by
93 Comments
Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports
Steve Shaw, the SEC head of officials said Wednesday that the offensive pass interference penalty against LSU during the first quarter of the Mississippi State game was a foul, by rule.

The penalty negated what would have been a 67-yard touchdown pass to LSU wide receiver DJ Chark. Per The Advocate:
quote:

"The rule itself states it’s the responsibility of the offensive player to avoid opponents. The receiver, he knows where he’s going, knows his route. The defender doesn’t know where he’s going," Shaw said.

"By rule, since he’s got to avoid the opponent, there is a responsibility on that offensive player," he continued during a question-and-answer segment on the SEC teleconference. "Typically what our guys look at ... if you see a receiver move directly at a defender or initiate or create contact with him, then typically, that’s what gets the alert of the official. Coaches have plays they call “rub” or whatever, but if they are initiating or seeking out that defender or creating contact, by rule that’s a foul."

Shaw called offensive pass interference "a very tough judgment call."
Shaw also added that two targeting calls against LSU's linebacker Donnie Alexander and defensive lineman Neil Farrell were both confirmed.

Filed Under: LSU Football

Comments

93 Comments
user avatar
km
upvote38downvote0
a very tough judgement call, unless, of course, it's bama.
Reply65 months
user avatar
Yes, look at the BAMA game winning TD against LSU in overtime in 2014
65 months
user avatar
But I'd like an explanation on how Sullivan was 'seeking out' that defender.... did he even look at the play?
Reply65 months
user avatar
BS To all 3, but 1 targeting was an 'eh' maybe. Taking away the TD(s) was a huge momentum swing. The game would've ended differently, not saying LSU wins, but our momentum was wiped away 2(4) times by the refs!
Reply65 months
user avatar
frick them
Reply65 months
user avatar
Exactly.
65 months
user avatar
I wouldn't expect them to say anything other than their guys did the best job. You really think they're going to admit a mistake? Funny how this seems to only happen with SEC refs.
Reply65 months
user avatar
Good point. How come LSU never seems to have shitty calls against them vs. cupcakes or OOC teams? It always seems to happen against the good SEC teams. Gumps, Burn, Gaytors and now the new media darlings Moo State. I truly think the SEC tries steer certain teams into bowl games and SECCG. We know thats why they dont play a 9-game conference schedule like every other P5. so they can get more teams bowl eligible. SEC sucks. LSU should bounce.
65 months
user avatar
He can STTDB.
Reply65 months
user avatar
Eat a dick!
Reply65 months
user avatar
Yea, no. Receiver was running a legitimate route, looking back at the QB the whole way. I guess any contact downfield is offensive pass interference, too, because it's the receiver's job to get out of the poor defender's way. Either a bad call or a bad rule; either way, it's complete bull shite.
Reply65 months
user avatar
Exactly he was on a straight line route
65 months
user avatar
Steve Shaw is one of the SEC house men, all the way back to when he was an on-field official. He will rule the way the SEC wants it ruled not how it should be rules. So I expected nothing more out of him with this statement.
Reply65 months
user avatar
Free WHINE, with your arse whipping.
Reply65 months
user avatar
Did anyone really expect him to say anything differently? And if he would have, it would have been like, "Yeah, sorry LSU, too bad, that sucks for you, it was a bad call, oh well, can we please talk about Nick now and how clean his program is?"
Reply65 months
user avatar
"Yeah, you know what, that was actually just not a good call. Also the targeting calls were erroneous as well. LSU, we're really sorry about that!" -Steve Shaw, Never in the History of The World
Reply65 months
user avatar
So what, doesn't change a damn thing....
Reply65 months
user avatar
Wow, not that it makes any difference, but I did NOT see that coming. I fully expected them to at least throw LSU a consolation mea culpa on that PI call. Sooo...I guess if a DB wants to get in the way of a WR and then simply fall down when contact gets made, they can get the WR flagged for PI????
Reply65 months
user avatar
Cop out response to protect the ref.
Reply65 months
user avatar
This is a really poor explanation. Like laughably bad. "The receiver knows where he is going..." Yeah, he was going straight up the field. But since he knows where he is going, he needs to go in a different direction to avoid the defender? So a defender need only get in the way of a WR to disrupt timing routes and all is cool?
Reply65 months
user avatar
If they are going to even humor these reviews, just get them right. They won't affect the outcome of the game, but that was a poor play by MSU and there should be no precedent to defend like that. I have never ever seen a similar call
Reply65 months
user avatar
OceanMan take me by the hand lead me to the land. That you understand. OceanMan the voyage to the corner of the globe is a real trip.
65 months
user avatar
by rule? so its ok to enforce "the rule" at the refs convenience or discretion? these assfricks never admit guilt or wrongdoing anyway. bottom line, thats not a penalty 99 out of 100 times
Reply65 months
user avatar
These guys enjoy screwing kids for a gambler's payday.
65 months
user avatar
frick that bull shite. That was not a penalty. Total bull shite.
Reply65 months
user avatar
Bull shite. LSU having half of the targeting calls says all I need to know. The sesame fouls are consistently non calls in games across the SEC and the nation except when LSU plays. Plus LSU did NOT initiate the contact the defender ran into the LSU WR. The fact of the matter is that anything can be called if you want them to because there are two teams playing. It's up to the official to side with one team of the other, in his view of the call. The targeting against Alexander I understand but not Farrell, the QB actually ran into Farrell with his helmet while Farrell was pushing him away. The PI called on Battle was BS I've seen MUCH MUCH worse passed up not called. Plus there was a simular targeting call missed which Ole Miss hit Etling in the face mask, was never seen. You know why because they weren't looking for OM to commit fouls they were looking hard at LSU which is the case in every game we play. Holding can be called on every down and that's a fact but it isn't. Why because they let them play. Well let LSU play a game and then we'll see who wins.
Reply65 months
user avatar
There was a blatant hit to the head, which if I remember correctly was committed by Reuben Foster, on Etling in the Bama game last year. Not only did DE slide, but Foster went straight for his head.
65 months
user avatar
Go look at Reuben Foster highlights. Nearly every tackle he makes is targeting "by rule". After watching, you cant possibly say with a straight face that SEC officials are impartial.
65 months
Popular Stories