- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Have any of the talking heads argued the right call was made on the TD?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:46 pm to Turnblad85
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:46 pm to Turnblad85
My question is why did the ref initially mark him out at the 1 ft line? Barion never came close to touching out of bounds until he was well across the goal.
For what possible reason did he mark it out at that point?
For what possible reason did he mark it out at that point?
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 12:47 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:47 pm to TheJuicey
quote:
One is that you have to survive the ground, but the other is that the ball was caught outside the endzone and a foot was inbounds prior to passing the goal line, which meant he didn’t have to survive the ground.
Surviving the ground shouldn't have even been part of the equation. The catch was already made. In an open field he would have been a free runner at that point. The only reason he fell was because he ran out of field.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:47 pm to Turnblad85
Also. This the Dez Bryant rule.
He caught ball and had control as he crossed the plain (and he hit the pylon)
Once he landed the ball moved but he regained control and it never hit the ground.
Therefore I’ve been told that is supposed to be a catch.
The fricking ref also marked him at the inch line.
I thought they were reviewing to see if it was TD, not a catch. Bc the ref already ruled it a catch.
He caught ball and had control as he crossed the plain (and he hit the pylon)
Once he landed the ball moved but he regained control and it never hit the ground.
Therefore I’ve been told that is supposed to be a catch.
The fricking ref also marked him at the inch line.
I thought they were reviewing to see if it was TD, not a catch. Bc the ref already ruled it a catch.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:47 pm to doubleb
quote:
Our guy caught the ball in the field of play stepped over the goal line, stepped again,
While falling.
If he had been standing completely upright, crossed the goal line and then dove or had been pushed down, and lost the ball…TD.
But because he was falling he was within the act of the catch still and lost the ball. No TD.
That’s how retarded the rule is.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:47 pm to LSUSkip
quote:
Surviving the ground shouldn't have even been part of the equation. The catch was already made.
Per the rule the catch had not been made
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:50 pm to Fun Bunch
quote:
Per the rule the catch had not been made
He made the catch inbounds. Do you agree with that?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:57 pm to Turnblad85
Years of watching football and we've seen the pylons knock the ball out of peoples hands, we've seen people diving and extending the ball for the goal line and the instant it barely breaks the plane it also hits the ground and is fumbled- Touchdown. And the explanation has been - the instant the ball breaks the plane its a Touchdown
Sooo...
Sooo...
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:57 pm to Mouth
You’re asking a different question than what I am saying.
The catch is not made per the rule if he doesn’t maintain control through the ground, so the catch was not made.
The catch is not made per the rule if he doesn’t maintain control through the ground, so the catch was not made.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:59 pm to lsubuddy
quote:
Years of watching football and we've seen the pylons knock the ball out of peoples hands, we've seen people diving and extending the ball for the goal line and the instant it barely breaks the plane it also hits the ground and is fumbled- Touchdown. And the explanation has been - the instant the ball breaks the plane its a Touchdown
Those are runners. Brown was not considered a runner. He was in the act of a catch. Different rule
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:00 pm to Fun Bunch
Are you enjoying being that guy?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:02 pm to Turnblad85
The ones who are arguing for the TD are saying that a "football move" was made and the line was crossed, therefore the ground contact was not a factor.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:02 pm to Turnblad85
I did a bit of research and it could have been ruled correctly only because the second foot down on the ground was out of bounds. The rule says two feet down in bounds or else survive the ground. I think this rule sucks when a guy only needs one to complete a catch if he does not fall down
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:04 pm to Fun Bunch
Maybe the ones you remember.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:06 pm to PalletJack
If he didn’t make a football move on the touchdown, then sharp didn’t make a football move before foaming. That should’ve been called incomplete as well.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:08 pm to Fun Bunch
quote:
The two plays aren’t similar.
You're the one comparing a rule that describes a pass to a receiver in the endzone to a play where the receiver caught the ball, made a football play and progressed 4 yards before being knocked out of bounds.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:10 pm to doubleb
By rule, for you to have possessed the ball you need to make a football move and that's usually 2 steps with possession and he certainly met that criteria.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:11 pm to Turnblad85
Scott Van Pelt was beside himself. He even commented that it was an SEC crew, and thought it was weird such a call would go against LSU. I haven't really seen anyone defend it.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:12 pm to Turnblad85
It’s a stupid interpretation of the rule.
The rule says that if you go to the ground in the process of making a catch you, you have to control the ball to the ground.
He wasn’t “in the process” of making the catch. He made the catch, controlled the balled, took a step, hit the pylon, then went to the ground. It’s a TD. This is what everyone watching, including the expert ref consultant on TV saw. The only one who didn’t was apparently in Birmingham. You have to really stretch to say that he was still in the process of making a catch.
Not only that, they were overruling the call on the field. (I know…they didn’t call it a TD, but they DID call it a catch.) Should be indisputable video evidence to overturn. In other words… it was a BS call.
The rule says that if you go to the ground in the process of making a catch you, you have to control the ball to the ground.
He wasn’t “in the process” of making the catch. He made the catch, controlled the balled, took a step, hit the pylon, then went to the ground. It’s a TD. This is what everyone watching, including the expert ref consultant on TV saw. The only one who didn’t was apparently in Birmingham. You have to really stretch to say that he was still in the process of making a catch.
Not only that, they were overruling the call on the field. (I know…they didn’t call it a TD, but they DID call it a catch.) Should be indisputable video evidence to overturn. In other words… it was a BS call.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:13 pm to des4271
The rule is two steps IN BOUNDS. The problem is that had he stayed on his feet he would have had a touchdown catch but because he got pushed down he got exposed to the expectation to survive the ground
Posted on 8/31/25 at 1:15 pm to taf
When he crossed the goal line td play was over!
Popular
Back to top


0



