LSU ATHLETIC COMMUNICATIONS - For Immediate Release - February 1, 2018


BATON ROUGE – Thirteen former LSU football players have won both a national title and Super Bowl. That number is guaranteed to grow by one on Sunday when either Ricky Jean Francois or Donnie Jones win the Super Bowl and join this elite group.

Jean Francois and Jones join Jalen Mills as LSU’s Super Bowl participants this year. Jean Francois plays on the defensive line for the Patriots, while Jones and Mills are both starters for the Eagles. Kickoff for Super Bowl LII at 5:30 p.m. CT on Sunday in Minneapolis.

Jones served as LSU’s punter for the Tiger team that beat Oklahoma, 21-14, to claim the BCS National Championship in 2003.

Jean Francois, a defensive tackle for the New England Patriots, earned defensive most valuable player honors for his performance in LSU’s 38-24 win over Ohio State in the BCS Championship Game in 2007.

Currently, eight players from LSU’s 2003 national title team went on to capture a Super Bowl title, while five members of the 2007 squad won a Super Bowl during their NFL career.

The following is a list of former Tigers that won both a national title in college as well as a Super Bowl:

Player Year of BCS Title - Year(s) of Super Bowl Title, Team
Joseph Addai 2003 - 2007 Indianapolis Colts
Eric Alexander 2003 - 2005 New England Patriots
Michael Clayton 2003 - 2012 New York Giants (Injured reserve)
Marlon Favorite 2007 - 2010 New Orleans Saints (Practice squad)
Matt Flynn 2007 - 2011 Green Bay Packers
Randall Gay 2003 - 2005 New England Patriots, 2010 New Orleans Saints
Devery Henderson 2003 - 2010 New Orleans Saints
Marquise Hill 2003 - 2005 New England Patriots
Quinn Johnson 2007 - 2011 Green Bay Packers
Brandon LaFell 2007 - 2015 New England Patriots
Stevan Ridley 2007 - 2015 New England Patriots (Injured reserve)
Justin Vincent 2003 - 2009 Pittsburgh Steelers (Practice squad)
Corey Webster 2003 - 2008, 2012 New York Giants
Filed Under: LSU Football


Congrats Donnie Jones
Reply12 months
Eagles will win, no question
Reply12 months
Looks like Donnie Jones so far...
Reply12 months
Why no mention of Johnny Robinson?
Reply12 months
How hard is it to put Mills’ name in the headline?
Reply12 months
He wasn't on a team that won a national championship at LSU.
12 months
Why are the BCS titles in the previous year.. meaning the year the season was played in.. 2003, 2007.. while the Super Bowl titles are in the next year.. the year in which the game was played? Saints 2010, etc.
Reply12 months
Do players on IR and players from the practice squad get rings?
Reply12 months
Some teams give them out like candy. I know a few teams have given them to every team employee, from QB down to mail-room. At least once a team has given a ring to a player on a different team (Indianapolis gave Edge James one in recognition of how he helped build that team). So...yeah. I'm thinking any player under any form of contract with the team will be getting a ring.
12 months
Greatriots have this on lock. #6ForGOAT #MAGA
Reply12 months
That is disgusting.
12 months
I hope you don't say dumb shite like this for the Tigers or Saints.
12 months
Popular Stories

Watch: LSU Players React To Their Portraits In The Newly Renovated Team Lounge

LSU showed off some upgrades to the players lounge on Monday.

LSU Basketball Returns To The AP Top 25

The Tigers have won seven-straight games.

LSU Releases Spring Football Schedule

Spring practice begins on March 7.
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.