Posted by
Message
TheTroll
Member since Feb 2020
28 posts

Whoop Band: My Review
I've had my Whoop band for about 5 months so I thought I would give a review. First, I'm a mid-late 20s. I've been back into fitness pretty heavily for about 3 years after slacking off in college. Anywho, for my review:

Pros:
1. Battery Life: The battery lasts about 5 days and can be charged without taking off the band. You charge the charger with a mini USB and slide it over the band while you are still wearing it. This is an awesome feature as the band is designed to collect data 24/7

2. Strain Calculation: Whoop measures your strain which is essentially your fitness level. I can run a mile and someone out of shape can run a mile and I will register a significantly lower strain, and as I get in better shape my strain will show that. Also, it takes in to account your entire day. Stressful days at work I can see a noticeably higher strain than normal. Same with sickness. I had a little cold this week and saw my body was working to heal itself despite me not moving around as much.

3. Recovery Score: The band tracks your sleep and and activity and gives you a recovery score 0-100 when you wake up in the morning. After 5 months I usually know about where I will be when I wake up. This is awesome for knowing when you can really hit your workouts hard or can give you feedback on why you may have had a bit of a lethargic workout (from bad sleep, stress, etc)

4. Desktop App: Pretty all encompassing.




5. Monthly and Yearly Assessments: I get a PDF of monthly and yearly data aggregated in one place that compares that month to my previous months averages and other users by demographic (age, sex, ect.)


Cons:
1. Lately when I go from one sleep cycle into my next one (this usually happens about three times a night) the band registers that as me fully waking up and I have to manually change my wake up time to accurately reflect my total sleep. For whatever reason that has only started in the last month or so

2. The Bands: The bands are all a nylon type material. Even the one they say is designed for water I dont feel is that great. It stays wet and cant be wiped off dry with a rag very easily. I wish they would make a rubber band similar to the apple watch bands that you could just take a rag to if it got wet.

3. The Android App: The android app is far inferior to the Iphone App. They are still a start up and Android is an open ecosystem so I get it, but it still kind of sucks that you pay the same amount as Iphone users for an inferior product.

4. The desktop app doesn't download into an excel or csv format. It shows trends and averages, but when you are looking at a month average three days off your baseline can really affect that. I would like a download feature where I could filter my data different ways to get true data without outliers.

5. It can be kind of expensive: I bought a year membership on Black Friday for $18 a month, which I dont think is bad. However, month to month membership is $30/month and you have to sign up for six months I believe (there are a ton of promo codes to get 1st month free). Again, not terrible if you are pretty serious about health, but it my price out some people on the fringe.


In my opinion, this thing is awesome. If you are a data person it hits most of marks and gives you ton of info. A few parting notes: You will cut down on alcohol when you get the feedback of how bad it is for you. I pretty much don't sleep when I drink as little as 4 beers. It will change your sleep habits. The biggest thing I have noticed is sleep consistency is key. If I got to bed and wake up at the same time I sleep awesome. If I am more erratic in my bedtime my sleep quality clearly suffers.

I hope this review helps, and it is not all encompassing so I am happy to answer any questions anyone may have.

PS: I have no affiliation with Whoop I just think it is a great product that is pretty unique at this point.

Edit: Looks like my picture kind of sucks, sorry about that.
This post was edited on 2/9 at 9:30 pm


lsu777
LSU Fan
westlake
Member since Jan 2004
13381 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
Good to hear. I would like to get one but price and shitty Android app turn me off.


TheTroll
Member since Feb 2020
28 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
quote:

shitty Android app turn me off.


I wouldn't call it shitty, just certainly inferior to the IOS app. The desktop app and assessments are where you are going to get the real data breakdown anyway.

quote:

price


I certainly understand that, as I noted in my review. Like I said though, you will get the first month free so it's $150 for 6 months. Not cheap, but it won't break the bank either. I've wasted more money on much dumber things.


lsu777
LSU Fan
westlake
Member since Jan 2004
13381 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
quote:


I certainly understand that, as I noted in my review. Like I said though, you will get the first month free so it's $150 for 6 months. Not cheap, but it won't break the bank either. I've wasted more money on much dumber things.


Absolutely. I'll prolly reconsider after I build my new house.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
crazyLSUstudent
LSU Fan
391 miles away from Tiger Stadium
Member since Mar 2012
3090 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
Is the monthly subscription price worth it? I am kinda interested in it just as a stats collection device and using the hrv stat


StraightCashHomey21
West Virginia Fan
Altus, OK
Member since Jul 2009
110919 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
Yea price is the only thing that’s kept me from pulling the trigger

I know some units in the AF that have human performance staff get these for free


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
TheTroll
Member since Feb 2020
28 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
quote:

Is the monthly subscription price worth it? I am kinda interested in it just as a stats collection device and using the hrv stat




I bought a year's subscription on black Friday for $18/month prepaid, so at that price I think it is worth it for sure. I believe a regular year membership is $24/month. My recommendation is do the first 6 months with the first month free and then decide if you want to keep it or not.

I'm only paying $40/month for a commercial gym so I don't really sweat the extra 18 bucks.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Shepherd88
Member since Dec 2013
2850 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
I hated mine and had to return it after a week.

I wore it on my other wrist while I wore my Suunto and the calorie/heart rate was so off I couldn’t stand it. I double checked and triple checked to make sure I was wearing it in the correct spot on my wrist as well but my Suunto was literally 2-300 calories more after a 45 minute CrossFit session.

I guess I’m the 1/10 on the reviews though lol.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
Central, LA
Member since Jan 2013
19221 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
So it’s an expensive HR monitor?


lsu777
LSU Fan
westlake
Member since Jan 2004
13381 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
No, think of it as a cheaper version of what the LSU players where to monitor recovery.


TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
Central, LA
Member since Jan 2013
19221 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
Still sounds like an expensive HR monitor. It's measuring HR. Apple watches do that and can tell you when you have irregular heart beats and keep a log of the HR during the workouts. It also can use the GPS and map out your heart rate at what part of the run.

All it takes is for a free or cheap app to come along and use the HR from smart watches to show the same thing.

And why do you need someone to tell you that you feel like shit? Really?

It's the monthly thing that is retarded.


TheTroll
Member since Feb 2020
28 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
If it were just a heart rate monitor I dont think guys like LeBron James would be using it.

quote:

And why do you need someone to tell you that you feel like shit? Really?


You dont, you use it to make sure you dont put yourself in position to feel like shite.


Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
Central, LA
Member since Jan 2013
19221 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
Lebron spends money just to spend it.

What do you mean don’t put yourself in position? At what point does an individual not understand that if you have a terrible meal, tax yourself the previous day, or get sick that it will change the way you train?

The watch can’t tell if you if you had a bad meal, it tells you something is off and you decide what that was.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
StraightCashHomey21
West Virginia Fan
Altus, OK
Member since Jul 2009
110919 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
Right now I don’t see the need for it

My Suunto does all the heart rate stuff, burned calories, tracks sleep, tells me how much recovery is needed after each workout, rates how hard the work out was.

Only thing a whoop would do is tell me the strain and how recovered I am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
boxcarbarney
LSU Fan
Constantinople Street
Member since Jul 2007
16132 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
I've been curious how one of these things would work for someone who doesn't run, but primarily lifts weights and just walks twice a day.

I haven't really looked into these fitness watches/bands, but I always got the feeling that they are more for people who long distance run.


StraightCashHomey21
West Virginia Fan
Altus, OK
Member since Jul 2009
110919 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
It’s not a running band

It’s primary target audience is the CrossFit community due to how rough some of the workouts can be

Since then it’s been more used by all aspects of fitness


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
lsu777
LSU Fan
westlake
Member since Jan 2004
13381 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
quote:

Hu_Flung_Pu


Don't take this the wrong way...but you are way off on this one.

If it was so useless than why does every major S&C staff at major Universities and in the NFL and NBA use something similar??

It is great for modulating volume, measuring recovery etc.

Now you prolly have no use for it as I prolly wouldn't have much of one either as we have been doing this long enough to understand how to control volume and fatigue to manage these things in our own, but let's say we both decided to start a 6 day a week twice a day training session....well then its going to be much harder to wave total volume to manage the fatigue.

Or imagine you are newer to lifting, kind of hard to know when to push and when not to push? You think someone with a year of lifting knows how to use bar speed to manage joker sets? frick no. That's where this helps.


Shepherd88
Member since Dec 2013
2850 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
Maybe mine was a lemon but I found the activity monitoring to be very inaccurate. I’m taking it told me I burned 250 cals after a 45 min CrossFit workout and an average hr of 165. I’m 31 and 185# as well.

I emailed whoop about it and they told me that I shouldnt be focusing on the calories burned anyway lol.


lsu777
LSU Fan
westlake
Member since Jan 2004
13381 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
How much do you believe you burned during that time? Because that is prolly more accurate than you think and the others are over estimating.


TheTroll
Member since Feb 2020
28 posts

re: Whoop Band: My Review
quote:

I emailed whoop about it and they told me that I shouldnt be focusing on the calories burned anyway lol.


They probably should have sent you a new unit, but in the grand scheme of things they are correct. You aren't burning 1,000 calories, or anywhere close to it, in 45 minutes at that heart rate. Somewhere between 250 and 350 is probably pretty close to right.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram