Started By
Message

re: Here is the NCAA Catch Rule...interpret it as you will...

Posted on 9/5/25 at 2:45 am to
Posted by Red Stick Tigress
Tiger Stadium
Member since Nov 2005
20289 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 2:45 am to
And so is UnFunBunch
Posted by TaderSalad
mudbug territory
Member since Jul 2014
25943 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 6:20 am to
quote:

Like take steps dive for the end zone



My understanding has always been when it crosses the goal line it's a TD. They marked him at the half yard line initially, and then he crossed into the EZ. Should've been a TD
Posted by ChineseBandit58
Pearland, TX
Member since Aug 2005
48074 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 6:32 am to
quote:

He wasn't in the act. He had completed the catch and scored by crossing the goal/touching the pylon. Then fell down.

THis - the way I saw it was that he caught the ball - took two steps with it while crossing the goal line - and then while falling to the ground past the goal line put out his hand containing the ball to brace his contact with the ground, and touched the ground first with the hand containing control of the ball.

At this point it was no different in my mind than if he had taken a handoff from the qb on the 2 yd line - took two steps into the end zone with the ball crossing the goal line in one hand - and in that he e process fell to the ground, placing that hand on the ground and causing the ball to move.

Any 'interpretation' that rules otherwise is just stupid.
Posted by Locoguan0
St. George, LA
Member since Nov 2017
7061 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 6:54 am to
quote:

Plain and simple, it is a judgement call.


Therein lies the rub. A judgement call is intended to defer to the call of the field, as overturning the call requires indisputable evidence in the replay. This was not present, therefore the call should have been upheld.
Posted by Mo Jeaux
Member since Aug 2008
62453 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:07 am to
quote:

THis - the way I saw it was that he caught the ball - took two steps with it while crossing the goal line - and then while falling to the ground past the goal line put out his hand containing the ball to brace his contact with the ground, and touched the ground first with the hand containing control of the ball.



You should go back and rewatch it then.
Posted by themunch
bottom of the list
Member since Jan 2007
71342 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:25 am to
The ground can't cause a fumble unless it's LSU
Posted by monsterballads
Gulf of America
Member since Jun 2013
31153 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:42 am to
quote:

He had to maintain possession of the ball through contact with the ground


nope. possession, break the plane/hit the pylon. play is over with.
Posted by monsterballads
Gulf of America
Member since Jun 2013
31153 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:44 am to
quote:

Once the goal line is crossed, the play is over.


Simply not true.


how many times have we seen a QB or RB reach the ball over the goal line for a TD then fumble it in the end zone?

it's a TD every time.
Posted by monsterballads
Gulf of America
Member since Jun 2013
31153 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:44 am to
quote:

to defer to the call of the field


call on the field was he was out at the 1. which was also incorrect.
Posted by Mo Jeaux
Member since Aug 2008
62453 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:49 am to
quote:

how many times have we seen a QB or RB reach the ball over the goal line for a TD then fumble it in the end zone?

it's a TD every time.


You people. Do you really need to have a forward pass explained to you?
Posted by BhamTigah
Lurker since Jan 2003
Member since Jan 2007
17375 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:51 am to
Even if he did not do enough to call it a catch before he went to the ground (he did), it was still a catch.

quote:

If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.
Posted by boweswi05
birmingham
Member since Aug 2016
6753 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 7:56 am to
quote:

The issue is he had controls of the ball with a foot in bounds, took a step then crossed the goal
Line.

Play is over at that point.



Agreed!

Like in the Bama game when we recovered the fumble on the sidelines.

I think they just make shite up as they go and then try to apply the rule as closely as possible hoping no one notices.
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127987 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 8:45 am to
quote:

nope. possession, break the plane/hit the pylon. play is over with.



Not true.

The rule says its not true. The NCAA rules officials say its not true. BRIAN KELLY says its not true.

It is only true if they are a runner, not if they are in the act of the catch, which he clearly was.

He went to the ground, and as per the rule, it does not matter where that happens. If he goes to the ground he needs to maintain control, and he did not.
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127987 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 8:46 am to
quote:

If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.


Neat, this isn't what happened, and there are clear examples of the delineation between B and C.

He lost control. It was not a slight move.
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127987 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 8:47 am to
quote:

The ground can't cause a fumble unless it's LSU



It didn't cause a fumble.

It caused an incompletion, which is clearly within the rules.
Posted by STLSU
Hallandale Beach, FL
Member since Dec 2004
14830 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 8:55 am to
I agree it’s clearly a catch and a perversion of different rules to rule otherwise.

I was watching the rule announcer for CBS Gene Settasore try to explain why he got the interpretation wrong about a player being forced out of bounds before a catch is not reviewable. He said he didn’t have that information available prior to making his prediction. So I guess someone is supposed to whisper in his ear like the Roxanne movie. Isn’t it in the rule book what is a catch and what plays are reviewable????
Posted by AkronTiger
Rubber City
Member since May 2021
2733 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 9:07 am to
quote:

Neat, this isn't what happened, and there are clear examples of the delineation between B and C.

He lost control. It was not a slight move.



This is my unpopular opinion as well (And BK's)

- He was going down in the process of the catch
- He continued going down throughout the catch (going down and process of securing catch simultaneous)
- The ball significantly moved when it hit the ground
- By letter of rule, catch is incomplete
This post was edited on 9/5/25 at 9:08 am
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127987 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 9:08 am to
quote:

This is my unpopular opinion as well (And BK's)

- He was going down in the process of the catch
- He continued going down throughout the catch
- The ball significantly moved when it hit the ground
- By letter of rule, catch is incomplete


This is not an opinion. It is a fact. It is what happened. It is what the NCAA rules analysts that are paid to do this ruled. It is what Brian Kelly, the Head Coach of the team people love on here, CONFIRMED happened.

Blame the rule. It is stupid.
Posted by chaso
clinton ms.
Member since Aug 2006
3217 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 9:10 am to
The rule is made to RIG GAMES! The point of the ball hit the ground but he never lost possession! Extraordinary catch!
Posted by Recoveringcajun
Banjo country
Member since Aug 2022
2598 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 9:24 am to
The call made was not patently incorrect…it’s just a terrible rule.

I will never understand why a runner can score a TD as soon as the ball breaks the plane of the goal line even if he loses possession afterward (such as when he hits the ground or when an opponent swats it away) but a receiver who catches a pass in the endzone does not score a TD if he loses control when he lands on the turf (inbounds or not).

It’s a stupid rule.
Jump to page
Page First 6 7 8 9 10
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 8 of 10Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram