cannot occur until 6-1-3 is satisfied. 6-1-3-a-2 is satisfied by exception as a result of 6-4-1.
Popular
Back to top



1





