Posted by
Message
gumbeaux
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2004
1702 posts
 Online 

What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
I know.....it would be a terrible drive...but it happens.

Do you get a do over?
Do you hit the ball at Its resting place with no penalty?
Do you drive again with a penalty?

My thought is that you get a do over with no penalty.


BRgetthenet
USA Fan
N4HGolfBoardMVP
Member since Oct 2011
102207 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
At my course we institute prima nocta and you have to trade your vehicle in for a Buick Enclave.


Boudreaux35
BR
Member since Sep 2007
14042 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
I believe that markers are considered permanent objects. Depending on where the ball lands determines the next action. You can basically treat it as a tree that is close to the tee box.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
40
Lambchops11
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Jul 2013
240 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
In what situation in golf do you ever get a "do over"?

If someone driver his the tee maker they deserve 2 strokes for being an idiot.


ell_13
USA Fan
Member since Apr 2013
54652 posts
 Online 

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
Did this at Santa Maria over the summer on number 12. Line drive worm burner hit the tee marker and sales high and left toward the houses across the lake. Teed up another one hitting 3.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
41
makersmark1
Auburn Fan
earth
Member since Oct 2011
5113 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
You can get a “do over”, but it is things like hitting a bird in flight.


DumpsterFire
Arkansas Fan
Member since Sep 2012
1252 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

In what situation in golf do you ever get a "do over"?



If your ball hits a power line, then I'm pretty sure that you are required to replay your shot.

Also, like the poster above me stated, if a force outside of normal conditions moves your ball, then you have to replay. There was a situation in a PGA Tour tournament where a leaf hit a players putt and caused it to miss the hole. The player just tapped in his putt instead of replaying the shot and got a 4 stroke penalty after the round.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
Croacka
Chicago Cubs Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Dec 2008
60059 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

In what situation in golf do you ever get a "do over"?


there are a few


if you hit a man-made object on the course that is considered immovable, i'm pretty sure you have to replay it


i.e. power line, electrical/irrigation box...but i'm not sure if a tee marker would qualify since it seems movable



eta: i think i'm wrong

i trusted a fellow golfer who claimed to know the rules, but he must have been hustling me
This post was edited on 12/4 at 12:49 pm


guedeaux
Houston Astros Fan
Tardis
Member since Jan 2008
12343 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

if you hit a man-made object on the course that is considered immovable, i'm pretty sure you have to replay it


i.e. power line, electrical/irrigation box


For reals? I have definitely hit all of those before...


ell_13
USA Fan
Member since Apr 2013
54652 posts
 Online 

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
Tee marker is part of the course. Just like hitting the flag stick.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
Croacka
Chicago Cubs Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Dec 2008
60059 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

For reals? I have definitely hit all of those before...




i was told this, but now i'm looking for the rule and can't find it

it all seems to say that you should play it as it lies unless there is a local rule governing



i know there is a local rule at the wetlands when you play under the power lines, but thats the only time i've seen that


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
ell_13
USA Fan
Member since Apr 2013
54652 posts
 Online 

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

For reals? I have definitely hit all of those before...
I believe sprinkler heads don't count. Land in one or hit one, you get relief if the ball stays there, but you don't get to replay the shot without penalty.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
CoachChappy
LSU Fan
Boudin Capitol of the World
Member since May 2013
13750 posts
 Online 

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
RULE 19
quote:

If a player's ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
iheartlsu
USA Fan
70806
Member since Sep 2005
26895 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
You have to hit the ball again if you hit the power lines at the wetlands.


Winston Cup
Miami (OH) Fan
San Antonio Spurs Fan
Member since May 2016
13073 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

trade your vehicle in for a Buick Enclave

didnt know buick still made cars


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Croacka
Chicago Cubs Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Dec 2008
60059 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

You have to hit the ball again if you hit the power lines at the wetlands.


apparently that is a local rule and must be stated or it's rub


CoachChappy
LSU Fan
Boudin Capitol of the World
Member since May 2013
13750 posts
 Online 

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

You have to hit the ball again if you hit the power lines at the wetlands.


apparently that is a local rule

Yes it is, and I have seen it posted. Same at Les Veiux Chenes.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Front9Bandit
LSU Fan
Sandos Golf & CC
Member since Dec 2013
11180 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
quote:

What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?


You PID from there


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
31
Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
20371 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
No penalty play as lies for Tee marker hit I think.

Irrigation box would be same as sprinkler. One club relief no penalty.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Fivestarschief
Member since Nov 2017
123 posts

re: What is the rule if your drive hits a tee marker?
Find a new game.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram