- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Golfers, what did you learn today?
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:05 pm to VegasPro
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:05 pm to VegasPro
quote:
He has gained a significant breach. A ton of Distance.
Not necessarily. We don't have the details. If he skulled a chip across the green into fescue, I wouldn't call that a significant advantage taking a drop
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:05 pm to bunky
I learned that i could jump the fence by my house, find 45 balls in the "water hazard" on the back 9 at Webble, and practice chipping the 14th green with no disturbance until dark
This post was edited on 6/26/12 at 10:06 pm
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:07 pm to VegasPro
quote:
You cant play a ball like a hazard where it is a lost ball and just incur a 2 shot penalty. LOL He would have had to go back before holing out and replaying the shot still incurring the 2 shot penalty.
This
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:07 pm to wish i was tebow
quote:
We looked it all up man. We had to do it.
If he signed the card incorrectly, yes. If this was discussed before signing the card, I believe he should have incurred a two stroke penalty in addition to the stroke from the lost ball.
The penalty for breach of rule 27-1 is two strokes:
quote:
27-1. Stroke And Distance; Ball Out Of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes
a. Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance
At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.
Except as otherwise provided in the Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance.
b. Ball Out of Bounds
If a ball is out of bounds, the player must play a ball, under penalty of one stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5).
c. Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes
If a ball is lost as a result of not being found or identified as his by the player within five minutes after the player’s side or his or their caddies have begun to search for it, the player must play a ball, under penalty of one stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5).
Exception: If it is known or virtually certain that the original ball, that has not been found, has been moved by an outside agency (Rule 18-1), is in an obstruction (Rule 24-3), is in an abnormal ground condition (Rule 25-1) or is in a water hazard (Rule 26-1), the player may proceed under the applicable Rule.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 27-1:
Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.
This post was edited on 6/26/12 at 10:10 pm
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:09 pm to hehateme2285
If a competitor becomes aware that he has played from a wrong place and believes that he may have committed a serious breach, he must, before making a stroke on the next teeing ground, play out the hole with a second ball played in accordance with the Rules. If the hole being played is the last hole of the round, he must declare, before leaving the putting green, that he will play out the hole with a second ball played in accordance with the Rules.
If the competitor has played a second ball, he must report the facts to the Committee before returning his score card; if he fails to do so, he is disqualified. The Committee must determine whether the competitor has committed a serious breach of the applicable Rule. If he has, the score with the second ball counts and the competitor must add two penalty strokes to his score with that ball. If the competitor has committed a serious breach and has failed to correct it as outlined above, he is disqualified.
If the competitor has played a second ball, he must report the facts to the Committee before returning his score card; if he fails to do so, he is disqualified. The Committee must determine whether the competitor has committed a serious breach of the applicable Rule. If he has, the score with the second ball counts and the competitor must add two penalty strokes to his score with that ball. If the competitor has committed a serious breach and has failed to correct it as outlined above, he is disqualified.
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:10 pm to Golfer
quote:
If he signed the card incorrectly, yes. If this was discussed before signing the card, I believe he should have incurred a two stroke penalty in addition to the stroke from the lost ball.
Lost ball is stroke and distance ruling...if you leave out the distance, you are I breach of the rule!
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:10 pm to Golfer
quote:
If he signed the card incorrectly, yes. If this was discussed before signing the card, I believe he should have incurred a two stroke penalty in addition to the stroke from the lost ball.
It was before he signed the card, but it can not be determined what he would have scored on the hole. It's against the rules. We had rule book determining the rules book and the pro of a top course in the state in on this.
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:10 pm to VegasPro
gaining distance and hitting a ball closer to the hole is a serious breach
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:10 pm to BeaverPRO
quote:
Lost ball is stroke and distance ruling...if you leave out the distance, you are I breach of the rule!
Thank you
You my boy BP.

Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:10 pm to VegasPro
quote:
You cant play a ball like a hazard where it is a lost ball and just incur a 2 shot penalty. LOL He would have had to go back before holing out and replaying the shot still incurring the 2 shot penalty.
If it's not a significant advantage gained, then yes, that's the ruling.
If you hit from the tee, took a drop 300 yards away, and hit up thinking it was a hazard but it was a lost ball, yes, it's a DQ.
If you skulled a chip across a green and took a drop as if it has a hazard and couldn't find the ball, that's not a significant advantage gained, and it would be 2 shots.
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:11 pm to Golfer
Golfer this wouldnt be in the rule book it will be in decisions book.
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:12 pm to VegasPro
quote:
Golfer this wouldnt be in the rule book it will be in decisions book.
He played a lost ball incorrectly, no?
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:12 pm to NicoBlues
quote:
I learned that i could jump the fence by my house, find 45 balls in the "water hazard" on the back 9 at Webble, and practice chipping the 14th green with no disturbance until dark
I'm jealous. So you're that bum that tries to sell bags of them for $30?
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:12 pm to VegasPro
quote:
believes that he may have committed a serious breach
This is the key thing. The kid didn't know he had. You just chose to not paste the part of the rule I did earlier.
If a competitor makes a stroke from a wrong place, he incurs a penalty of two strokes under the applicable Rule. He must play out the hole with the ball played from the wrong place, without correcting his error, provided he has not committed a serious breach (see Note 1).
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:13 pm to Golfer
quote:
He played a lost ball incorrectly, no?
Two completely different things...the Rules of Golf govern play...the Decisions book describes how to asses penalties according to the rules!
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:14 pm to hehateme2285
quote:
If you skulled a chip across a green and took a drop as if it has a hazard and couldn't find the ball, that's not a significant advantage gained, and it would be 2 shots.
Well if you had a much easier chip on the second it could be....LOL. Taking a lost ball drop like a hazard is a serious breach among itself.
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:14 pm to wish i was tebow
quote:
Kid had a lost ball in some fescue (sp??) and played it as a hazard instead of going back and hitting again

A 2 shot penalty really wouldn't have penalized him at all. He'd have been laying 3 from his drop at the fescue (actually 5 with after his 2 stroke penalty), instead of laying 4 had he gone back to the tee and hit it to fairway after his second tee shot.
DQ sucks, but I do believe it was the correct action.
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:14 pm to Golfer
Yeah we had the decision books right in front of us
I just think its funny that people think they know more than me/ my co workers whose job it is to know theses things and a heap pro of a big time course
I just think its funny that people think they know more than me/ my co workers whose job it is to know theses things and a heap pro of a big time course
Posted on 6/26/12 at 10:15 pm to bunky
quote:
I'm jealous. So you're that bum that tries to sell bags of them for $30?
No, Im the one yelling at that bum to get out of my golf ball ditch.. He like Ill sell em to ya, im like how bout you pour em back out and let me pick up like i came to do.

Popular
Back to top
