Posted by
Message
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
136 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Heller's MADM701 has not been bad so far. One of the heavier workload classes but easy A. But part of your experience depends on luck of the draw of your teaching assistant. I took MADM760 with him earlier and similarly structured papers were graded much tougher by my grader no matter how much effort I put in. But Im putting in even less effort on papers now and my grader is pretty much giving me 100% grades across the board.

Im on pace for solid A without reading the chapters by:

read through powerpoint slides, complete application paper and reflection assignment, read through powerpoint slides again, watch weekly TED videos, quick review of powerpoint slides again, take test


arora6312
houston
Member since Sep 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
MADM760 with Kim is still available in case you want to take the same course together.


Tsimmons4
Member since Mar 2020
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Do you still have your excel spreadsheet for Module 6 and the Final for Ambrosio ACCT 701?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
13
alvaro01
Member since Sep 2020
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
thank you so much for the feat back.


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
44 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Wow. It looks like the COVID-19 pandemic has really increased enrollment in the program. One professor for next session (Fall 2020 AP2) is already recommending that we schedule our tests in ProctorU. And I just looked on compass and there appears to be only ONE class available now - International Experience. I hope everyone has enrolled in the classes they need.


alvaro01
Member since Sep 2020
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
does anyone have any feedback on Econ 705 with fanta, fassil.??


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
136 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I didnt take it with those 2 but I took it with Fawaz who has been the best professor Ive had so far. He actually teaches in live sessions.


alvaro01
Member since Sep 2020
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Yes, he has a lot of good reviews everywhere. Rate my professor and the google doc sheet, this is why the classes are all booked.


EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
NM
This post was edited on 10/15 at 11:29 am


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
44 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Two straightforward classes I would recommend:

MKT715 with Darrat. Basically, this is just Intro to R Programming. If you've ever worked with data in Excel, I think you'll do just fine.

ACCT705 with Li Huang. The homework is Excel and one module of Tableau, though the quizzes and tests are on Fraud concepts, with questions directly from her slides. She walks you through examples of the homework problems in videos. The material is interesting and the homework is fun (to me).


Shirtshirt
Member since Jun 2020
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I just finished MADM 701 with Michael McDaniel. I couldn't find any reviews on McDaniel - I think he's relatively new to LSUS.

He's a nice guy. Every week he posts videos running over the course material. It's him on camera with powerpoint slides. He breaks down complex ideas in to simple "real world" terms, inserts relevant experience, and just generally makes the text a little more interesting to read.

I did not like the text book. Some text books that LSUS classes have are pretty interesting, but this one wasn't great in my opinion.

There are discussion questions that require two replies (min word counts are 300/100 respectively if I recall) and a few assignments. The material isn't difficult, but there is a lot of it.

I paired this class with MKT701 Khan and really struggled to keep up with both. I have 3 kids, wife, and a full time job that has me clocking 55-60 hrs a week. Throwing both classes on top of my schedule was difficult. I ended up with an 88.9% in MADM701 and 84% in MKT701. If I had taken 1 at a time I would have scored about 90% in both.

60% of MBA complete. I'm taking my last 4 classes one at a time and should graduate right before July.
This post was edited on 10/17 at 10:12 pm


alvaro01
Member since Sep 2020
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
nice, thank for the info..


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
arora6312
houston
Member since Sep 2020
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Is there an extra cost for ProctorU Exams?


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
44 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Is there an extra cost for ProctorU Exams?



Nope. That is included in your tuition.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
undkeith
Member since Aug 2007
133 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone have any insight on Minsun Kim’s MADM 760 class? Looks like everyone on the google doc recommends it but does anyone know how many hours per week? Assignments?


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
136 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
wrapped up Heller's MADM701... heavy workload course but still an easy A. I made my own shortcut by not reading through the book... only skimmed through to cherry pick references for papers and discussions.
I think he uses the first exam to scare students into reading the text because it had like 5 questions that could only be answered from carefully studying the text but after that there was no more than 0-2 questions like that on each exam.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Congrat. I had 2 grueling AP pairings. With only 2 courses left, I'm cherry picking those one at a time.


Braveseminole10
Member since Oct 2020
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’m just starting my MBA during AP2. I was able to get into MKT701 with Khan, any thoughts or advice on this class?

Also, I was hoping to to pair it with another class. Any suggestions on good classes for pairing? Thanks everyone!


EyeOfToday
Member since Apr 2020
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
NM
This post was edited on 10/20 at 2:25 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
44 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Also, I was hoping to to pair it with another class. Any suggestions on good classes for pairing? Thanks everyone!



I know that MKT715 Darrat and ACCT705 Huang could easily be paired. Unfortunately, I think the larger problem is that there just aren't many classes available in AP2, so I think you'll have to just take whatever you can get if anything else becomes available.


first pageprev pagePage 452 of 454next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram