Started By
Message

re: the onside kick

Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:24 pm to
Posted by AlxTgr
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
86320 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:24 pm to
What is your answer?
Posted by MastrShake
SoCal
Member since Nov 2008
7281 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:29 pm to
oh no fricking way. theres no fricking way this is starting up again.
Posted by TBubba
Not sure
Member since Sep 2007
1204 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:30 pm to
Ok I spoke with a Big 12 backjudge today who should be very familiar with the rule. He said that at the point the UNC player hit Blue the UNC player was not eligible to block because the ball had not traveled the 10 yards or touched a receiving team player. Had either of those occurred any receiving team player is fair game. Since UNC recovered it would have been a 5 yard foul and re-kick. If LSU had recovered they would have kept the ball and added five yards to the recovery spot. If a BIG 12 backjudge doesn't know the rules then who does?
Posted by JaxTigah
Jackson, MS
Member since Dec 2009
1499 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:45 pm to
quote:

All you people read 1 rule n don't read the rest. You have to read every rule. And upon reading every rule you will find the answer



FAIL.

We read all of the rules. I have posted the rules. We just happen to interpret them correctly.
Posted by TheDoc
doc is no more
Member since Dec 2005
99297 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:47 pm to
quote:

Ok I spoke with a Big 12 backjudge today who should be very familiar with the rule. He said that at the point the UNC player hit Blue the UNC player was not eligible to block because the ball had not traveled the 10 yards or touched a receiving team player. Had either of those occurred any receiving team player is fair game. Since UNC recovered it would have been a 5 yard foul and re-kick. If LSU had recovered they would have kept the ball and added five yards to the recovery spot. If a BIG 12 backjudge doesn't know the rules then who does?

Posted by XbengalTiger
New Bama Standard 9-4
Member since Oct 2003
5566 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:47 pm to
quote:

but also according to some of the referees on the site it appeared to be an illegal formation as well
From my seat in the endzone, I said the same thing. The new rule states that the kicking team must have at least 4 players to one side of the kicker and UNC had one player lined up almost behind the kicker(the 4th player to the left side) but as the kicker started forward toward the ball, that player ran to the other side of the formation before the ball was kicked and was on the right side of the formation leaving only 3 guys on the left side when the ball was actually kicked.
Posted by JaxTigah
Jackson, MS
Member since Dec 2009
1499 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:47 pm to
quote:

If a BIG 12 backjudge doesn't know the rules then who does?




If you talk to lsutim3 and whiteyc777, they do.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:49 pm to
quote:

oh no fricking way. theres no fricking way this is starting up again.


Oh it is...
Posted by LSUSaintsFan86
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2009
2294 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:50 pm to
quote:

I'm not sure of this since I don't have an NCAAFB rulebook, but since the kick was a bounce kick, then the contact is legal. If the ball had not touched the ground, then the contact would have been a foul.
Posted by TheDoc
doc is no more
Member since Dec 2005
99297 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:50 pm to
quote:

From my seat in the endzone, I said the same thing. The new rule states that the kicking team must have at least 4 players to one side of the kicker and UNC had one player lined up almost behind the kicker(the 4th player to the left side) but as the kicker started forward toward the ball, that player ran to the other side of the formation before the ball was kicked and was on the right side of the formation leaving only 3 guys on the left side when the ball was actually kicked.



so it would have actually been a penalty for illegal procedure AND illegal formation?
Posted by TheDoc
doc is no more
Member since Dec 2005
99297 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:51 pm to
quote:

I'm not sure of this since I don't have an NCAAFB rulebook, but since the kick was a bounce kick, then the contact is legal. If the ball had not touched the ground, then the contact would have been a foul.


priceless
Posted by JaxTigah
Jackson, MS
Member since Dec 2009
1499 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:55 pm to
quote:

priceless
Posted by los angeles tiger
1,601 miles from Tiger Stadium
Member since Oct 2003
55976 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:57 pm to
quote:

From my seat in the endzone, I said the same thing. The new rule states that the kicking team must have at least 4 players to one side of the kicker and UNC had one player lined up almost behind the kicker(the 4th player to the left side) but as the kicker started forward toward the ball, that player ran to the other side of the formation before the ball was kicked and was on the right side of the formation leaving only 3 guys on the left side when the ball was actually kicked.


I told others around me that penalty was not called either. I was aware of it because earlier last week I watched a replay of a game where that penalty was called.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:58 pm to
quote:

so it would have actually been a penalty for illegal procedure AND illegal formation?


Yep. Rekick since UNC recovered.
Posted by geauxtigahs87
Louisiana
Member since Dec 2008
26663 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 8:59 pm to


*quickly googles "bounce kick"
Posted by JaxTigah
Jackson, MS
Member since Dec 2009
1499 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:00 pm to
Most people don't even know that rule yet. I did not see that part of it but you must have at least 4 on either side of the kicker before the ball is kicked.
Posted by Rebel
Graceland
Member since Jan 2005
141152 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:00 pm to
i can't believe you people have never heard of the bounce kick rule.


Posted by LSUSaintsFan86
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2009
2294 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:01 pm to
There truly are a bunch of retards that post on the Rant, which is why I hardly ever post here but,the people talking about the ball in the air and the ball hitting the ground are really stupid. The rule is regardless of the ball hitting the ground on an onside kick, it must travel 10 yards before the kicking team can make contact with the receiving team, unless the receiving team touches the ball first.

/thread
Posted by TheDoc
doc is no more
Member since Dec 2005
99297 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:02 pm to
quote:

i can't believe you people have never heard of the bounce kick rule.



this
Posted by XbengalTiger
New Bama Standard 9-4
Member since Oct 2003
5566 posts
Posted on 9/7/10 at 9:03 pm to
Section 4 deals with kicks that have crossed the neutral zone. The language about the ball touching the ground is in the case of a sky kick like Texas did against Bama in their bowl game. Once the ball bounced beyond the neutral zone the person trying to field the ball no longer has protection against a hit from the kicking team.

You guys suck at reading comprehension...

This whole section is predicated on the fact that the ball crosses the neutral zone first...

This is not the section that deals with kicks that don't cross the neutral zone. That is covered in Section 2 right before this...

quote:

SECTION 4. Opportunity To Catch a Kick Interference With Opportunity ARTICLE 1. A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick (A.R. 6-3-1-III, A.R. 6-4-1-V and A.R. 6-4-1-X). a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule 6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV). b. If interference with a potential receiver is the result of a player being blocked by an opponent, it is not a foul. c. It is an interference foul if the kicking team contacts the potential receiver before, or simultaneous to, his first touching the ball (A.R. 6-4-1-II, III, VII and IX).
Jump to page
Page First 11 12 13 14 15 ... 17
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 13 of 17Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram