- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:35 am to WDE24
quote:
Except when the runner going to first is out, then he isn't forced. Just as if the catcher had picked the ball up and tagged the runner going to first, the runner on first is no longer forced to second.
Correct, but this isn't that situation, because it's a dead ball when the batter touches it. Any runner that was being forced to advance on the fair ball, gets the base. If the bases are loaded with noone out and the ball hits the runner going from first to second then that runner is out, the batter gets first, and the runners on 2nd and 3rd advance. It's even ruled as a hit.
Unless it was ruled interference. That's 7.09g I think... if the umpire thinks the batter did it on purpose to hinder the fielders making a play on a different runner, he can rule them both out.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:38 am to LSUBoo
quote:It is a dead ball, it is interference and the runners can't advance.
Correct, but this isn't that situation, because it's a dead ball when the batter touches it.
quote:It is automatically interference. That is what I am telling you. Runners must return. By rule if the batter is struck by a fair ball in fair territory it is interference, the ball is dead and runners may not advance. That is the rule.
Unless it was ruled interference.
Rule 7.09 (k) for reference.
This post was edited on 6/21/13 at 10:40 am
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:43 am to WDE24
quote:
Rule 7.09 (k) for reference.
Hmmm, I stand corrected.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:44 am to LSUBoo
So I was right and ump was wrong????
I win. Frick yeah!
I win. Frick yeah!
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:45 am to LSUBoo
Now, that is MLB rules, I'm not sure if the rule is identical for the various youth league organization.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 10:45 am to WDE24
quote:
MLB rules
They really could use a re-organization too.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:00 am to LSUBoo
Didn't read the entire thread but I saw a lot of wrong answers.
1. batter is not out. He is awarded first. The runner is out. All other runners must return to original base.
Unless the batter being awarded first forces them to advance.
In the situation you asked about the runner should be out and the batter awarded first.
1. batter is not out. He is awarded first. The runner is out. All other runners must return to original base.
Unless the batter being awarded first forces them to advance.
In the situation you asked about the runner should be out and the batter awarded first.
This post was edited on 6/21/13 at 11:04 am
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:01 am to tigers911
quote:Wat?
1. batter is not out. He is awarded first. The runner is out. All other runners must return to original base.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:02 am to roadGator
Already solved 
This post was edited on 6/21/13 at 11:04 am
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:04 am to goldenbadger08
come on golden badger put your wrong answer back
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:05 am to goldenbadger08
Why are y'all saying "wat". Is my explanation not clear.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:06 am to tigers911
quote:It is clear what you are saying, it is just completely wrong.
Is my explanation not clear.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:10 am to WDE24
How is it completely wrong? You need me to find a link?
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:11 am to tigers911
quote:Because the rules of baseball say differently.
How is it completely wrong?
quote:Yes please.
You need me to find a link?
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:14 am to WDE24
Where is choupiquesushi. He needs to inform his son that he was wrong.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:15 am to WDE24
This is from the MLB ask an ump page. Didn't think it would be this easy to find the ruling.
Ask the Umpire
By Ralph Nelson
MLB VP Umpiring
Throughout the season, Major League Baseball umpires will be fielding your questions on MLB.com. Have a question? Send it in.
I coach Little League baseball and we had a situation come up last Saturday: We had runners on first and second, one out. My batter hit a ground ball between first and second base. The runner from first gets hit by the ball. The kids (who were the umpires) didn't know the rule, but the other coach says it's a dead ball and the batter gets first base, the base runner is out. And being the nice guy I am, didn't want to argue, so I agreed. My argument wasn't really about the first part of the call, but I thought my base runner on second should have been able to go to third, since it was a force. What is the whole rule? Thanks.
-- M. Braverman
The umps made the right call! Baseball rules provide that a runner is out when he is struck by a batted ball (provided the ball was not touched by a fielder first). All other runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. Sorry, the runner on second returns to second base. However, the batter is awarded first base! The Official Baseball Rules are 5.09(f) and 7.08(f).
Ask the Umpire
By Ralph Nelson
MLB VP Umpiring
Throughout the season, Major League Baseball umpires will be fielding your questions on MLB.com. Have a question? Send it in.
I coach Little League baseball and we had a situation come up last Saturday: We had runners on first and second, one out. My batter hit a ground ball between first and second base. The runner from first gets hit by the ball. The kids (who were the umpires) didn't know the rule, but the other coach says it's a dead ball and the batter gets first base, the base runner is out. And being the nice guy I am, didn't want to argue, so I agreed. My argument wasn't really about the first part of the call, but I thought my base runner on second should have been able to go to third, since it was a force. What is the whole rule? Thanks.
-- M. Braverman
The umps made the right call! Baseball rules provide that a runner is out when he is struck by a batted ball (provided the ball was not touched by a fielder first). All other runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. Sorry, the runner on second returns to second base. However, the batter is awarded first base! The Official Baseball Rules are 5.09(f) and 7.08(f).
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:18 am to tigers911
Thats not what this thread is about.
Posted on 6/21/13 at 11:22 am to tigers911
That has nothing to do with the question in the OP.
quote:Good job on getting a ruling easily. Now find one that is relevant.
Didn't think it would be this easy to find the ruling.
Popular
Back to top


0




